一種 研究 報告指出,空氣污染濃度較高的地區死於COVID-19的死亡率也更高。

空氣污染,特別是稱為細顆粒物(PM)的微小顆粒2.5)之前已與呼吸系統疾病和心血管疾病相關。但是,在許多人生活和緊密合作的城市中,污染也是最高的。很難說出COVID-19致死人數的增加是由於污染還是僅是由於COVID-19的更多病例,人們的密度更高。

新研究調查了美國從COVID-19到4的死亡人數 以及4月的歷史污染數據。研究人員調整了他們的數字,以考慮人口密度和其他因素。他們估計每平方米PM每增加1微克2.5 與COVID-19導致該地區死亡率增加15%有關。

研究結果很重要,但該研究尚未在同行評審的期刊上發表。這意味著他們需要更多的審查。

 

資訊是從哪裡來的?

監護人 和其他一些媒體報導 研究,該書由哈佛TH陳公共衛生學院於4月5日發布。在此報告之前, 歐洲公共衛生聯盟 三月份警告說,空氣污染可能會增加COVID-19的並發症或死亡。

 

資訊有什麼依據?

研究 使用了2000年至2016年收集的美國3,080個縣的歷史空氣質量監測數據,以了解人們長期受到污染的情況。研究人員使用了全縣范圍內因COVID-19引起的死亡登記表。研究人員計算了死亡率與縣人口規模的比率,以得出縣一級的死亡率。

研究人員發現,死亡率較高的縣的PM也較高2.5 污染。全美平均水平為每平方米8.4微克,範圍從小於3到大於12。

他們調整了數字以考慮到以下因素:人口密度,65歲以上人口的比例,帶有剝奪標記的比例,種族背景,吸煙者的比例,病床數量,天氣以及COVID-19測試的數量。

調整後,他們說,一個郡的空氣污染每增加1微克每平方米,死亡率就會增加15%。他們計算得出,在紐約縣(該疾病受災最嚴重的地區),每平方米PM減少1微克2.5 污染可能阻止了1,905人中的248人死亡。

一種 從2003年開始的研究 在研究中國SARS的死亡後,發現該病患者如果生活在污染地區,則更有可能死亡。該研究研究了與美國研究不同的空氣污染測量方法,並使用死亡人數與報告的病例數進行了比較。它沒有考慮到重要因素,例如人們是否吸煙。

 

專家意見

世衛組織尚未評論空氣污染與COVID-19死亡之間的聯繫。但是,在 2014 該組織表示,空氣污染每年可能導致全球700萬人過早死亡,導致心血管疾病,呼吸系統疾病(包括SARS和COVID-19等急性呼吸道感染)和癌症死亡。

世衛組織公共衛生,環境和社會決定因素健康局局長瑪麗亞·內拉(Maria Neira)博士當時表示:“如今,很少有風險比空氣污染對全球健康的影響更大;證據表明需要採取一致行動來淨化我們所有人呼吸的空氣。”

經濟學人智庫醫療保健 分析文章,由利潔時贊助

 

引文

  1. 小吳等。在美國暴露於空氣污染和COVID-19死亡率。 medRxiv 2020.04.05.20054502;土井: https://doi.org/10.1101/2020.04.05.20054502 可在 https://projects.iq.harvard.edu/files/covid-pm/files/pm_and_covid_mortality.pdf (2020年4月8日訪問)

閱讀清單

  1. Cui,Y.,Zhang,Z.,Froines,J。等。中華人民共和國的SARS空氣污染和病死率:生態研究。環境衛生2,15(2003)。 https://doi.org/10.1186/1476-069X-2-15 (2020年4月8日訪問)
  2. 歐洲公共衛生聯盟。冠狀病毒對受污染城市的威脅更大。 2020年3月16日。 https://epha.org/coronavirus-threat-greater-for-polluted-cities/ (2020年4月8日訪問)

A study reports that areas with higher concentrations of air pollution also have higher death rates from COVID-19.

Air pollution, especially the tiny particles known as fine particulate matter (PM2.5) has been linked before to respiratory and cardiovascular disease. But the pollution is also highest in cities where many people live and work closely together. It is hard to tell whether an increase in deaths from COVID-19 is due to pollution or simply to more cases of COVID-19 where people are more densely concentrated.

New research looked at US deaths from COVID-19 up to the 4th of April, and historical pollution data. The researchers adjusted their figures to take population density and other factors into account. They estimated each 1 microgram per metre squared increase in PM2.5 was linked to a 15% increase in a region’s death rate from COVID-19.

The study results are important, but the study has not yet been published in a peer-reviewed journal. This means they need more scrutiny.

 

Where did the story come from?

The Guardian and several other media outlets reported the study, which was released on the 5th April by the Harvard TH Chan School of Public Health. Prior to this report, the European Public Health Alliance warned in March that air pollution was likely to increase complications or deaths from COVID-19.

 

What is the basis for the claim?

The study used historical air quality monitoring data from 3,080 counties in the US, collected from 2000 to 2016, to get an idea of people’s long-term exposure to pollution. The researchers used a US-wide registry of deaths attributed to COVID-19, reported by county. Researchers calculated the ratio of deaths to county population size to get the county level death rate.

The researchers found that counties with higher death rates also had higher levels of PM2.5 pollution. Average levels were 8.4 micrograms per metre squared across the US, with a range from less than 3 to more than 12.

They adjusted their figures to take account of factors including population density, the proportion of people aged over 65, the proportion with deprivation markers, ethnic background, the proportion of smokers, number of hospital beds, weather, and number of COVID-19 tests.

After adjustment, they said that each additional 1 microgram per metre squared rise in a county’s air pollution increased death rates by 15%. They calculated that in New York County (where the disease has hit hardest) a reduction of 1 microgram per metre squared in PM2.5 pollution might have prevented 248 of 1,905 deaths.

A study from 2003 looking at deaths from SARS in China, found that people with the disease were more likely to die if they lived in polluted regions. The study looked at different measures of air pollution than the US study and used numbers of people who died compared to the number of cases reported. It did not account for important factors such as whether people smoked.

 

What do trusted sources say?

The WHO has not commented on links between air pollution and COVID-19 deaths. However, in 2014 the organisation said that air pollution may cause 7 million premature deaths annually worldwide, contributing to deaths from cardiovascular disease, respiratory disease (including acute respiratory infections such as SARS and COVID-19) and cancer.

Dr Maria Neira, Director of WHO’s Department for Public Health, Environmental and Social Determinants of Health, said at the time: “Few risks have a greater impact on global health today than air pollution; the evidence signals the need for concerted action to clean up the air we all breathe.”

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

 

Citation

  1. Xiao Wu et al. Exposure to air pollution and COVID-19 mortality in the United States. medRxiv 2020.04.05.20054502; doi: https://doi.org/10.1101/2020.04.05.20054502 Available at https://projects.iq.harvard.edu/files/covid-pm/files/pm_and_covid_mortality.pdf (Accessed 8 April 2020)

Reading list

  1. Cui, Y., Zhang, Z., Froines, J. et al. Air pollution and case fatality of SARS in the People’s Republic of China: an ecologic study. Environ Health 2, 15 (2003). https://doi.org/10.1186/1476-069X-2-15 (Accessed 8 April 2020)
  2. European Public Health Alliance. Coronavirus threat greater for polluted cities. March 16 2020. https://epha.org/coronavirus-threat-greater-for-polluted-cities/ (Accessed 8 April 2020)