社交媒體上反复猜測,接種肺炎疫苗可能會保護人們免受COVID-19的侵害。

這不是真的。

肺炎是肺部腫脹,使身體難以獲得足夠的氧氣。它可以由許多不同的細菌和病毒引起,包括新型冠狀病毒。

目前用於保護老年人免遭肺炎的疫苗針對的是一種稱為肺炎鏈球菌的細菌。不幸的是,這種疫苗不能防止冠狀病毒感染。

疫苗接種有可能保護冠狀病毒患者免於在COVID-19上感染鏈球菌性肺炎。到目前為止,尚無有關向英國衛生部門提供免疫接種建議的機構(疫苗接種和免疫聯合委員會)的建議。

資訊是從哪裡來的?

在社交媒體和聊天論壇上,這種說法已經持續了好幾個星期。最近,一名美國兒童傳染病專家在YouTube視頻上討論了該要求。她說,我們尚不知道它是否可以幫助預防冠狀病毒的並發症,但是通常會接種該疫苗的老年人應該繼續這樣做。

資訊有什麼依據?

早期報告 2019年12月來自中國的描述 新型肺炎。後來發現這是由新型冠狀病毒引起的,並被稱為COVID-19。病毒傳播了,到三月被宣佈為大流行病。

該病毒可引起肺炎這一事實使一些人得出結論,針對肺炎的疫苗接種可能提供保護。但是,現有的用於老年人的肺炎疫苗不能抵抗冠狀病毒。它針對肺炎的一種常見細菌病原,稱為肺炎鏈球菌。

人們經常將細菌和病毒引起的疾病混為一談。細菌是可以在我們體內和體內生存的生物,而病毒實際上會進入我們的細胞並利用它們來製造更多自身。

疫苗訓練我們人體的免疫系統,以識別和抵抗特定的感染。單一疫苗針對的是單一類型的細菌或病毒,不會幫助免疫系統識別並抵抗其他不同的微生物。由於導致COVID-19的病毒是新病毒,我們目前沒有針對它的疫苗,但是有幾個不同的小組正在嘗試開發一種。

當人們患一種感染嚴重病時,他們可能更容易感染其他感染,其中可能包括肺炎鏈球菌感染。有建議認為一些死於COVID-19的患者可能死於 抗生素抗性細菌感染,這可能會增加意大利的死亡人數。

但是,我們還沒有足夠的信息來確定COVID-19人群中肺炎鏈球菌繼發感染的普遍程度,以及接種疫苗的人群是否有更好的結局。

專家意見

世界衛生組織 明確指出抗肺炎疫苗不能預防COVID-19。它指出,這種感染是全新的,需要一種全新的疫苗。正在尋找一項緊急的研究工作。

世衛組織確實指出,儘管現有的肺炎疫苗不能預防COVID-19,但建議預防呼吸道疾病。在英國和美國,它已經 推薦的 所有65歲以上的成年人都應接種肺炎鏈球菌疫苗,以預防肺炎。

經濟學人智庫醫療保健 分析文章,由利潔時贊助

 

引文

  1. 大學醫院。新冠肺炎。肺炎疫苗和冠狀病毒(You Tube上的視頻剪輯)。 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b-kR85jcGvs(於2020年4月9日訪問)

閱讀清單

  1. 公眾冠狀病毒病(COVID-19)建議:神話破壞者。 2020年。 https://www.who.int/emergencies/diseases/novel-coronavirus-2019/advice-for-public/myth-busters (2020年4月9日訪問)
  2. NHS網站。肺炎球菌疫苗概述。 2020年2月14日。 https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/vaccinations/pneumococcal-vaccination/ (2020年4月9日訪問)
  3. 美國疾病控制和預防中心。肺炎球菌疫苗接種。 2019年11月21日。 https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/vpd/pneumo/index.html (2020年4月9日訪問)
  4. 英國疫苗接種和免疫聯合委員會。 JCVI關於英國成人肺炎球菌疫苗接種的臨時聲明。 2015年11月。 https://assets.publishing.service.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/477966/JCVI_pnemococcal.pdf (2020年4月9日訪問)

There is repeated speculation on social media that pneumonia vaccination, might protect people against COVID-19.

This is not true.

Pneumonia is a swelling of the lungs that makes it difficult for the body to get enough oxygen. It can be caused by many different bacteria and viruses, including the novel coronavirus.

The vaccination which is currently used to protect older people from pneumonia target a type of bacteria called Streptococcus pneumoniae. Unfortunately, this vaccine offers no protection against infection by a coronavirus.

It is possible that the vaccination could protect people with coronavirus from getting a Streptococcal pneumonia on top of COVID-19. As yet there is no advice on this from the body that advises UK health departments on immunisation (the Joint Committee on Vaccination and Immunisation).

Where did the story come from?

This claim has been swirling around for some weeks on social media and chat forums. Recently an American specialist in children’s infectious diseases discussed the claim on a YouTube video. She says we don’t yet know if it could help prevent complications of coronavirus, but that older people who would usually get the vaccine should continue to do so.

What is the basis for the claim?

Early reports from China in December 2019 described the first cases of a new type of pneumonia. This was later found to be caused by a novel coronavirus and became known as COVID-19. The virus spread and by March was declared a pandemic.

The fact that the virus can cause pneumonia led some people to jump to the conclusion that vaccination against pneumonia might offer protection. However, the existing pneumonia vaccine that is used in older people won’t work against coronavirus. It targets a common bacterial cause of pneumonia, called Streptococcus pneumoniae.

People often confuse diseases caused by bacteria and those caused by viruses. Bacteria are organisms which can live on and in our bodies, while viruses actually enter our cells and use them to make more of themselves.

Vaccines train our bodies’ immune systems to recognise and fight specific infections. A single vaccine targets a single type of bacteria or virus and won’t help the immune system to recognise and fight other different microorganisms. As the virus which causes COVID-19 is new we do not currently have a vaccine against it, but several different groups are trying to develop one.

When people are seriously ill with one infection, they can be more susceptible to catching other infections, which could include infections with Streptococcus pneumoniae. There have been suggestions that some patients who have died of COVID-19 may have died from antibiotic resistant bacterial infections, and that this may be increasing the number of deaths in Italy.

However, we don’t yet have enough information to determine how common secondary infections with Streptococcus pneumoniae are in people with COVID-19, and if people who have been vaccinated have better outcomes.

What do trusted sources say?

The World Health Organization states clearly that vaccines against pneumonia don’t protect against COVID-19. It points out that this infection is completely new, and needs a completely novel type of vaccine. Urgent research work is underway to find one.

The WHO does note that although existing pneumonia vaccination won’t protect against COVID-19, it is recommended for protection against respiratory disease. In the UK and US, it is already recommended that all adults aged over 65 should be vaccinated against Streptococcus pneumoniae to prevent pneumonia.

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

 

Citation

  1. University Hospitals. COVID-19. The Pneumonia vaccine & coronavirus (video clip on You Tube). https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b-kR85jcGvs (Accessed 9 April 2020)

Reading list

  1. Coronavirus disease (COVID-19) advice for the public: Myth busters. 2020. https://www.who.int/emergencies/diseases/novel-coronavirus-2019/advice-for-public/myth-busters (Accessed 9 April 2020)
  2. NHS website. Pneumococcal vaccine overview. 14 February 2020. https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/vaccinations/pneumococcal-vaccination/ (Accessed 9 April 2020)
  3. US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Pneumococcal Vaccination. 21 November 2019. https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/vpd/pneumo/index.html (Accessed 9 April 2020)
  4. UK Joint Committee on Vaccination and Immunisation. Interim JCVI statement on adult pneumococcal vaccination in the UK. November 2015. https://assets.publishing.service.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/477966/JCVI_pnemococcal.pdf (Accessed 9 April 2020)