随着COVID-19患者人数不断上升,新冠病毒的防疫面临一个重要的问题:患者会二次感染冠状病毒吗?

一些报告显示,有COVID-19患者痊愈不久后,被再次检测出病毒阳性。现有的有限研究表明,这可能是由于患者的病毒水平波动,而不是二次感染。该报告只调查了4名患者,因此这个问题还有待解决。

由于我们免疫系统的工作方式,成功对抗新冠病毒的人似乎不太可能在短时间内再次受到感染;对于猴子的初步研究也支持了这一点。

一些病毒,比如流感病毒,会发生变化并逃避免疫系统,从而再次感染人体,且抗体水平也会消退。但这些都需要时间。目前,我们还尚不清楚新冠病毒的免疫性会如何发展,以及该病毒在长期会如何变化。

 

这种说法的来源是什么?

二月,一名 日本女性从COVID-19中痊愈,病毒检测呈阴性;20天后,她再次发展出症状,且病毒检测呈阳性。中国也报道过类似病例。这些病例开始让人们担忧,新冠病毒是否会二次感染人体。

 

这种说法的依据是什么?

目前还很难确定上述病例背后的原因。虽然可能可以用二次感染来解释,但也有可能是患者的感染从未消失,只是由于病毒水平低,暂时未被发现。

中国的一项研究报告了4名医务人员从COVID-19中痊愈、病毒检测呈阴性后的随访情况。所有患者都使用过治疗流感的抗病毒药物(奥司他韦)。

结果显示,研究中的4人出院后5 – 13天,咽拭子冠状病毒检测均呈阳性;当时,他们没有表现出任何症状,肺部也没有任何变化。

此研究中涉及到的是中轻度病例且数量较少,因此,不能断定同样的情况会出现在所有病例上。研究人员对病毒进行了彻底的检测,并进行了多次测试以检查结果。他们认为,这些结果表明,痊愈的患者仍是病毒携带者,因为这些患者并没有接触其他有呼吸道症状人,能够使他们再次感染。

虽然此研究表明,患者的喉咙中可能还有新冠病毒,但我们不知道这些病毒是否足够具有传染性。当时与这些患者一同生活的人并没有感染上新冠病毒。

针对2只感染了新冠病毒的恒河猴的早期研究发现,在一个月后再次接触到新冠病毒时,它们并未二次感染。还没有其他研究人员检查过该研究的稳健性,因此其结果还不是决定性的。

 

可靠的信息源是如何建议的?

美国疾病预防控制中心 (CDC)表示,对于新冠病毒的免疫反应还尚不清楚。他们表示,感染导致MERS的冠状病毒的人,在康复不久后不太可能会二次感染,但目前还未知的是,类似的免疫保护作用是否会在COVID-19患者身上观察到。

本周,英国政府的首席科学顾问 Patrick Vallance爵士表示,虽然有人的确二次感染了传染疾病,但这种情况并不多见。他说,没有证据表明新冠病毒会出现这种情况。

分析来源:英国经济学人智库 健康保健部(EIU Healthcare),由利洁时提供支持

 

引文

  1. 冠状病毒:日本女性第二次呈阳性。 《卫报》,2020年2月27日。 https://www.theguardian.com/world/2020/feb/27/japanese-woman-tests-positive-for-coronavirus-for-second-time (2020年3月17日访问)

 

  1. 周力等。出院后新型冠状病毒性肺炎(covid-19)患者“复发”的原因分析和治疗策略]中华解放队和平队。 2020年3月2日; 43(0):E028。 [Epub提前发布] https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/32118391 (2020年3月17日访问)

 

参考文献

  1. Lan L等。从COVID-19中恢复的患者中RT-PCR检测阳性。贾玛于2020年2月27日在线发布。 https://jamanetwork.com/journals/jama/fullarticle/2762452 (2020年3月17日访问)
  2. Bao L等。在SARS-CoV-2感染的猕猴中不能再感染。 bioRxiv,2020年3月14日。 https://www.biorxiv.org/content/10.1101/2020.03.13.990226v1.article-info (2020年3月18日访问)
  3. 美国疾病预防控制中心。 2019年冠状病毒疾病。医疗保健专业人员:常见问题解答。 2020年3月17日更新。 https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/hcp/faq.html (2020年3月17日访问)

As more people start getting COVID-19, an important question for planning the coronavirus response is: can they catch it twice?

Some reports have suggested that some people who recover from COVID-19 can then test positive for the virus again shortly after. The limited research conducted so far suggests that this might be because of fluctuations in people’s viral levels rather than reinfection. This research only looked at 4 people, so the issue isn’t settled yet.

Because of the way our immune systems work, it seems unlikely that a person who has successfully fought off the novel coronavirus would get infected again in a short period of time. Initial research in monkeys supports this.

Some viruses like the flu can change enough to evade the immune system and infect people again and antibody levels can fade, but these things take time. It’s too early as yet to know how immunity to the novel coronavirus might develop or how the virus might change in the long term.

 

Where did the story come from?

In February a Japanese woman who had recovered from COVID-19 and tested negative for the virus, developed symptoms and tested positive again about 20 days later. China has also reportedly had similar cases. These cases led to people questioning whether it was possible to get the novel coronavirus twice.

 

What is the basis for the claim?

It’s very difficult to know for sure the reason behind the cases above. While reinfection is one explanation it is also possible that people’s infections never went away but were temporarily undetected. This might happen because viral levels were low.

A Chinese study has reported on the follow-up of 4 medical professionals after recovery from COVID-19 and testing negative for the virus. All had been treated with an antiviral drug used to treat flu (oseltamivir).

It found that all 4 had throat swab tests positive for coronavirus again 5 to 13 days after leaving hospital. None of them had symptoms or had any changes to their lungs at the time.

This is a relatively small number of mild to moderate cases, and it’s not possible to say for sure that the same would be seen in all cases. The researchers did thorough testing for the virus, carrying out multiple tests to check their results. They suggest that the findings reflected people still being carriers, as they had not been in contact with any other people with respiratory symptoms who could have reinfected them.

While the study suggests that the people may still have had coronavirus in their throats, we don’t know if they were producing enough to be infectious. None of the people living with them at the time caught coronavirus from them.

Early stage research in 2 rhesus monkeys who were infected with the novel coronavirus found that they did not catch it again when re-exposed a month later. This small study has not yet been checked for robustness by other researchers so is not conclusive.

 

What do trusted sources say?

The US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) say that the immune response to the novel coronavirus is not yet understood. They say that people who caught the coronavirus that causes MERS were unlikely to be re-infected shortly after recovery, but that it is not yet known whether similar immune protection will be observed for patients with COVID-19.

This week the UK’s government’s chief scientific adviser Sir Patrick Vallance said that while some people do catch infectious diseases a second time, it is rare. He said there was no evidence to suggest that this would happen with the novel coronavirus.

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

 

Citations

  1. Coronavirus: Japanese woman tests positive for second time. The Guardian, 27 February 2020. https://www.theguardian.com/world/2020/feb/27/japanese-woman-tests-positive-for-coronavirus-for-second-time (Accessed 17 March 2020)

 

  1. Zhou L et al. [Cause analysis and treatment strategies of “recurrence” with novel coronavirus pneumonia (covid-19) patients after discharge from hospital]. Zhonghua Jie He He Hu Xi Za Zhi. 2020 Mar 2;43(0):E028. [Epub ahead of print] https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/32118391 (Accessed 17 March 2020)

 

Reading list

  1. Lan L et al. Positive RT-PCR Test Results in Patients Recovered From COVID-19. JAMA. Published online February 27, 2020. https://jamanetwork.com/journals/jama/fullarticle/2762452 (Accessed 17 March 2020)
  2. Bao L et al. Reinfection could not occur in SARS-CoV-2 infected rhesus macaques. bioRxiv, 14 March 2020. https://www.biorxiv.org/content/10.1101/2020.03.13.990226v1.article-info (Accessed 18 March 2020)
  3. US CDC. Coronavirus Disease 2019. Healthcare Professionals: Frequently Asked Questions and Answers. Updated 17 March 2020. https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/hcp/faq.html (Accessed 17 March 2020)