社交媒体上已经有很多人建议彼此喝热水或漱口水,以“洗净”冠状病毒并预防感染。

如果喉咙痛,喝温水或漱口水可能会帮助缓解症状,但没有证据表明它可以预防冠状病毒感染。

冠状病毒通过眼睛,嘴巴或鼻子进入人体。当它到达这些区域时,它可以进入细胞并开始繁殖。这就是为什么预防病毒的最佳方法是用肥皂洗手,避免触摸眼睛,嘴巴或鼻子。一旦病毒进入您的体内,喝水或漱口不太可能有所帮助。

在某些国家/地区,常使用漱口水来预防感冒和流感,尽管很少有证据表明这样做有效。

这种说法的来源是什么?

纽约时报报道 在社交媒体上有很多帖子要求将漱口作为一种保护措施。

在东亚的一些国家,漱口是一种常见的做法,并且普遍认为可以减少感染。它甚至是建议的大流行性流感应对措施的一部分 日本政府.

这种说法的依据是什么?

尚未进行任何研究,以漱口或喝热水,温水或盐水可以预防引起Covid-19的病毒。

一个 证据审查 2015年进行的关于非医疗干预措施是否有助于减缓或阻止流感蔓延的研究包括在日本进行的两项口腔卫生试验。一个人看了看每周一次的牙齿卫生检查,并向卫生员咨询了老人的建议,发现这减少了口腔细菌和唾液感染的迹象。另一个比较漱口水,用水聚维酮碘漱口水或通常的个人护理。它没有发现对漱口或一种漱口相对于另一种漱口没有明显的预防作用。该评论的结论是“口腔卫生和洗手[显示]功效”。

专家们质疑饮用水或漱口液可以“洗掉”病毒的观点。谈到 英国广播公司网站牛津大学全球健康研究教授Trudie Lang教授说,“没有生物学机制”可以将呼吸道病毒冲洗到您的胃中以杀死它。

在美国,约翰霍普金斯大学健康安全中心研究新兴传染病的资深学者Amesh Adalja博士 添加:“虽然冠状病毒确实会引起喉咙痛,而用温水漱口会使它感觉好些,但它对病毒没有直接影响。”

喝大量的液体并保持良好的水分通常是良好的健康建议,尤其是当您感到不适时。但是没有理由认为这会阻止您被感染。

可靠的信息源是如何建议的?

哈佛大学陈陈公共卫生学院 说:“没有证据表明定期漱口可以保护人们免受新的冠状病毒的感染。尽管这可能有助于缓解喉咙痛,但这种做法不会阻止病毒进入肺部,也不会经常喝一口水。

分析来源:英国经济学人智库 健康保健部(EIU Healthcare),由利洁时提供支持

 

引用

  1. Smith S等。使用非药物干预措施减少成人流感的传播:系统综述。呼吸学(2015)20,896–903 doi:10.1111 / resp.12541 https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/full/10.1111/resp.12541

参考文献

  1. 日本政府的大流行性流感防范行动计划。部际禽流感委员会于2007年10月修订。 https://www.mhlw.go.jp/english/topics/influenza/dl/pandemic02.pdf [2020年4月1日访问]
  2. BBC新闻事实检查小组:冠状病毒:您应该忽略的虚假健康建议。 2020年3月8日。 https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-51735367
  3. 杰基粉。 COVID-19神话与现实。约翰霍普金斯大学彭博公共卫生学院。 https://www.jhsph.edu/covid-19/articles/coronavirus-facts-vs-myths.html
  4. 神话与事实。哈佛大学陈陈公共卫生学院。 https://www.hsph.harvard.edu/india-center/myths-vs-facts/

There have been posts on social media of people advising each other to drink hot water or gargle, to “wash away” coronavirus and prevent infection.

While drinking warm water or gargling may help symptoms if you have a sore throat, there’s no evidence that it will protect against coronavirus infection.

Coronavirus enters the body through the eyes, mouth or nose. When it arrives in these areas, it can get into a cell and start to reproduce. That’s why the best way to protect against the virus is to wash hands with soap and avoid touching your eyes, mouth or nose. Once the virus is in your body, drinking water or gargling is unlikely to help.

Gargling is commonly used in some countries as a way to prevent colds and flu, although there is little evidence that this works.

Where did the story come from?

The New York Times reported that there are many posts on social media asking about gargling as a protective measure.

In some countries in East Asia, gargling is a common practice and widely believed to reduce infection. It was even part of the recommended pandemic influenza response by the Japanese government.

What is the basis for the claim?

There have been no studies looking at whether gargling or drinking hot water, warm water or salted water can protect against the virus that causes Covid-19.

A review of evidence on whether non-medical interventions can help to slow or stop the spread of flu, carried out in 2015, included two trials of oral hygiene carried out in Japan. One looked at weekly dental hygiene appointments and advice from hygienists for elderly people, which found this reduced oral bacteria and signs of infection in saliva. Another compared gargling with water, povidone iodine mouthwash or usual personal care. It found no significant preventive effects for gargling, or for one type of gargling versus the other. The review concluded that “oral hygiene and handwashing [showed] efficacy.”

Experts have challenged the view that drinking water or gargling can “wash away” the virus. Speaking to the BBC website, Professor Trudie Lang, professor of Global Health Research at the University of Oxford, said there is “no biological mechanism” for washing a respiratory virus down into your stomach in order to kill it.

In the US, Dr Amesh Adalja, Senior Scholar researching emerging infectious diseases at  Johns Hopkins Center for Health Security adds: “While it is true that coronavirus can cause a sore throat and gargling with warm water may make it feel better, it has no direct effect on the virus.”

Drinking plenty of fluids and staying well-hydrated is generally good health advice, especially if you become unwell. But there is no reason to think this will prevent you from becoming infected.

What do trusted sources say?

Harvard TH Chan School of Public Health says: “There is no evidence that regularly gargling has protected people from infection with the new coronavirus. While this may help soothe a sore throat, this practice will not prevent the virus from entering your lungs—neither will drinking frequent sips of water.”

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

 

Citation

  1. Smith S et al. Use of non-pharmaceutical interventions to reduce the transmission of influenza in adults: A systematic review. Respirology (2015) 20, 896–903 doi: 10.1111/resp.12541 https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/full/10.1111/resp.12541

Reading list

  1. Pandemic Influenza Preparedness Action Plan of the Japanese Government. Inter-ministerial Avian Influenza Committee Revised October 2007. Available at https://www.mhlw.go.jp/english/topics/influenza/dl/pandemic02.pdf [Accessed 1 April 2020]
  2. BBC News Fact Check Team: Coronavirus: The fake health advice you should ignore. 8 March 2020. https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-51735367
  3. Jackie Powder. COVID-19 Myths vs. Realities. Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health. https://www.jhsph.edu/covid-19/articles/coronavirus-facts-vs-myths.html
  4. Myths Vs Facts. Harvard TH Chan School of Public Health. https://www.hsph.harvard.edu/india-center/myths-vs-facts/