一些国家已经开始在边境进行筛查,比如测量出行者的体温,以检测出新冠病毒感染者并阻止其入境。这个方法有效吗?

事实上,仅仅通过这类筛查,并不能百分之百检测出新冠病毒感染者。最近,一项研究显示,体温检测可能会遗漏将近一半(46%)的新冠病毒感染者,因为有些感染者可能还未表现出发热等症状。

针对之前疫情(比如SARS和流感大流行)的调查也显示,边境筛查措施仅发现了少数的感染者,甚至没有发现感染者。不过,通过这一系列措施,能够教育大众病毒的相关信息,以及告知他们如果有症状,该怎么处理。

在疫情爆发初期,世界卫生组织(WHO)建议对离开有持续社区传播地区的人员进行筛查,比如中国。目前,英国政府也要求来自高风险国家的飞机和船只提供证明,表示在降落或停靠前所有乘客都是健康的。

 

这种说法的来源是什么?

一些国家对于疫情严重的国家有严格的入境限制,还有一些国家对入境人员有一些筛查措施,比如体温检测。在此次疫情始发地武汉,爆发初期时的机场也有体温检测,以阻止感染者离开。

 

这种说法的依据是什么?

当新的感染疾病出现时,阻止感染者出行以阻截疾病传播是非常合理的。但是,当感染人数较少的时候,迅速且可靠地识别感染者是有一定难度的。对于会引起发热的传染疾病,在出入境时检测体温是一个办法。在过去的H1N1流感、埃博拉、以及SARS(另一种冠状病毒)疫情中,都有过体温筛查。

然而,一项2019年的系统综述中显示,现有证据表明,出入境传染疾病筛查(比如在SARS疫情期间)只成功检测出了很少病例,甚至没有检测出病例;少数研究对这类筛查的费用进行了调查,结果显示,筛查实施费用较高,这笔费用或许应该考虑花在别的更有效的措施上。

不过,这项系统综述也表示,这类筛查措施也有别的好处。比如,一些感染者或许会因此放弃出行,同时也能提升大众的意识,教育大众,并停止来自/前往疫情严重区的航班。

这项系统综述还表明,出境筛查或许比入境筛查更加重要,并在以往疫情中,更加被世界卫生组织(WHO)推荐。

可靠的信息源是如何建议的?

欧洲疾病预防控制中心(ECDC)表示,“有证据表明,在机场对出行人员进行检查(入境筛查)或许对阻截病毒传播不是十分有效,尤其是当患者还未表现出任何症状时。当乘客抵达目的地时,清楚地告知他们若出现病毒感染症状该如何做,或许是更有效的措施。”

世界卫生组织(WHO)也给出了类似的建议,仅靠体温检测或许不够有效。WHO建议,若政府采取了体温检测,政府也应该同步收集出行者的其他相关信息,建立一个系统,并对收集到的数据采取相应的措施。

 

分析来源:英国经济学人智库 健康保健部(EIU Healthcare)

 

引用

  1. 美联社。冠状病毒:全世界的机场都进行筛查。 《卫报》,2020年1月21日。 https://www.theguardian.com/science/2020/jan/21/coronavirus-screenings-global-travelling-airport (2020年3月9日访问)

参考文献

  1. 与新型冠状病毒相关的急性呼吸系统综合症的暴发,中国:EU / EEA中的首次局部传播-第三次更新。 2020年1月31日。 https://www.ecdc.europa.eu/sites/default/files/documents/novel-coronavirus-risk-assessment-china-31-january-2020_0.pdf (2020年3月10日访问)
  2. 关于COVID-19的问答。 2020年3月6日。 https://www.ecdc.europa.eu/en/novel-coronavirus-china/questions-answers (2020年3月10日访问)
  3. Mouchtouri VA等。在入境口岸对旅行者进行传染病的出入境筛查实践:寻找对公共健康影响的证据。国际公共卫生杂志2019,16,4638。 https://www.mdpi.com/1660-4601/16/23/4638
  4. Normile D.为什么在机场进行筛查不会阻止冠状病毒的传播。科学,2020年3月6日。 https://www.sciencemag.org/news/2020/03/why-airport-screening-wont-stop-spread-coronavirus (2020年3月10日访问)
  5. Quilty B等。机场筛查对发现新型冠状病毒感染旅客的有效性(2019-nCoV)。欧元监视。 2020; 25(5):pii = 2000080。 https://www.eurosurveillance.org/content/10.2807/1560-7917.ES.2020.25.5.2000080#html_fulltext
  6. 英国卫生与社会保健部。冠状病毒行动计划:有关在英国的期望的指南。 2020年3月3日。 https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/coronavirus-action-plan/coronavirus-action-plan-a-guide-to-what-you-can-expect-across-the-uk (2020年3月10日访问)
  7. 与新型冠状病毒2019-nCoV爆发有关的旅行者遣返和隔离的关键考虑因素。 2020年2月11日。 https://www.who.int/news-room/articles-detail/key-considerations-for-repatriation-and-quarantine-of-travellers-in-relation-to-the-outbreak-of-novel-coronavirus-2019-ncov/ (2020年3月10日访问)

Some countries have been using screening measures at borders, such as taking travellers’ temperatures, to try and stop people with the novel coronavirus entering. Can this approach work?

Unfortunately these measures alone are not able to completely stop the virus. A recent study suggested that almost half (46%) of novel coronavirus cases would be missed by temperature screening alone. This is because some travellers may be infected but not yet showing symptoms such as fever.

Research looking at entry screening in previous outbreaks of diseases such as SARS and pandemic flu also suggests that it identified either very few or no cases. However, it may provide an opportunity to educate travellers about the disease and what to do if they develop symptoms.

In the early stages of the outbreak the WHO advised screening of passengers leaving areas with ongoing community transmission of the virus, such as in China, where the virus was most common. The UK government currently requires flights and ships from high risk countries to provide a declaration stating that all their passengers are well before landing or docking.

 

Where did the story come from?

Some countries have restricted entry from the countries which are badly affected by COVID-19. Other countries have started using screening measures on entry such as temperature screening for passengers arriving from high risk countries. In Wuhan, where the outbreak began, airport temperature screening was also used in the early stages to stop infected passengers leaving the area.

 

What is the basis for the claim?

When a new infectious disease arises, stopping infected people from travelling and spreading it further makes sense, but often few people are infected and identifying them quickly and reliably can be a challenge. For infectious diseases which cause a fever, taking people’s temperatures when they exit or enter a country is one technique. This approach has been used in the past for the H1N1 influenza pandemic, Ebola, and SARS (another coronavirus).

However, a 2019 systematic review found that the existing evidence on entry and exit screening for infectious disease outbreaks suggested that the measures detected either no or very few cases for diseases such as SARS. The few studies that reported costs for screening for SARS and pandemic flu suggested that these measures were expensive to implement and consideration should be given to whether the money would be better spent on other measures.

However, the review noted that there may be other benefits from screening. For example, the measures may discourage ill people from travelling, raise awareness and educate the traveling public, and also allow flights from/to the affected areas to continue operating.

The review suggested that exit screening might be a higher priority than entry screening, and noted it has more commonly been recommended by the WHO in past outbreaks.

What do trusted sources say?

The European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) has stated that “There is evidence that checking people at the airport (known as entry screening) is not very effective in preventing the spread of the virus, especially when people do not have symptoms. It is generally considered more useful to provide those arriving at airports with clear information explaining what to do if they develop symptoms after arrival.”

The WHO similarly state that using temperature measurement alone for entry screening may not be very effective. They recommend that if it is implemented, governments should also take other measures such as collecting other relevant information from travellers and having systems in place to rapidly act on the data collected.

 

Analysis by EIU Healthcare

 

Citation

  1. Associate Press. Coronavirus: airports around the world carry out screenings. The Guardian, 21 January 2020. https://www.theguardian.com/science/2020/jan/21/coronavirus-screenings-global-travelling-airport (Accessed 9 March 2020)

Reading list

  1. Outbreak of acute respiratory syndrome associated with a novel coronavirus, China: first local transmission in the EU/EEA − third update. 31 January 2020. https://www.ecdc.europa.eu/sites/default/files/documents/novel-coronavirus-risk-assessment-china-31-january-2020_0.pdf (Accessed 10 March 2020)
  2. Q & A on COVID-19. 6 March 2020. https://www.ecdc.europa.eu/en/novel-coronavirus-china/questions-answers (Accessed 10 March 2020)
  3. Mouchtouri VA et al. Exit and Entry Screening Practices for Infectious Diseases among Travelers at Points of Entry: Looking for Evidence on Public Health Impact. Int J Environ Res Public Health 2019, 16, 4638. https://www.mdpi.com/1660-4601/16/23/4638
  4. Normile D. Why airport screening won’t stop the spread of coronavirus. Science, 6 March 2020. https://www.sciencemag.org/news/2020/03/why-airport-screening-wont-stop-spread-coronavirus (Accessed 10 March 2020)
  5. Quilty B et al. Effectiveness of airport screening at detecting travellers infected with novel coronavirus (2019-nCoV). Euro Surveill. 2020;25(5):pii=2000080. https://www.eurosurveillance.org/content/10.2807/1560-7917.ES.2020.25.5.2000080#html_fulltext
  6. UK Department of Health and Social Care. Coronavirus action plan: a guide to what you can expect across the UK. 3 March 2020. https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/coronavirus-action-plan/coronavirus-action-plan-a-guide-to-what-you-can-expect-across-the-uk (Accessed 10 March 2020)
  7. Key considerations for repatriation and quarantine of travellers in relation to the outbreak of novel coronavirus 2019-nCoV. 11 February 2020. https://www.who.int/news-room/articles-detail/key-considerations-for-repatriation-and-quarantine-of-travellers-in-relation-to-the-outbreak-of-novel-coronavirus-2019-ncov/ (Accessed 10 March 2020)