《太阳报》最近报道说,YouTube视频在流传,声称新的5G WiFi网络正在引发冠状病毒的爆发。他们声称5G破坏了免疫系统,导致了类似流感的症状,而且看起来人们正在死于病毒感染,而这实际上是暴露于5G网络的结果。

当前没有证据支持5G导致COVID-19的理论。我们对这种疾病的生物学及其行为的理解全都支持它是由冠状病毒引起的。

冠状病毒是已知通过眼睛,嘴或鼻子进入人体的病毒。当它到达这些区域时,它可以进入细胞并像其他任何病毒一样开始繁殖。这就是为什么目前保护自己免受病毒侵害的最佳方法是进行社交疏散,用肥皂洗手并避免触摸眼睛,嘴巴或鼻子。

这种说法的来源是什么?

太阳 报道称,YouTube上有一些帖子误导人们说5G WiFi正在引起冠状病毒爆发。

这种说法的依据是什么?

5G是最新的(“第五代”)移动互联网连接形式,于2019年开始使用。顾名思义,它旨在取代4G。它应该提供更快的数据下载和上传,并允许更多的移动设备立即访问移动互联网。它通过使用比4G更大的无线电波来做到这一点,包括20-100GHz范围内的“高频带”无线电波(称为毫米波)。

目前尚不清楚神话起源于何处,但似乎基于这样一个想法,即当前中国冠状病毒爆发的时间与该国最初发布5G的时间相吻合,这表明以前的冠状病毒爆发也发生了类似的事情(SARS)和MERS)以及前几代移动互联网。

没有可信赖的研究来研究5G是否会导致冠状病毒爆发。没有生物学上的依据来考虑5G可能导致这种疾病,其行为正像人们预期的传染病那样。

最近 评论 研究了5G无线通信的潜在影响以及与之相关的健康影响。它研究了截至2018年底发布的研究报告,研究了暴露于6至100GHz频率的影响。这些是5G网络使用的频率,而其他类型的网络则没有。它还审议了其他相关文献,例如世界卫生组织的文件。

它分析了人体组织(例如皮肤),实验动物和实验室细胞中的94项相关研究。这些研究都没有研究这些频率对人类症状或健康的影响。他们发现,大多数研究显示出某种生物学反应,但很少有可用研究方法。此外,所看到的影响与暴露的性质(功率密度,暴露时间或频率)之间没有一致的关系。

因此,这些研究人员指出,在所研究的频率下,尚无关于暴露对健康的影响的结论。该审查由一家德国电信公司资助,据报道该公司在设计,执行或发布研究中没有任何作用。

可靠的信息源是如何建议的?

世卫组织指出,迄今为止,“没有不利的健康影响与无线技术的暴露有因果关系”,尽管“到目前为止,在5G使用的频率上仅进行了很少的研究。”他们补充说,从这些频率来看,不会对公共卫生造成任何后果。

英国公共卫生关于5G技术的建议指出,当前公开的无线电波辐射完全符合国际非电离辐射防护委员会(信息系统),并且英国的网络提供商致力于保留在这些范围内。

分析来源:英国经济学人智库 健康保健部(EIU Healthcare),由利洁时提供支持

 

引用

1.太阳。假视图。声称“ 5G导致COVID-19”的YouTube冠状病毒病视频累积了数百万的观看次数。 2020年3月20日更新。 https://www.thesun.co.uk/tech/11217342/sick-youtube-coronavirus-video-5g-claim/ (2020年4月2日访问)

参考文献

1. 5G无线通信和健康影响-基于有关6至100 GHz的可用研究的实用评论。 SimkóM和Mattsson MO。国际环境卫生学杂志。 2019年9月; 16(18):3406.2019年9月13日在线发布。doi:10.3390 / ijerph16183406

2.国际非电离辐射防护委员会。 ICNIRP射频电磁场指南2020。2020年3月。可在以下位置找到: https://www.icnirp.org/en/activities/news/news-article/rf-guidelines-2020-published.html (2020年4月3日访问)

3.英国公共卫生。指导5G技术:无线电波与健康。发布于2019年10月3日。 https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/5g-technologies-radio-waves-and-health/5g-technologies-radio-waves-and-health (2020年4月3日访问)

4.世卫组织。 5G网络与健康。 2020年2月。可在以下地点获得: https://www.who.int/news-room/q-a-detail/5g-mobile-networks-and-health (2020年4月3日访问)

The Sun recently reported that YouTube videos are circulating which claim that the new 5G WiFi networks are causing the coronavirus outbreak. They claim that 5G destroys the immune system causing flu-like symptoms and that while it looks like people are dying from a viral infection it is actually the result of exposure to 5G networks.

There is currently no evidence to support the theory that 5G causes COVID-19. Our understanding of the biology of this disease, and how it is behaving all support it being caused by the coronavirus.

Coronavirus is a virus that is known to enter the body through the eyes, mouth or nose. When it arrives in these areas, it can get into a cell and start to reproduce like any other virus. That’s why the best way currently to protect yourself against the virus is to practice social distancing, wash hands with soap and avoid touching your eyes, mouth or nose.

Where did the story come from?

The Sun reported that there are posts on YouTube misinforming people that 5G WiFi is causing the coronavirus outbreak.

What is the basis for the claim?

5G is the newest (“fifth generation”) form of mobile internet connection, which started to be used in 2019. As the name implies, it is intended to replace 4G. It should offer faster data downloads and uploads and allow more mobile devices to access the mobile internet at once. It does this by using a wider range of radio waves than 4G did, including “high-band” radio waves in the 20-100GHz range (called millimetre waves).

It is not clear where the myth originated, but seem to be based on the idea that the timing of the current coronavirus outbreak in China coincided with the initial release of 5G there, and suggests that a similar thing happened with the previous coronavirus outbreaks (SARS and MERS) and previous generations of mobile internet.

There are no trustworthy research studies that look at whether 5G causes the coronavirus outbreak. There is no biological basis for considering that 5G could cause this type of disease, which is behaving exactly as one might expect an infectious disease to behave.

A recent review looked at the potential impact of 5G wireless communication and the health effects associated with it. It looked at research studies published up to the end of 2018 which looked at the impact of exposure to frequencies from 6 to 100GHz. These are the frequencies that 5G networks use but other types of networks don’t. It also considered other relevant literature, for example, documents from the World Health Organization.

It analysed 94 relevant studies in human tissue (such as skin), laboratory animals and in cells in the laboratory. None of these studies looked at the impact of these frequencies on human symptoms or health. They found that most studies showed some sort of biological responses but that the methods of the few studies available were very varied. Moreover, there was no consistent relationship between the impacts seen and the nature of the exposure (power density, exposure time or frequency).

Therefore, these researchers stated that no conclusions could be drawn with respect to the effects on health of exposure at the frequencies studied.  The review was funded by a German telecom company who were reported to have had no role in designing, performing, or publishing the study.

What do trusted sources say?

The WHO state that to date “no adverse health effect has been causally linked with exposure to wireless technologies” although “so far, only a few studies have been carried out at the frequencies to be used by 5G.” They add that no consequences for public health are anticipated from these frequencies.

Public Health England’s advice on 5G technologies states that currently public of exposures to radio waves are well within the recommendations of the International Commission on Non-Ionizing Radiation Protection (ICNIRP), and that UK network providers are committed to staying within these.

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

 

Citation

1.     The Sun. Fake Views. Sick YouTube coronavirus videos claiming ‘5G caused COVID-19’ rack up MILLIONS of views. Updated 20 March, 2020. Available at: https://www.thesun.co.uk/tech/11217342/sick-youtube-coronavirus-video-5g-claim/ (Accessed 2 April 2020)

Reading list

1.     5G Wireless Communication and Health Effects—A Pragmatic Review Based on Available Studies Regarding 6 to 100 GHz. Simkó M and Mattsson MO. Int J Environ Res Public Health. 2019 Sep; 16(18): 3406. Published online 2019 Sep 13. doi: 10.3390/ijerph16183406

2.     International Commission of Non-Ionising Radiation Protection. ICNIRP radiofrequency electromagnetic field guidelines 2020. March 2020. Available at: https://www.icnirp.org/en/activities/news/news-article/rf-guidelines-2020-published.html (Accessed 3 April 2020)

3.     Public Health England. Guidance 5G technologies: radio waves and health. Published 3 October 2019. Available at: https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/5g-technologies-radio-waves-and-health/5g-technologies-radio-waves-and-health (Accessed 3 April 2020)

4.     WHO. 5G networks and health. February 2020. Available at: https://www.who.int/news-room/q-a-detail/5g-mobile-networks-and-health (Accessed 3 April 2020)