儘管可以放心地認為由於天氣轉暖,大流行會自然減慢,但這種希望很大程度上是基於與季節性病毒的比較。冠狀病毒在其第一個季節不太可能是強烈季節性的。

各國在案件中達到頂峰的速度將取決於公民實施社會疏遠和留在家中打破傳播的建議的程度和速度。該行動更有可能確定大流行何時會比天氣慢。

在2月10 在白宮舉行的新聞發布會之後,這種虛假的希望首先在社交媒體上得到了放大,當時有人暗示, 隨著天氣轉暖 ,冠狀病毒可能會消失

在未經同行評審的預印本期刊中已有一些早期研究,這些期刊已迅速尋求收集數據或模擬該病毒在不同地區和人群中的傳染性。儘管前景廣闊,但尚無人提供高水平的證據,但仍可以推翻這一想法,即在今年晚些時候阻止這種流行病蔓延的是政府行為支持的公民行為。

資訊是從哪裡來的?

多個社交媒體消息來源和評論員以正面和負面的方式放大了這個故事。

 

資訊有什麼依據?

天氣變暖可能阻止疾病傳播的想法主要來自與流感的比較。作為呼吸道疾病,COVID-19與流感相似。兩種病毒都通過呼吸道分泌物和受污染的表面傳播。兩種疾病通常都會引起輕度呼吸道疾病,在某些情況下會發展為威脅生命的肺炎。但是,對於一種新型病毒,其傳播鏈可能有所不同,我們對這種病毒SARS-CoV-2的了解還不夠。

3月19日發表的麻省理工學院評論使用約翰·霍普金斯大學(John Hopkins University)彙編的數據調查了溫度在3至13°C之間的世界範圍內的冠狀病毒傳播速率。當天,在溫度高於18°C的國家中發現了5%病例。

這些作者強調,將需要採取適當的社會隔離,檢疫和隔離措施,以有效減少SARS-CoV-2(病毒)的傳播並保護那些面臨更嚴重的COVID-19(疾病)風險的人。

最近發表了關於SARS-CoV-2在不同氣候數據中傳播的生態研究和模型。到目前為止,許多人還沒有經過同行評審過程,因此提供了與天氣或溫度有關的低級證據。 第一項研究模擬了氣候的每月變化以及全年可能傳播的病毒。這組作者發現,冠狀病毒表現出對涼爽和乾燥條件的偏愛,而不是炎熱和潮濕的條件。

在中國進行的另一項研究的作者計算了每天的生殖數(R 0 ),這是在中國不同城市中每種主要病例感染多少人的度量。在控制人口密度之後,在40多個案例中,發現高溫和濕度之間的關聯具有較低的透射率(R 0 )。

像這樣的早期研究將需要在更多的國家中進行重複,然後才能使人對傳播與氣候之間的聯繫充滿信心。

 

專家意見

世界衛生組織指出,COVID-19病毒可在所有地區傳播,包括炎熱潮濕的地區。

疾病控制與預防中心提到,目前尚不清楚溫度和溫暖的天氣是否會影響COVID-19的傳播。

經濟學人智庫醫療保健 分析文章,由利潔時贊助

 

引文

  1. 麻省理工學院技術評論。天氣轉暖可能會減緩冠狀病毒的傳播。郝嘉Ha可在: https://www.technologyreview.com/s/615381/coronavirus-spread-could-slow-with-warmer-weather/ (2020年3月20日訪問)

 

閱讀清單

1.疾病控制中心。 2019年冠狀病毒病(COVID-19)。經常問的問題。可在: https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/faq.html (2020年3月20日訪問)

2. Wang J,Tang K,Feng K等。高溫高濕會降低COVID-19的傳播。 2020年3月9日在以下位置提供: https://arxiv.org/ftp/arxiv/papers/2003/2003.05003.pdf (2020年3月20日訪問)

3. Arauko M和Naimi B. SARS-CoV-2冠狀病毒的傳播可能受到氣候的限制。可在: https://www.medrxiv.org/content/10.1101/2020.03.12.20034728v1 (2020年3月20日訪問)

4.世界衛生組織。 https://www.who.int/emergencies/diseases/novel-coronavirus-2019/advice-for-public/myth-busters (2020年3月20日訪問)

Though it is reassuring to think that the pandemic will slow naturally because of warmer weather, this hope is largely based on comparisons with seasonal viruses. It is unlikely that the coronavirus, in its first season will be strongly seasonal.

The speed at which countries manage to get over the peak in cases will be determined by how well and how fast citizens can implement the advice on social distancing and staying at home to break transmission. This action is more likely to determine when the pandemic will slow than the weather.

This false hope was first amplified on social media after a February 10th press conference, in the White House where it was suggested that the coronavirus might simply die out as the weather gets warmer.

There are early studies in non-peer reviewed pre-print journals that have quickly sought to collect data or model the infectivity of this virus in different regions and populations. Though promising, none provide high level evidence yet to overturn the idea that it is citizens behaviour supported by their governments actions that will stem the tide of this epidemic later in the year.

Where did the story come from?

Multiple social media sources accounts and commentators have amplified this story in both positive and negative ways.

 

What is the basis for the claim?

The idea that warmer weather may stem the spread of the disease comes largely from a comparison with the flu. As a respiratory illness, COVID-19 is similar to the flu. Both viruses spread through respiratory secretions and contaminated surfaces. Both illnesses can cause typically mild respiratory disease that in some cases develops into life-threatening pneumonia. But the chain of transmission can be different for a new virus and we don’t yet know enough about the virus SARS-CoV-2.

A Massachusetts Institute of Technology review published on the 19th of March used data compiled by John Hopkins University to investigate the rates of transmissions with coronavirus in regions of the world where temperatures range between 3 and 13°C. on that date 5% cases were observed in countries where temperatures were above 18°C.

These authors emphasis that the proper social distancing, quarantine and isolation measures will be required to effectively reduce the transmission of SARS-CoV-2 (the virus) and protect those people who are at risk of more serious COVID-19 (the disease).

Ecological studies and modelling of the spread of SARS-CoV-2 in different climates data have recently been published. So far many have not gone through a peer reviewed process and so provide low-level evidence of a link to weather or temperature. The first study models monthly variation in climate and likely transmission of the virus throughout the year. The authors found that the coronavirus displays a preference for cool and dry conditions over hot and humid ones.

The authors of another study conducted in China calculate the daily reproductive number (R0), a measure of how many people are infected by each primary case across different Chinese cities. In cites with more than 40 cases an associaton between high temperature and humidity with lower transmission (R0) was found after controlling for the population density.

Early research like this will need to be repeated in more countries before anyone can be confident of links between transmission and climate.

 

What do trusted sources say?

The World Health Organization noted that the COVID-19 virus can be transmitted in all areas, including those with hot and humid weather.

The Centres for Disease Control and Prevention mention that it is not currently known whether temperature and warm weather will have an impact on the spread of COVID-19.

 

Citation

  1. MIT Technology Review. Warmer weather could slow down the spread of the coronavirus. Karen Hao. Available at: https://www.technologyreview.com/s/615381/coronavirus-spread-could-slow-with-warmer-weather/ (Accessed March 20, 2020)

 

Reading list

1.     Center for Disease Control. Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19). Frequently Asked Questions. Available at: https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/faq.html (Accessed March 20, 2020)

2.     Wang J, Tang K, Feng K, et al. High temperature and high humidity reduce the transmission of COVID-19. March 9 2020 Available at: https://arxiv.org/ftp/arxiv/papers/2003/2003.05003.pdf (Accessed March 20, 2020)

3.     Arauko M and Naimi B. Spread of SARS-CoV-2 Coronavirus likely to be constrained by climate. Available at: https://www.medrxiv.org/content/10.1101/2020.03.12.20034728v1 (Accessed March 20, 2020)

4.     World Health Organization. https://www.who.int/emergencies/diseases/novel-coronavirus-2019/advice-for-public/myth-busters (Accessed March 20, 2020)