从冠状病毒爆发的早期开始,这个神话就一直在社交媒体上进行。但是,这不仅是不正确的,而且用氯或漂白剂等化学物质喷洒自己也很危险。

目前尚不清楚该想法的起源。也许人们认为,由于使用消毒剂清洁表面,所以对人们消毒可能有用。但是,如果病毒已经进入您的体内,则向自己喷洒这些物质将无济于事。用肥皂洗手足以清除手上的病毒,并防止其传播到表面或传播到嘴,眼或鼻子。

如果诸如氯或漂白剂之类的化学物质直接接触眼睛或粘膜(例如口腔和鼻子内部),可能会损坏它们。吸入此类喷雾剂也可能导致呼吸困难。

请始终按照标签上提供的指导使用产品。

这种说法的来源是什么?

目前尚不清楚该故事的起源。然而,一个普遍的新闻 报告 显示官员显然向印度北方邦的一群移民工人喷洒了氯和水的混合物。地方政府后来指责“过分热心”的官员。

这种说法的依据是什么?

有人用漂白剂或氯喷雾可以“消毒”那些携带病毒的人,这一神话没有科学依据。这些消毒剂仅能清洁表面。

如果一个人患有导致COVID-19的病毒,则其体内的细胞会被感染。该病毒将在其唾液和粘液中传播,因此,如果它们咳嗽或打喷嚏,它们将散布在这些液体的液滴中。如果被感染的人触摸他们的嘴,眼或鼻子,或者咳嗽或打喷嚏到他们的手上,该病毒的颗粒就会落到他们的手上。然后可以将其从他们的手中转移到其他人可能会拾起的其他表面上。

如果您不在家里并且无法使用洗手设施,则可以使用含酒精的洗手液来清洁您的手。但是,在身体其余部位喷洒酒精不太可能带来任何其他好处。

向人喷洒消毒剂不会停止病毒的传播,如果已经接触到病毒,喷洒自己也不会阻止您感染病毒或以任何方式提供帮助。

减少感染冠状病毒的机会的最好方法是遵循公认的有关社交疏远和经常用肥皂和水洗手的指导。

可靠的信息源是如何建议的?

世界卫生组织说:“向您的身体喷洒酒精或氯不会杀死已经进入您体内的病毒。喷涂此类物质可能对衣服或粘膜(即眼睛,嘴巴)有害。请注意,酒精和氯气都可以用来消毒表面,但需要在适当的建议下使用它们。”

分析来源:英国经济学人智库 健康保健部(EIU Healthcare),由利洁时提供支持

 

引用

  1. 在一个印度邦,移民工人喷洒了消毒剂。 CNN 2020年3月31日 https://edition.cnn.com/2020/03/30/india/india-migrant-workers-sprayed-intl/index.html (2020年4月16日访问)

参考文献

  1. 美国疾病控制和预防中心。关于氯的事实。 2020年4月4日。 https://emergency.cdc.gov/agent/chlorine/basics/facts.asp (2020年4月16日访问)
  2. 世界卫生组织,《神话终结者》:可以在全身喷洒酒精或氯气杀死新的冠状病毒吗? https://www.who.int/emergencies/diseases/novel-coronavirus-2019/advice-for-public/myth-busters (2020年4月16日访问)

This myth has been doing the rounds on social media from the early days of the coronavirus outbreak. However, not only is it untrue, but spraying yourself with chemicals such as chlorine or bleach could be dangerous.

It is unclear where the idea originated. Perhaps people thought that, as a disinfectant is used to clean surfaces, it might be useful for disinfecting people. However, spraying yourself with these substances will not help if the virus has already entered your body. Handwashing with soap is sufficient to remove the virus from your hands and prevent you from spreading it onto surfaces or transferring it to your mouth, eyes or nose.

If chemicals such as chlorine or bleach come into direct contact with your eyes or mucous membranes (such as inside your mouth and nose) this could damage them. Inhaling such sprays could also cause breathing difficulties.

Always use products in accordance with the guidance provided on the labels.

Where did the story come from?

It is unclear where the story originated. However, one widespread news report showed officials apparently spraying a mixture of chlorine and water over a group of migrant workers in Uttar Pradesh, India. The local government later blamed “overzealous” officials.

What is the basis for the claim?

There is no scientific basis for the myth that spraying people with bleach or chlorine can “disinfect” those carrying the virus. These disinfectants work only to clean surfaces.

If a person has the virus that causes COVID-19, the cells inside their body are infected. The virus will be carried in their saliva and mucus, and so it will be spread in droplets of these fluids if they cough or sneeze. If people who are infected touch their mouths, eyes or noses, or cough or sneeze onto their hands, particles of the virus will get onto their hands. It can then be transferred from their hands onto other surfaces, where other people might pick it up.

Alcohol-based hand sanitiser can be used to clean your hands if you are away from home and don’t have access to handwashing facilities.  However, spraying alcohol over the rest of your body is unlikely to bring any additional benefit.

Spraying people with disinfectant will not stop transmission of the virus and spraying yourself will not stop you catching the virus or help in any way if you have already been exposed to the virus.

The best way to reduce your chances of being infected with coronavirus is to follow the accepted guidance about social distancing and washing hands frequently with soap and water.

What do trusted sources say?

The World Health Organization says: “Spraying alcohol or chlorine all over your body will not kill viruses that have already entered your body. Spraying such substances can be harmful to clothes or mucous membranes (i.e. eyes, mouth). Be aware that both alcohol and chlorine can be useful to disinfect surfaces, but they need to be used under appropriate recommendations.”

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

 

Citation

  1. Migrant workers sprayed with disinfectant in one Indian state. CNN 31 March 2020 https://edition.cnn.com/2020/03/30/india/india-migrant-workers-sprayed-intl/index.html (Accessed 16 April 2020)

Reading list

  1. US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Facts about Chlorine. 4 April 2020. https://emergency.cdc.gov/agent/chlorine/basics/facts.asp (Accessed 16 April 2020)
  2. World Health Organization, Mythbusters: Can spraying alcohol or chlorine all over your body kill the new coronavirus? https://www.who.int/emergencies/diseases/novel-coronavirus-2019/advice-for-public/myth-busters (Accessed 16 April 2020)