群众和国家都争先恐后地想要掌握如何应对新型冠状病毒,许多延缓病毒传播的措施也引起了广泛的讨论。有些人开始担心水瓶是否会传播新冠病毒,这种担心是合理的吗?

新冠病毒在唾液和粘液中被发现,所以,与病毒感染者共用水瓶(或其他饮用容器)可能会感染上病毒,但疫情期间,人们应该会避免这种行为;或许更重要的是,避免水瓶(尤其是与嘴部直接接触的地方)通过咳嗽、喷嚏或被污染的手受到污染 。

减少病毒传播的风险,最好的建议还是保持良好卫生习惯,包括不与他人分享水瓶等,日常清洁水瓶,以及勤洗手。如果担心公用饮水机的水,可以在家先将水瓶灌好水,尽管目前没有证据表明,饮水机会是病毒感染的主要来源。

 

这种说法的来源是什么?

随着人们防疫意识的提高,以及对新冠病毒的担忧,人们开始纠结很多地点以及物品的卫生清洁问题, 包括现金健身房水瓶等。

 

这种说法的依据是什么?

在过去,可重复使用的水瓶的卫生就引起过人们的担忧。一些研究人员表示,重复使用的水瓶或许会藏匿细菌,但并不确定这种现象是否常见,以及这是否会影响人们的健康。尽管越来越多人开始选择可重复使用的水瓶,但关于水瓶卫生的研究还比较少。现有研究大多是关于水瓶里的水,以及水瓶的材质是否安全 ,而不是关于瓶身外部的病毒感染风险。

病毒,包括冠状病毒,能够在人体外短时间存活,但它们并不能像细菌和真菌一样在人体外复制,所以,冠状病毒不会在你的水瓶里“繁殖”。根据对其他冠状病毒的测试,若不进行消毒,它们能够在物体表面存活2 个小时 – 9天(取决于物体表面类型以及条件)。

北爱尔兰公共卫生机构在其关于学校供水的信息中,给出了水瓶的使用建议,包括:

  • 不共用水瓶
  • 水瓶最好是干净透明的塑料材质
  • 每日用温肥皂水清洗水瓶,洗干净后,倒置晾干
  • 带喷嘴的水瓶需要打开喷嘴,用流水冲洗
  • 水瓶可以放在洗碗机里清洗,注意瓶身和瓶盖分开清洗
  • 合适的杀菌剂也可以用来清洗水瓶和其他饮用容器

 

可靠的信息源是如何建议的?

各大公共健康机构,包括世界卫生组织(WHO)和欧洲疾病预防控制中心(CDC)并没有针对新冠疫情期间水瓶的使用给出特别的建议;对于饮水安全,WHO表示新冠病毒没有在饮用水源中出现,且病毒存在于水源中的风险较低,WHO在最近加强了其用水指南。

阻截冠状病毒传播重要的方式之一,还是使用正确的方法勤洗手。

分析来源:英国经济学人智库 健康保健部(EIU Healthcare),由利洁时提供支持

 

引用

Torres M.在冠状病毒爆发期间使用可重复使用的水瓶可以吗? 《赫芬顿邮报》,2020年3月6日。 https://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/entry/reusable-water-bottle-coronavirus-outbreak_l_5e611e98c5b6bd126b772ce6 (2020年3月11日访问)

 

参考文献

1. Kampf G等。冠状病毒在无生命表面上的持久性以及它们的杀生物剂灭活作用。医院感染杂志,第104卷,第3期,246 – 251。 https://www.journalofhospitalinfection.com/article/S0195-6701(20)30046-3/fulltext

2.北爱尔兰卫生促进局。学校食物:水的供应。 2009年1月30日。 https://www.publichealth.hscni.net/publications/school-food-essential-guide-and-irish-translation (2020年3月11日访问)

3.世卫组织。 COVID-19的水,卫生,卫生和废物管理。 2020年3月3日。 https://www.who.int/publications-detail/water-sanitation-hygiene-and-waste-management-for-covid-19 (2020年3月11日访问)

As people and countries scramble to get on top of their responses to the coronavirus, many different measures to delay spread are being talked about. For example, some people have become concerned about re-useable water bottles; but is this concern warranted?

As the coronavirus is found in saliva and mucus, it is probable that sharing a water bottle (or any drinking vessel) with an infected person could pass on the infection, but people are unlikely to be doing this. Probably more importantly avoiding contamination of the bottle (particularly the drinking spout) with virus-containing droplets directly from coughs, sneezes, sharing or through dirty hands, makes common-sense.

The best advice to minimise the risks of transmission of any infectious disease is still good hygiene. This includes not sharing water bottles with others, daily washing of water bottles, and regular handwashing. People can also fill their water bottles at home if they are worried about using public drinking water dispensers, but in-fact there is no evidence we found that these are likely to be a significant source of viral infection.

 

Where did the story come from?

Heightened awareness of hygiene and risk of coronavirus has led people to question the cleanliness and hygiene of a range of places and objects, including cash, gyms and re-useable water bottles.

 

What is the basis for the claim?

The hygiene of reusable water bottles has come into question a number of times in the past. Some research has suggested that they can harbour bacteria, but it’s unclear how often this is the case, and whether this is having any impact on human health. Despite increasing use of water bottles in recent times, there is little research on this. Existing studies mostly relate to the safety of the water itself and the materials from which the bottles are made rather than the risks from external contamination of the bottle.

While viruses such as the coronavirus can live outside of the body for a short period of time, they can’t multiply outside of the body like bacteria or fungi can. So coronavirus won’t be “breeding” in your water bottle. Tests on other coronaviruses suggest that they can survive on surfaces for between 2 hours and 9 days (depending on factors such as the type of surface and conditions) if not disinfected.

In its information about water provision in schools, the Public Health Agency in Northern Ireland gives tips on water bottles including:

  • Water bottles should not be shared
  • Ideally bottles should be clear plastic
  • Water bottles should be washed daily in warm soapy water, rinsed, and left to air dry upside down
  • Nozzles of a sports cap should be opened and flushed through during cleaning
  • Bottles can also be washed in a dishwasher, with bottle and cap separated
  • A sterilising agent can also be used to clean drinking vessels and bottles.

 

What do trusted sources say?

The major public health bodies such as the World Health Organization and the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) have not specifically produced guidance on reusable water bottles during the coronavirus outbreak.

In terms of the safety of drinking water itself, the WHO has stated that coronavirus has not been detected in drinking water supplies, and risk to the water supply is low. It has also reinforced its general water, sanitation, hygiene and waste management principles. This includes that frequent and proper hand hygiene is one of the most important measures that can be used to prevent infection with the COVID-19 virus.

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benkiser

 

Citation

Torres M. Is it OK to use a reusable water bottle during the Coronavirus outbreak? Huffington Post, 6 March 2020. https://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/entry/reusable-water-bottle-coronavirus-outbreak_l_5e611e98c5b6bd126b772ce6 (Accessed 11 March 2020)

 

Reading list

1.     Kampf G et al. Persistence of coronaviruses on inanimate surfaces and their inactivation with biocidal agents. Journal of Hospital Infection, Volume 104, Issue 3, 246 – 251. https://www.journalofhospitalinfection.com/article/S0195-6701(20)30046-3/fulltext

2.     Health Promotion Agency for Northern Ireland. School food: Water Provision. 30 January 2009. https://www.publichealth.hscni.net/publications/school-food-essential-guide-and-irish-translation (Accessed 11 March 2020)

3.     WHO. Water, sanitation, hygiene and waste management for COVID-19. 3 March 2020. https://www.who.int/publications-detail/water-sanitation-hygiene-and-waste-management-for-covid-19 (Accessed 11 March 2020)