调研显示,77%的受访者关注新冠疫情爆发,50%的受访者改变了卫生习惯。

  • 为降降低感染风险而采取的措施包括:更注重手部卫生和避免外出旅行
  • 知名卫生专家Lisa Ackerley博士呼吁持续保持卫生意识,并使用“目的地洗手法”以打破感染链
  • 卫生当局以及国际专家是最值得信赖的信息来源
  • 需要更多基于事实的信息来粉碎有关疫情的谣言

相当一部分受访者 —— 高达50% —— 说他们已经改变了一种或多种行为,以应对COVID-19的侵袭,包括增加洗手和消毒的频率,避免前往公共场所和减少外出旅行。此发现来自Harris Interactive和RB(滴露和Lysol的制造商)的一项跨国调研。

 

调研结果显示:

54%的受访者更常洗手

44%的受访者避免人群密集区

41%的受访者更常用免洗洗手液

34%的受访者更常戴口罩

32%的受访者更长时间待在家中

31%的受访者避免外出旅行

 

绝大多数受访者(95%)意识到病毒的爆发,但对于个人感染风险的关注程度因地理位置而异。在全球范围内,66%的受访者表示,他们担心自己和家人的安全。调研显示,距离病毒爆发中心较近的国家,包括印度、马来西亚、泰国和中国,对感染病毒的担忧程度最高(分别为92%、91%、86%和84%)。这些国家的受访者也最积极地采取了防护措施,比如洗手。

英国和德国的受访者似乎最不担心该病毒。但仍然有许多受访者表示,他们的行为有所改变,比如洗手(35%的英国受访者,40%的德国受访者),更常用免洗洗手液(26%的d英国受访者,26的%德国受访者),以及戴口罩(6%的英国受访者,5%的德国受访者)。在全球范围内,大多数人相信良好的卫生习惯能够保护他们,特别是在COVID-19感染率最高的国家。

“这项调研显示,人们对新冠病毒的关注度很高,且令人鼓舞的是,人们已经在适应新的卫生习惯,比如洗手等,” 特许环境卫生从业者和卫生专家Lisa Ackerley博士表示,“这不仅有助于防止新冠病毒感染,在关键时期,时刻保持手部卫生以及一些简单的行为,还有助于预防其他呼吸道和肠胃疾病。”

调研发现,男性和女性在态度和行为上存在一些差异。女性(57%)比男性(51%)更有可能常洗手并采取更多的手部清洁行为。65岁以上、感染并发症风险最高的年长受访者表示,他们的洗手习惯并没有太大改变。

Ackerley博士还提倡了“目的地洗手法”的概念,即每当你到达一个目的地,首先要洗手,以阻止感染的传播。“当你抵达家、公司、、餐厅或健身房时,这些时刻都应该触发洗手提醒”,她说,“在路上时,只需让双手远离脸部,也可以降低病毒通过脏手转移到眼、鼻、口的风险。”

新型冠状病毒(SARS-Cov-2)的在全球的传播也导致了另一种“流行病”蔓延 —— 世界卫生组织将有关疫情的不实信息的传播称为“信息疫情”。[i][一世]

全球紧急卫生事件的相关信息如此之多,有关消费者该如何抵抗病毒的错误信息或谣言也不断扩散。显然,我们需要确保信息的准确性和来源的可靠性。调研显示,大多数受访者将国际和地方卫生当局作为他们最信任的COVID-19信息来源,其次是国际和地方新闻机构。

该调研是我们支持阻止病毒传播、科普全球消费者知识项目中的一项最新规划。RB近期宣布了两项重大捐赠:通过旗下滴露品牌向中国捐赠550万英镑现金和清洁产品,并通过旗下婴儿营养品品牌美赞臣为湖北省准妈妈捐赠55万人民币现金。

RB首席医疗官Bruce Charlesworth博士表示:“任何时候,我们都鼓励良好的卫生习惯,打破感染链。在人们越来越感到担忧时,或当类似于COVID-19的新疫情发生时,提高人们的意识也是至关重要的。“

该调研的采访对象为11000名来自11个国家的成年人:澳大利亚、中国、德国、印度、日本、马来西亚、沙特阿拉伯、南非、泰国、英国、美国。这项包含10个问题的在线调查于2020年2月6日至11日进行。

[i]新型冠状病毒(2019-nCoV)状况报告– 13.可在以下网站获得: https://www.who.int/docs/default-source/coronaviruse/situation-reports/20200202-sitrep-13-ncov-v3.pdf 最后访问时间17.02.20

来源: RB

Survey finds that 77 percent of people are concerned about the coronavirus outbreak and 50 percent have CHANGED hygiene behaviours

  • Increasing hand hygiene and avoiding travel are among actions taken to minimise risk
  • Leading hygiene expert Dr Lisa Ackerley calls for continued hygiene awareness and advocates ‘destination handwashing’ to break the chain of infection
  • Health authorities and international experts are the most trusted sources of information
  • More fact-based information to debunk myths surrounding the outbreak is needed

A large portion of the population – as much as 50% – say that they have changed one or more behaviours to cope with the threat of COVID-19, including increasing handwashing and sanitising as well as avoiding public places and cutting back on travel. The findings are part of a new multi-national public opinion poll by Harris Interactive and RB, the maker of Dettol and Lysol.

 

The survey showed that:

54% handwash more often

44% avoid crowds

41% use hand-sanitiser more often

34% wear masks more often

32% stay home more often

31% avoid travel

 

The vast majority of people (95%) are aware of the virus outbreak, but the levels of concern about the personal risk from infection differ according to geography.  Globally, 66% of respondents said that are worried for their family and their own safety. The survey revealed that countries closer to the epicentre of the virus outbreak, including India, Malaysia and Thailand and China, expressed the highest levels of concern about contracting the virus (92%, 91%, 86% and 84% respectively).  These countries also report the highest levels of personal actions taken to prevent exposure to infection such as handwashing.

British and German respondents appear to be the least concerned about the virus but many still report modifying their behaviours such as handwashing (35% UK, 40% Germany), using hand sanitisers more often (26% UK, 26% Germany) or wearing masks (6% UK, 5% Germany). Globally, the majority of people believe that good hygiene will protect them, especially in the countries with highest levels of COVID-19 infection.

“This survey shows that while concern about the novel coronavirus is high, it is encouraging to see that people are already adapting their hygiene behaviours such as handwashing,” said Dr Lisa Ackerley, a Chartered Environmental Health Practitioner and Hygiene Expert.  “Not only will this help to protect against coronavirus infection, but the simple action of hand hygiene at key moments helps guard against other respiratory and gastrointestinal diseases.”

The survey found some differences in attitudes and behaviours between gender, with women (57%) more likely than men (51%), to have adopted increased handwashing and hand sanitising behaviours.  Older respondents, those of 65+ years who tend to be most at risk of complications from infections, were less likely to say they had changed their handwashing behaviour.

Dr Ackerley also advocates for the concept of ‘destination handwashing’ that centres around washing your hands when you arrive at a destination to help prevent the spread of infection.  “When you arrive home, at work, at a restaurant, or at the gym, these are moments to trigger reminders for handwashing,” she said.  “Simply keeping your hands away from your face when travelling is also a useful tip to reduce the risk of transferring viruses from dirty hands to the eyes, nose or mouth.”

The global spread of the novel strain of coronavirus (named SARS-Cov-2) has led to an epidemic of a different kind; the spreading of inaccurate news about the virus has been called an ‘infodemic’ by the World Health Organisation.[i]

With so much information about the global health emergency, there is also an increasing risk of misinformation or the proliferation of myths about how consumers can combat the virus.  There is clear need to make sure that information is accurate and from trusted sources.  The survey showed most people turn to international and local health authorities as their most trusted source of information on COVID-19, followed by international and local news outlets.

The survey is the latest in a programme of efforts to support the fight against the spread of the virus and to increase knowledge for consumers worldwide.  RB recently announced two major donations; £5.5 million in cash and hygiene products to China through its Dettol brand and additional RMB £550,000 cash donation to support expectant mothers in Hubei Province through its infant nutrition MJN business.

“We encourage good hygiene practices to break the chain of infection at all times, but it is vital to increase awareness during times of increased concern or when new outbreaks such as COVID-19 occur,” said Dr Bruce Charlesworth, Chief Medical Officer for RB.

The survey was conducted with 11,000 adults across 11 countries:  Australia, China, Germany, India, Japan, Malaysia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States. The online survey with ten questions was fielded from 6-11 February 2020.

[i] Novel Coronavirus (2019-nCoV) Situation Report – 13. Available at: https://www.who.int/docs/default-source/coronaviruse/situation-reports/20200202-sitrep-13-ncov-v3.pdf Last accessed 17.02.20

Source: RB