一些患有COVID-19的人报告说失去了嗅觉,导致报告说它可能是该病毒的独特症状,尤其是在那些受轻度感染的人中。

到目前为止,还没有发表经过同行评审的研究,尽管有病例报告,证据水平很低,但没有询问过大量确诊为COVID-19的患者的嗅觉。

目前,我们不知道有多少COVID-19的人经历了嗅觉或味觉的丧失,有多少比例的嗅觉或味觉丧失的人感染了冠状病毒,或者如何将任何数据与其他病毒的感染率进行比较。

大多数证据是针对单个病例的,这意味着它来自与他人共享有关其症状的信息的患者。这并不意味着该主张一定是不真实的,我们只需要更强有力的证据就可以肯定地说。

清楚的是,并非所有具有COVID-19的人都报告此症状,还有其他原因可能会使您失去嗅觉。咳嗽和发烧仍然是要寻找的COVID-19的最重要症状。

 

这种说法的来源是什么?

已经有广泛的 媒体报道 声称气味或味道丧失是冠状病毒感染的迹象。其中许多报告说 声明 来自ENT UK的专业机构,代表在英国耳,鼻,喉专科工作的医生。该声明讨论了证据,并建议有异味的患者也可以被要求自我隔离。

 

这种说法的依据是什么?

ENT UK的声明说,在韩国,“在新颖的冠状病毒中检测为阳性的患者的30%在其他情况下较轻的情况下,主要表现为失眠(嗅觉缺失)。”报告还说:“在没有其他症状的情况下,出现嗅觉异常的患者数量显着增加的报道迅速增加。”

为了调查这个问题, 牛津循证医学中心 对冠状病毒患者的全部或部分气味消失进行了系统的搜索和快速审查。他们还咨询了专家。

该中心发现,在同行评审的期刊中未发现有关COVID-19中嗅觉丧失的研究。鉴定了50多项经同行评审的研究,这些研究报告了COVID-19的症状,但都没有提及气味的丧失。

发现来自中国的一项小型研究,该研究报告说,住院的COVID-19患者中约5%有部分气味消失。但是,该研究尚未得到同行评审的证实,因此应谨慎进行。

他们发现,来自韩国的索赔是基于引用医生的新闻报道,而不是基于已发布的数据。耳鼻喉医生使用的专用互联网留言板还报告了患者出现异味的情况。

英国广播公司的新闻 最近报道说,该应用程序的早期结果跟踪了整个英国的症状。它发现579人中的59%报告称经测试证实患有冠状病毒感染,称他们的气味或味觉丧失。但是,我们不知道该样本代表冠状病毒的代表性。

 

可靠的信息源是如何建议的?

世界卫生组织 说:“ COVID-19的最常见症状是发烧,疲倦和干咳。有些患者可能会感到疼痛和疼痛,鼻塞,流鼻涕,喉咙痛或腹泻。”没有提及气味的损失。

牛津CEBM 审查结论认为:“目前建议嗅觉改变[气味]的证据基础是COVID-19的特征,这是有限的并且没有结论。需要更多的证据来确定嗅觉变化和COVID-19之间是否存在联系。”该中心继续鼓励临床医生评估可疑病例,以纳入有关嗅觉丧失的问题。

分析来源:英国经济学人智库 健康保健部(EIU Healthcare),由利洁时提供支持

 

引用

  1. 嗅觉丧失是COVID-19感染的标志。耳鼻喉英国。 2020年3月21日。可在 https://www.entuk.org/sites/default/files/files/Loss%20of%20sense%20of%20smell%20as%20marker%20of%20COVID.pdf (2020年4月2日访问)

 

参考文献

1. O'Donavan J等。嗅觉丧失(气味消失)作为COVID-19的临床特征的证据是什么?牛津循证医学中心。 2020年3月23日。可在 https://www.cebm.net/covid-19/what-is-the-evidence-for-anosmia-loss-of-smell-as-a-clinical-feature-of-covid-19/ (2020年4月2日访问)

2.世界卫生组织。 冠状病毒(COVID-19)的问答。 2020年3月9日。(于2020年4月2日访问)

Some people who have had COVID-19 have reported losing their sense of smell, leading to reports that it may be a unique symptom of the virus, particularly among those who are only mildly affected.

So far, no peer-reviewed research has been published that has asked large numbers of patients with confirmed COVID-19 about their sense of smell, though case reports exist, a low level of evidence.

For now, we do not know how many people with COVID-19 experience a loss of smell or taste, what proportion of people with loss of smell or taste have coronavirus infection or how any data might compare to the rates for other viruses.

Most of the evidence is on single cases, which means it comes from patients sharing information about their symptoms with others. This doesn’t mean that the claim is necessarily untrue, we just need stronger evidence before we can say for sure.

What is clear is that not everyone with COVID-19 reports this symptom, and there are other reasons why you might lose your sense of smell. Cough and fever continue to be the most important symptoms of COVID-19 to look out for.

 

Where did the story come from?

There has been widespread media coverage of claims that loss of smell or taste is signs of coronavirus infection. Many of these reported a statement from ENT UK, a professional body representing doctors working in ear, nose and throat specialities in the UK. The statement discussed the evidence and suggested that patients with loss of smell could also be asked to self-isolate.

 

What is the basis for the claim?

The statement from ENT UK said that, in South Korea, “30% of patients testing positive [for the novel coronavirus] have had anosmia [loss of sense of smell] as their major presenting symptom in otherwise mild cases.” It also said that “there have been a rapidly growing number of reports of a significant increase in the number of patients presenting with anosmia in the absence of other symptoms.”

To investigate the issue, the Oxford Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine carried out a systematic search and rapid review of the published evidence around the total or partial loss of smell in people with coronavirus. They also consulted with experts.

The Centre found no studies from peer-reviewed journals reporting on the loss of sense of smell in COVID-19. Over 50 peer-reviewed studies were identified which reported on symptoms of COVID-19, and none mentioned a loss of smell.

The found one small study from China which reported that about 5% of hospitalised COVID-19 patients had a partial loss of smell. However, this study had not yet been verified by peer review, so should be taken cautiously.

They found that the claim from South Korea was based on a news report quoting a doctor, not on published data. Other reports of patients presenting with a loss of smell came from a private internet message board used by ENT doctors.

BBC News recently reported that early results from an app that tracks symptoms across the UK. It found 59% of 579 people who reported having coronavirus infection confirmed by a test said they had experienced a loss of smell or taste. However, we don’t know how representative of those with coronavirus this sample is.

 

What do trusted sources say?

The World Health Organization says: “The most common symptoms of COVID-19 are fever, tiredness, and dry cough. Some patients may have aches and pains, nasal congestion, runny nose, sore throat or diarrhoea.” Loss of smell is not mentioned.

The Oxford CEBM review concluded: “The current evidence base to suggest changes in olfactory sensation [smell] is a feature of COVID-19 is limited and inconclusive. More evidence is required to establish whether there is a link between changes in olfaction and COVID-19.”  The centre goes on to encourage clinicians assessing suspected cases to incorporate questions around the loss of smell.

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

 

Citation

  1. Loss of sense of smell as marker of COVID-19 infection. ENT UK. 21 March 2020. Available at https://www.entuk.org/sites/default/files/files/Loss%20of%20sense%20of%20smell%20as%20marker%20of%20COVID.pdf (Accessed 2 April 2020)

 

Reading list

1.     O’Donavan J et al. What is the evidence for anosmia (loss of smell) as a clinical feature of COVID-19? Oxford Centre for Evidence Based Medicine. 23 March 2020. Available at https://www.cebm.net/covid-19/what-is-the-evidence-for-anosmia-loss-of-smell-as-a-clinical-feature-of-covid-19/ (Accessed 2 April 2020)

2.     World Health Organization. Q&A on coronaviruses (COVID-19). 9 March 2020. (Accessed 2 April 2020)