抗生素旨在防止细菌繁殖,并且大多数不会对病毒产生影响。这是因为细菌是可以繁殖的细胞,而病毒是遗传物质的包装,只有进入细胞内部才能繁殖。病毒复制的方式不同于细菌,因此药物需要以不同的方式起作用才能影响它们。

但是,如果某人在病毒感染之上感染了细菌,则可以使用抗生素,例如,当某人已经患冠状病毒时,细菌侵入肺部并引起细菌性肺炎。

由于迫切需要有效治疗COVID-19的需求,研究人员正在考虑是否已经将其用于其他疾病的药物起作用,其中包括某些抗生素。

例如,一种叫做阿奇霉素的抗生素是 正在测试 在COVID-19患者中联合使用抗疟药。在这些研究结果公布之前,我们将不知道这些药物是否也具有抗病毒活性。

 

这种说法的来源是什么?

在线邮寄 报道称,“挪威科技大学的一组研究人员”曾表示,四种抗生素可以在实验室测试中“阻止病毒”。的 研究 但是,据其自身报道,这些药物尚未直接针对引起COVID-19的病毒进行过测试。

 

这种说法的依据是什么?

研究论文 邮件在线文章所依据的是对120种以前在人类中使用过的药物的综述,研究人员认为这些药物可能对多种病毒具有活性。研究人员说,这些药物将是开始寻找COVID-19治疗的好地方。

评论中讨论的大多数药物已用于抗病毒(抗病毒药物),而某些药物已用于治疗其他传染病,例如疟疾。研究人员列出了每种药物的研究处于哪个阶段(最早的阶段是实验室测试,最后阶段是对人体的大规模试验),以及针对该药物测试的病毒或病毒组。

清单包括四种抗生素-替考拉宁,奥利万星,达巴万星和莫能菌素。这些已用于针对其他冠状病毒的实验室测试,但未针对引起COVID-19的病毒。据报道,它们都没有经过基本实验室测试以外的测试。还列出了另外41种药物已针对一种或多种冠状病毒进行了测试。

目前尚不清楚为什么这四种药物被《邮寄》文章特别关注。它们都不是目前正在针对COVID-19患者的大规模试验中测试的优先药物。正在进行另一种称为阿奇霉素的抗生素的试验,该药物正在与抗疟药合用。

 

可靠的信息源是如何建议的?

世界卫生组织 说:“抗生素不能抵抗病毒,只能抵抗细菌。新的冠状病毒(2019-nCoV)是一种病毒,因此不应将抗生素用作预防或治疗的手段。

它补充说:“但是,如果您因2019-nCoV住院,则可能会发生细菌共感染,因此您可能会使用抗生素。”

分析来源:英国经济学人智库 健康保健部(EIU Healthcare),由利洁时提供支持

 

引用

  1. Andersen P等。发现和开发对人体安全的广谱抗病毒药物。国际传染病杂志,2020年; 93,268-276。 https://www.ijidonline.com/article/S1201-9712(20)30076-X/fulltext

参考文献

  1. 世界卫生组织。神话破坏者:抗生素对预防和治疗新的冠状病毒有效吗? https://www.who.int/emergencies/diseases/novel-coronavirus-2019/advice-for-public/myth-busters

Antibiotics are designed to prevent bacteria from reproducing, and most will not have an effect on viruses. That’s because bacteria are cells which can reproduce, while viruses are packages of genetic material which cannot reproduce until they get inside cells. The way viruses replicate is different from bacteria, so drugs need to work in different ways to affect them.

However, antibiotics may be used if someone gets a bacterial infection on top of a viral infection – for example, if bacteria invade the lungs and cause bacterial pneumonia when someone is already ill with coronavirus.

Because of the pressing need for effective treatments for COVID-19, researchers are considering whether drugs already used for other conditions might have an effect, and this includes some antibiotics.

For example, an antibiotic called azithromycin is being tested in combination with antimalarial drugs in COVID-19 patients. Until the results of these studies are available, we won’t know if these drugs also have anti-viral activity.

 

Where did the story come from?

The Mail Online reported that “a team of researchers at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology” had said that four antibiotics could “stop the virus” in laboratory tests. The study itself, however, reported that the drugs have not been directly tested against the virus that causes COVID-19.

 

What is the basis for the claim?

The research paper on which the Mail Online article is based is a review of 120 drugs which have been used in humans before, and which the researchers believe may be active against a range of viruses. The researchers say these drugs would be good places to start to look for a treatment for COVID-19.

The majority of the drugs discussed in the review are already used against viruses (antiviral drugs), while some have been used for other infectious diseases such as malaria. The researchers list what stage the research on each drug is at (with laboratory tests the earliest stage and large-scale trials in humans the final stage) and which viruses or groups of viruses the drug has been tested against.

The list includes four antibiotics – teicoplanin, oritavancin, dalbavancin and monensin. These have been used in laboratory tests against other coronaviruses, but not against the virus that causes COVID-19. None of them was reported to have been tested beyond basic laboratory tests. Another 41 drugs were also listed as having been tested against one or more coronaviruses.

It is not clear why these four drugs were picked up by the Mail article as being of particular interest. None of them is the priority drugs currently being tested in large-scale trials on patients with COVID-19. There are ongoing trials of another antibiotic called azithromycin, which is being tested in combination with antimalarial drugs.

 

What do trusted sources say?

The World Health Organization says: “Antibiotics do not work against viruses, only bacteria. The new coronavirus (2019-nCoV) is a virus and therefore antibiotics should not be used as a means of prevention or treatment.

It adds: “However, if you are hospitalised for the 2019-nCoV, you may receive antibiotics because bacterial co-infection is possible.”

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

 

Citation

  1. Andersen P et al. Discovery and development of safe-in-man broad-spectrum antiviral agents. International Journal of Infectious Diseases, 2020; 93, 268-276. https://www.ijidonline.com/article/S1201-9712(20)30076-X/fulltext

Reading list

  1. World Health Organization. Myth-busters: Are antibiotics effective in preventing and treating the new coronavirus? https://www.who.int/emergencies/diseases/novel-coronavirus-2019/advice-for-public/myth-busters