媒体 报告 提示人们的血型可能会影响他们感染冠状病毒的机会。

这些报告基于 研究 该研究将中国医院的2,173例冠状病毒患者的血型与武汉和深圳的27,080人的血型进行了比较。该研究尚未经过同行评审或发表在医学期刊上,但已提前发布。

该研究表明,与普通人群相比,冠状病毒患者的A型血更常见,而O型血较少。但这并不意味着血型会直接影响冠状病毒的感染性。这可能是巧合。

目前尚不清楚血型如何影响被冠状病毒感染的机会。通常,在人们接受某物是某种疾病的危险因素之前,我们需要一个生物学上合理的理由来解释为什么可能是这样,并且也需要进行强有力的观察研究。

这种说法的来源是什么?

故事首先出现在 南华早报,它在3月17日报道说:“ A型血的人可能更容易受到新的冠状病毒的感染,而O型血的人似乎更具抵抗力。”

这种说法的依据是什么?

这些声明是由来自中国武汉,深圳和上海的七家医院和大学的研究人员在出版前的论文中提出的。研究人员比较了武汉和深圳三所医院(包括206例死亡患者)的SARS-CoV-2测试确认的2,173例COVID-19患者的血型分布,以及该实验室“近期调查”中的27,080人的血型分布。武汉和深圳的总人口。

研究报告:

  • COVID-19患者的37%(包括85例死亡)为A型血,而普通人群为29%
  • COVID-19患者的26%(包括52例死亡)为O型血,而普通人群为38%

研究人员计算出,与其他血型(OR(比)1.21,95%置信区间(CI)1.02至1.43)相比,血型A的人被感染的可能性更高(21%),血型O的人被感染的可能性更小(33%)感染率要高于其他血型人群(OR 0.67,95% CI 0.60至0.75)。尚无法说出在本研究中选择人的方式是否存在偏见是否可以解释表观差异。

但是,所有3家医院的结果均不一致。在深圳的一家医院中,A型血的人比其他类型的人感染的可能性更低。这可能是因为从这家医院采样的患者较少(285)。

 

可靠的信息源是如何建议的?

WHO和NHS对此文件未发表评论。

雷丁大学心血管与毒液药理学副教授Sakthi Vaiyapuri博士在科学媒体中心发表评论时说:“没有任何证据可以证明ABO血型与ABO血型之间存在巧合相关性的说法。签订Covid-19的可能性。”

他说,他们的发现“太多参数令人怀疑”,并补充说:“重要的是,人们不应该对这些结果感到惊慌,因为显然需要进一步的科学研究来证实这些说法。”

分析来源:英国经济学人智库 健康保健部(EIU Healthcare),由利洁时提供支持

 

引用

1. Jiao Z等。 ABO血型与COVID-19易感性之间的关系。 MedRxiv预印本doi: https://doi.org/10.1101/2020.03.11.20031096。 (2020年3月26日访问)

参考文献

1.科学媒体中心。专家对预印本对A型血液和COVID-19敏感性的反应。 https://www.sciencemediacentre.org/expert-reaction-to-a-preprint-on-blood-type-a-and-covid-19-susceptibility/ (2020年3月26日访问)

Media reports suggested that people’s blood group may affect their chances of infection with coronavirus.

The reports were based on a study which compared blood groups of 2,173 coronavirus patients in hospitals in China with blood groups of 27,080 people from the general population in Wuhan and Shenzhen. The study has not been peer-reviewed or published in a medical journal, but was released early.

The study showed blood type A was more common and type O less common in coronavirus patients than in the general population. But that does not mean blood type directly affects coronavirus infectivity. It could be a co-incidence.

It is not clear how blood type might affect the chances of being infected with coronavirus. Usually, before people accept that something is a risk factor for an illness, we need a biologically-plausible reason why that might be and strong observational research too.

Where did the story come from?

The story first surfaced in the South China Morning Post, which reported on 17 March that “People with blood type A may be more vulnerable to infection by the new coronavirus, while those with type O seem more resistant.”

What is the basis for the claim?

The claims were made in a pre-publication paper by researchers from seven hospitals and universities in Wuhan, Shenzhen and Shanghai, China. The researchers compared the blood group distribution in 2,173 patients with COVID-19 confirmed by SARS-CoV-2 test, from three hospitals in Wuhan and Shenzhen (including 206 who had died), with that of 27,080 people from “recent surveys” of the general population of Wuhan and Shenzhen.

The research reported:

  • 37% of patients with COVID-19 (including 85 who had died) were blood type A, compared to 29% of the general population
  • 26% of patients with COVID-19 (including 52 who had died) were blood type O, compared to 38% of the general population

The researchers calculated that people with blood type A were 21% more likely to be infected than people with other blood types (odds ratio (OR) 1.21, 95% confidence interval (CI) 1.02 to 1.43) and people with blood type O were 33% less likely to be infected than people from other blood groups (OR 0.67, 95% CI 0.60 to 0.75). It is not possible to say if a bias in the way people were selected for this study could have accounted for the apparent difference.

However, the results were not consistent for all 3 hospitals. For one hospital in Shenzhen, people with blood type A were no more likely to be infected than those with other types. This may be because there were fewer patients (285) sampled from this hospital.

 

What do trusted sources say?

The WHO and NHS have not commented on the paper.

Commenting via the Science Media Centre, Dr Sakthi Vaiyapuri, Associate Professor in Cardiovascular and Venom Pharmacology, University of Reading, said: “There is little evidence to substantiate any claim that there [is] any more than a coincidental correlation between blood group ABO and susceptibility of contracting Covid-19.”

He said there were “far too many parameters that cast doubt” on their findings, and added: “Importantly, people should not panic about these results as clearly further scientific research is required to substantiate these claims.”

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

 

Citation

1.     Jiao Z et al. Relationship between the ABO Blood Group and the COVID-19 Susceptibility. MedRxiv preprint doi: https://doi.org/10.1101/2020.03.11.20031096. (Accessed 26 March 2020)

Reading list

1.     Science Media Centre. Expert reaction to a preprint on blood type A and COVID-19 susceptibility. https://www.sciencemediacentre.org/expert-reaction-to-a-preprint-on-blood-type-a-and-covid-19-susceptibility/ (Accessed 26 March 2020)