在社交媒体论坛(例如Facebook)上,人们反复猜测冠状病毒可以通过蚊虫叮咬传播。

这不是真的。

冠状病毒,也称为SARS-CoV-2,是一种呼吸道病毒。它存在于鼻子的唾液和粘液中,并在感染者咳嗽,打喷嚏甚至说话时通过微小的飞沫传播。

这些水滴落在附近人的嘴和鼻子中时会发生感染,但它们也可以通过湿的眼睛表面传播。

没有症状的被感染者可能仍会传染。

该病毒可以在表面或物体上存活,人们可以通过触摸被污染的物体然后触摸他们的嘴,鼻子或眼睛来感染。它不被认为是“血源性”病毒,因此不太可能像疟疾一样传播。

 

这种说法的来源是什么?

该声明最初发布在Facebook上,但似乎已被删除。随着人们猜测这种新感染可能来自何处以及如何传播,它还出现在各种其他社交媒体平台上。

约瑟夫·康隆美国蚊子控制协会的一位科学家说,他已经收到有关美国政府掩盖有关这种传播途径信息的说法。他证实他认为“蚊子传播冠状病毒的可能性为零”。

 

这种说法的依据是什么?

COVID-19在许多人的脑中与Zika有关,Zika是一种以前鲜为人知的疾病,于2015-2016年从非洲传播到南美和北美,引起了广泛关注。但是,寨卡病毒是由另一种病毒引起的,这种病毒通过被蚊子叮咬而在人体内传播。

尽管没有证据表明冠状病毒可以感染蚊子,但这种可能性仍在增加。

 

可靠的信息源是如何建议的?

世界卫生组织非常清楚,迄今为止没有证据表明蚊子可以传播冠状病毒。它说,感染这种疾病的人的嘴和鼻子上感染的飞沫是传播的关键途径,并重申建议经常洗手是保护自己免受感染的最佳方法。

同样,美国疾病控制中心表示,没有数据表明COVID-19是通过蚊子或壁虱叮咬传播的,并说人与人之间的接触是主要风险。

分析来源: EIU医疗保健,由RB支持

 

引用

  1. 裁谈会和世界卫生组织已经说过蚊子不会传播冠状病毒。现在,美国农业部也会研究它。 2020年4月15日。 https://www.propublica.org/article/the-cdc-and-who-have-already-said-mosquitoes-dont-spread-coronavirus-now-usda-will-study-it-too(2020年4月16日访问)

参考文献

  1. 美国疾病控制与预防中心。 2019年冠状病毒病(COVID-19)。常见问题解答2020年4月14日 https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/faq.html(2020年4月16日访问)
  2. WHO。面向公众的冠状病毒病(COVID-19)建议。 2020年神话破灭。 https://www.who.int/emergencies/diseases/novel-coronavirus-2019/advice-for-public/myth-busters(2020年4月16日访问)
  3. WHYY公共媒体组织。蝙蝠,蚊子,人类和其他哺乳动物如何融入冠状病毒的故事。 2020年3月27日。 https://whyy.org/articles/how-bats-mosquitos-humans-and-other-mammals-factor-into-the-coronavirus-story/(2020年4月16日访问)

There has been repeated speculation on social media forums, such as Facebook, that coronavirus can be spread by mosquito bites.

This is not true.

The coronavirus, also known as SARS-CoV-2, is a respiratory virus. It is present in saliva and mucus from the nose and is spread through tiny droplets when an infected person coughs, sneezes or even speaks.

Infection occurs when these droplets land in the mouths and noses of people nearby, but they can also be transmitted via the wet surface of the eyes.

Infected people who have no symptoms may still pass on the infection.

The virus can survive on surfaces or objects and people can get infected by touching something contaminated and then touching their mouth, nose or eyes. It is not thought to be a “blood-borne” virus, so is unlikely to be transmitted like malaria.

 

Where did the story come from?

The claim was originally published on Facebook but seems to have since been removed. It has also surfaced on a variety of other social media platforms as people speculated about where this new infection could have come from and how it could be spread.

Joseph Conlon, a scientist from the American Mosquito Control Association says he has received claims that the American government is covering up information about this transmission route. He confirms that in his opinion “the possibility of mosquito transmission of the coronavirus is nil”.

 

What is the basis for the claim?

COVID-19 has been linked in many peoples’ minds with Zika, a previously little-known disease which spread from Africa to South and North America in 2015-2016, causing widespread concern. However, Zika is caused by a different sort of virus that spreads among humans by the bites of infected mosquitos.

Despite the fact there is no evidence that coronavirus can infect mosquitos, the possibility continues to be raised.

 

What do trusted sources say?

The World Health Organisation is quite clear that there is no evidence to date suggesting mosquitos can transmit coronavirus. It says infected droplets from the mouths and noses of people suffering the disease are the key route of transmission and reiterates the recommendation that frequent hand washing is the best way to protect oneself against it.

Similarly, the US Centers for Disease Control says it has no data suggesting COVID-19 is spread by mosquito or tick bites and says person to person contact is the main risk.

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by RB

 

Citation

  1. The CD and WHO Have Already Said Mosquitos Don’t Spread Coronavirus. Now USDA Will Study It, Too. 15 April 2020. https://www.propublica.org/article/the-cdc-and-who-have-already-said-mosquitoes-dont-spread-coronavirus-now-usda-will-study-it-too(Accessed 16 April 2020)

Reading list

  1. US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19). Frequently Asked Questions 14 April 2020 https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/faq.html(Accessed 16 April 2020)
  2. WHO. Coronavirus disease (COVID-19) advice for the public. Myth busters 2020. https://www.who.int/emergencies/diseases/novel-coronavirus-2019/advice-for-public/myth-busters(Accessed 16 April 2020)
  3. WHYY public media organization. How bats, mosquitos, humans and other mammals factor into the coronavirus story. 27 March 2020. https://whyy.org/articles/how-bats-mosquitos-humans-and-other-mammals-factor-into-the-coronavirus-story/(Accessed 16 April 2020)