有報導稱,一種可以治療瘧疾數十年的藥物正在幫助中國的患者進行測試,以檢驗它是否能治療冠狀病毒。

在實驗室測試中,已證明氯喹和一種緊密相連的藥物羥氯喹可以抑制冠狀病毒。據報導,中國尚未發表的臨床研究發現該藥有效。

該藥在 白宮新聞發布會 美國食品和藥物管理局宣布氯喹已被批准用於COVID-19患者。那不是完全正確的。尼日利亞人有 據說 一直在搶購毒品。

世界衛生組織 正在組織羥氯喹和其他三種藥物或組合藥物的跨國試驗。 3月8日,進行了23次羥氯喹試驗 註冊.

醫生可以將治療用於除官方批准的疾病之外的其他治療方法,這種開處方的做法被稱為“標籤外”。但是,在更大的試驗中,與其他藥物相比,收集更好的證據來觀察氯喹在治療COVID-19方面是否安全有效也是可行的。

 

資訊是從哪裡來的?

已經有廣泛的 報告 在媒體和社交媒體上,有關氯喹對冠狀病毒有效。尋找治療新病毒的方法時,對用於其他情況的現有藥物進行試驗是有意義的。

 

資訊有什麼依據?

尋找對新的傳染原反應的醫生和研究人員從已知會影響類似原發的現有藥物開始。在這種情況下,研究了針對先前冠狀病毒的藥物(例如引起SARS和MERS的藥物),這些藥物已知具有抗病毒作用。

二月份出現了對氯喹的興趣,當時 發表在《細胞研究》雜誌上的文章報導說,氯喹在實驗室測試中對冠狀病毒非常有效。實驗室測試不涉及人類或動物,但希望了解將藥物引入病毒培養物中是否會抑制其生長。該研究還發現,雷姆昔韋是一種抗埃博拉病毒的藥物,非常有效。

同樣在2月, 發表在《生物科學趨勢》(BioScience Trends)上的文章說,中國對“ 100多名患者”進行的試驗發現,氯喹可預防肺炎惡化並加快病毒清除速度。由於這些試驗尚未發表,並且他們的發現共享,我們不知道它們是否是高質量的。

由於中國報告引起關注,世界衛生組織決定在其多國試驗中納入氯喹。該藥物還將在 歐洲審判 本周宣布。

一個 註冊試驗分析 英國循證醫學中心對冠狀病毒的研究發現,截至3月8日,已有382項研究註冊,其中23項用於測試氯喹。這些研究人員說,迄今為止,來自中國的研究的特點是質量低,樣本量小。

 

專家意見

世界衛生組織 管理指導 COVID-19的作者說,目前沒有證據對確診COVID-19的患者推薦任何特異性的抗COVID-19治療。它建議在倫理上批准的隨機對照試驗中使用研究性抗COVID-19治療藥物。

美國疾病控制中心還指出,目前尚無美國食品和藥物管理局(FDA)許可的抗病毒藥物用於治療COVID-19的患者。它 添加,目前尚無來自隨機臨床試驗的數據可為預防或治療SARS-CoV-2感染的羥氯喹的使用,劑量或持續時間提供臨床指導。

經濟學人智庫醫療保健 分析文章,由利潔時贊助

 

引文

1. Jianjun G等。突破:磷酸氯喹在臨床研究中已顯示出明顯的治療COVID-19相關性肺炎的功效。生物科學趨勢14、1; 2020年。 https://www.jstage.jst.go.jp/article/bst/14/1/14_2020.01047/_article (2020年3月25日訪問)

閱讀清單

1. Wang M等。 Remdesivir和氯喹在體外有效抑制最近出現的新型冠狀病毒(2019-nCoV)。 Cell Res 30,269-271(2020)。 https://doi.org/10.1038/s41422-020-0282-0 (2020年3月25日訪問)

2. Aronson J等。截止到2020年3月8日,COVID-19試驗已經註冊,對382項研究進行了分析。牛津大學循證醫學中心。 https://www.cebm.net/oxford-covid-19/covid-19-registered-trials-and-analysis/ (2020年3月25日訪問)

3.世界衛生組織。當懷疑存在新的冠狀病毒(nCoV)感染時,應對嚴重的急性呼吸道感染進行臨床處理。 https://www.who.int/publications-detail/clinical-management-of-severe-acute-respiratory-infection-when-novel-coronavirus-(ncov)-infection-is-suspected (2020年3月25日訪問)

A drug used to treat malaria for decades is being tested to see if it works for coronavirus, after reports that it helped patients in China.

Chloroquine and a closely linked drug, hydroxychloroquine, have been shown to inhibit the coronavirus in laboratory tests. Unpublished clinical studies from China have reportedly found the drug effective.

The drug gained prominence at a White House press conference where it was announced that chloroquine had been approved for use in COVID-19 patients by the US Food and Drug Administration. That was not entirely correct. People in Nigeria have reportedly been panic-buying the drug.

The World Health Organisation is organising multinational trials of hydroxychloroquine and three other drugs or combinations. On March 8, 23 trials of hydroxychloroquine had been registered.

Doctors can use treatments for conditions other than those that have been officially approved, a prescribing practice known as “off-label”. But it is also seems wise to gather better evidence to see if chloroquine is safe and effective for treating COVID-19 in larger trials compared to other medication.

 

Where did the story come from?

There have been widespread reports in the media and social media about chloroquine being effective against coronavirus. It makes sense to trial existing drugs, which have been used for other conditions, when looking for ways to treat new viruses.

 

What is the basis for the claim?

Doctors and researchers looking for responses to new infectious agents start with existing drugs known to affect similar agents. In this case, drugs used against previous coronaviruses (such as those that caused SARS and MERS) and known to have anti-viral action, were investigated.

Interest in chloroquine emerged in February, when a letter published in the journal Cell Research reported that chloroquine was highly effective against coronavirus in laboratory tests. Laboratory testing does not involve people or animals but looks to see whether introducing the drug to a culture of the virus inhibits its growth. The study also found remdesivir, a drug developed to combat Ebola, was highly effective.

Also in February, a letter published in BioScience Trends said Chinese trials on “more than 100 patients” had found chloroquine prevented pneumonia from worsening and speeded clearance of the virus. As these trials have not been published and their findings shared we don’t know if they were high quality.

Because of interest prompted by the Chinese reports, the WHO decided to include chloroquine in its multi-national trial. The drug will also be tested in a European trial announced this week.

An analysis of registered trials of coronavirus research by the UK Centre for Evidence Based Medicine found that 382 studies had been registered by March 8, 23 of them to test chloroquine. These researchers said that the studies from China so far were characterised by poor quality and small sample size.

 

What do trusted sources say?

The World Health Organisation’s guidance on management of COVID-19 says that there is no current evidence to recommend any specific anti-COVID-19 treatment for patients with confirmed COVID-19. It recommends investigational anti-COVID-19 therapeutics are used in ethically approved, randomised, controlled trials.

The US Center for Disease Control also states that there are currently no antiviral drugs licensed by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration to treat patients with COVID-19. It adds, that there are no currently available data from randomized clinical trials to inform clinical guidance on the use, dosing, or duration of hydroxychloroquine for prophylaxis or treatment of SARS-CoV-2 infection.

 

Citation

1.     Jianjun G et al. Breakthrough: Chloroquine phosphate has shown apparent efficacy in treatment of COVID-19 associated pneumonia in clinical studies. BioScience Trends 14, 1; 2020. https://www.jstage.jst.go.jp/article/bst/14/1/14_2020.01047/_article (Accessed 25 March 2020)

Reading list

1.     Wang, M et al. Remdesivir and chloroquine effectively inhibit the recently emerged novel coronavirus (2019-nCoV) in vitro. Cell Res 30, 269–271 (2020). https://doi.org/10.1038/s41422-020-0282-0 (Accessed 25 March 2020)

2.     Aronson J et al. COVID-19 trials registered up to 8 March 2020—an analysis of 382 studies. Centre for Evidence Based Medicine, Oxford University. https://www.cebm.net/oxford-covid-19/covid-19-registered-trials-and-analysis/ (Accessed 25 March 2020)

3.     World Health Organisation. Clinical management of severe acute respiratory infection when novel coronavirus (nCoV) infection is suspected. https://www.who.int/publications-detail/clinical-management-of-severe-acute-respiratory-infection-when-novel-coronavirus-(ncov)-infection-is-suspected (Accessed 25 March 2020)