太阳报 一项新研究发现,“冠状病毒患者症状较轻时最具感染力”。

这种说法可能具有误导性,因为这项小型研究并未比较具有严重或轻度症状的人的感染力。

研究人员从德国的9例冠状病毒患者中定期采集了咽拭子和其他样本。所有患者均与COVID-19患者密切接触,因此应尽早接受检查。他们的症状一般较轻。

研究人员测试了病毒的遗传物质(标准测试)和活病毒。他们显示,在出现症状的第一周,患者的口,鼻和喉中存在活病毒,但此后没有出现。这表明冠状病毒患者在开始出现症状后的第一周比以后具有更高的感染力。

一旦出现症状,这项研究确实增强了自我隔离的重要性,即使症状较轻也要持续7天。

 

这种说法的来源是什么?

该新闻基于 最近发表的研究 今年1月,在德国的一家医院中,有9名患者被诊断出患有冠状病毒。他们都与已知的COVID-19患者接触,一旦表现出症状就通过测试从他们的嘴巴,鼻子和喉咙拭子中发现的新型冠状病毒的遗传物质而得到诊断。

这种说法的依据是什么?

所有患者都有相对较轻的症状。在大多数情况下(9名患者中有7名),咳嗽是其最初症状之一。

研究人员定期从患者身上抽取棉签和其他体液样本,以评估病毒在体内的位置以及水平。一直持续到他们无法再检测到病毒为止(长达约28天)。

这些标准测试从病毒中寻找遗传物质,但不能肯定地表明存在可以感染其他人的活病毒。因此,研究人员还测试了样品中是否存在活病毒。他们表明,遗传物质测试与活病毒测试之间存在差异(意味着传染性)。

总的来说,研究发现:

  • 在症状出现的前5天,来自鼻,口或喉咙的拭子中病毒遗传物质的水平很高,此后下降。症状出现后第二周,拭子中可检测到病毒遗传物质。
  • 在大多数患者中,似乎在他们首次出现症状时,喉咙中病毒遗传物质的水平已经达到峰值。
  • 在出现症状的第一周,从鼻子,嘴巴和喉咙的拭子以及痰(呼吸道的唾液和粘液)中发现了活病毒(即一种有可能感染他人的病毒)。第8天后,研究人员不再能够在这些样本中发现活病毒。尽管仍检测到高水平的病毒遗传物质,但仍是这样。
  • 虽然从便便样本中分离出了病毒遗传物质,但研究人员从未设法从中分离出任何活病毒。

 

可靠的信息源是如何建议的?

尽管规模很小,但这种类型的研究对于更好地了解该病毒何时具有传染性至关重要。政策制定者将对这种类型的研究进行总结,以决定是否就如何最好地对抗病毒来更新其策略。

需要注意的冠状病毒的症状是高温或新的持续咳嗽。 英国政府建议 是指有这些症状的人,无论轻微,都应待在家里并在症状开始后7天自我隔离。如果此时间后仍然有高温,则他们应继续自我隔离,直到温度恢复正常为止。

社会疏远措施和良好的手部卫生措施将减少人们感染或感染他人的风险,即如果他们在不知不觉中感染了病毒的情况下传播。

分析来源:英国经济学人智库 健康保健部(EIU Healthcare),由利洁时提供支持

 

引用

1.Wölfel等。住院COVID-2019患者的病毒学评估。 Nature 2020(未经编辑的手稿于2020年4月1日在线发布)。 https://www.nature.com/articles/s41586-020-2196-x

参考文献

1. NHS网站。症状和处理方法:冠状病毒(COVID-19)。上次审核日期为2020年4月3日。 https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/coronavirus-covid-19/symptoms-and-what-to-do/ (2020年4月6日访问)

2.英国公共卫生。待在家里:对可能感染冠状病毒(COVID-19)的家庭的指导。 2020年3月24日更新。 https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/covid-19-stay-at-home-guidance/stay-at-home-guidance-for-households-with-possible-coronavirus-covid-19-infection (2020年4月6日访问)

The Sun reports that a new study has found that “coronavirus patients are most infectious when they have mild symptoms”.

This claim could be misleading, as this small study didn’t compare how infectious people are when they have severe or mild symptoms.

The researchers took regular throat swabs and other samples from 9 patients in Germany with coronavirus. The patients had all had close contact with people with COVID-19, so they were tested early. Their symptoms were generally mild.

The researchers tested for both the genetic material from the virus (the standard test) and also for live virus. They showed that live virus was present in patients’ mouths, noses and throats in the first week of showing symptoms, but not after this. This suggests that people with coronavirus are more infectious in the first week after starting to show symptoms than they are later on.

The research does reinforce the importance of self-isolating as soon as you develop symptoms, and continuing to do so for 7 days, even if your symptoms are mild.

 

Where did the story come from?

The news is based on a recently published study of 9 patients who were diagnosed with coronavirus at one hospital in Germany this January. They all had contact with known COVID-19 patients and were diagnosed once they showed symptoms by testing swabs from their mouths or noses and throats for genetic material from the novel coronavirus.

What is the basis for the claim?

All of the patients had relatively mild symptoms. In most cases (7 out of 9 patients) a cough was one of their initial symptoms.

The researchers took regular repeat swabs and other body fluid samples from the patients to assess where the virus was present in the body, and at what levels. This continued until they could not detect the virus any longer (up to about 28 days).

These standard tests look for genetic material from the virus, but do not show for certain that live virus is present which could infect other people. Therefore the researchers also tested whether live virus was present in the samples. They showed that there were differences between tests for genetic material and the live virus (meaning infectivity).

Overall the research found:

  • The levels of the virus genetic material in swabs from the nose and mouth or throat were very high in the first 5 days of symptoms and decreased after that. There was detectable virus genetic material in the swabs into the second week after symptoms developed.
  • In most of the patients, it appeared as though the levels of the virus genetic material in the throat had already peaked by the time they first showed symptoms.
  • Live virus (that is, a virus that had the potential to infect others) was identified in the first week of symptoms from the swabs from the nose, mouth and throat and also sputum (saliva and mucus from the respiratory tract). After day 8 the researchers were no longer able to find live virus in these samples. This was despite still detecting high levels of the genetic material of the virus.
  • While virus genetic material was isolated from samples of poo, the researchers never managed to isolate any live virus from it.

 

What do trusted sources say?

Though small, this type of study is important for getting a better idea of when the virus is infectious. Policymakers will review this type of research as it accumulates to decide whether to update their strategies on how best to combat the virus.

The symptoms of coronavirus to look out for are high temperature or a new, continuous cough. UK Government advice is that people experiencing these symptoms, however mild, should stay at home and self-isolate for 7 days after symptoms start. If a person still has a high temperature after this time then they should continue to self-isolate until this returns to normal.

Social distancing measures and good hand hygiene will reduce the risk of people becoming infected or infecting others i.e. transmission if they unknowingly have the virus.

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

 

Citation

1.     Wölfel et al. Virological assessment of hospitalized patients with COVID-2019. Nature 2020 (Unedited manuscript published online 1 April 2020). https://www.nature.com/articles/s41586-020-2196-x

Reading list

1.     NHS Website. Symptoms and what to do: Coronavirus (COVID-19). Last reviewed 3 April 2020. https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/coronavirus-covid-19/symptoms-and-what-to-do/ (Accessed 6 April 2020)

2.     Public Health England. Stay at home: guidance for households with possible coronavirus (COVID-19) infection. Updated 24 March 2020. https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/covid-19-stay-at-home-guidance/stay-at-home-guidance-for-households-with-possible-coronavirus-covid-19-infection (Accessed 6 April 2020)