根据最近的新闻标题,吸烟者患冠状病毒的可能性“高14倍”。

但是,这不太正确。这个数字实际上并不表示吸烟者感染病毒的风险。相反,该研究发现,吸烟者比从未吸烟的人吸烟时患上更严重的COVID-19疾病的可能性高约14倍。

吸烟会损害肺部和心脏血管。这可能就是为什么吸烟者感染冠状病毒比非吸烟者更容易发生严重并发症的原因。我们知道,患有肺和心脏病的人更有可能因COVID-19发生并发症。

法国引用的其他早期研究 守护者 在该国对480人进行了抽样调查,发现在该国使用COVID-19入院的吸烟者少于预期。研究人员有一种理论认为,烟雾中存在某些特定物质(例如尼古丁)可以解释这一点,我们计划进一步研究质量更高的物质以验证这一想法。

抽烟还意味着人们在抽烟或抽烟时经常触摸他们的嘴。通常共享某些类型的吸烟装置,例如水管。经常触摸您的嘴并共享管道可能会增加感染病毒的风险。

这种说法的来源是什么?

太阳的文章基于 英国公共卫生 (PHE)警告吸烟者,他们更容易患冠状病毒。不幸的是,由于有关研究并未发现吸烟者更容易感染冠状病毒,因此Sun的头条新闻误报了此警告的依据。相反,它发现吸烟者更有可能患上更严重的COVID-19疾病。

 

这种说法的依据是什么?

来自的新闻稿 英国公共卫生 (PHE)说:“证据清楚地表明COVID-19病毒攻击了呼吸系统,这解释了为什么吸烟者罹患严重呼吸道疾病的风险更大”。

PHE新闻稿引用了在 中华医学杂志 在二月底。这项研究报道了在冠状病毒爆发初期在中国武汉省医院接受治疗的78名患者。

两周后,在78名患者中,有67名病情好转或稳定下来,而11名病情恶化或病情更加严重。在情况恶化的人群中,有27%是吸烟者或曾经吸烟者,而改善的人群中只有3%是吸烟者或曾经吸烟者。研究人员说,考虑到其他因素,吸烟者恶化的可能性是不吸烟者的14倍。

年龄较大的患者入院时体温较高或呼吸困难,也更有可能恶化。

此外,PHE说:“重复的手到嘴移动为病毒提供了一种简便的进入途径,使吸烟者更容易感染COVID-19。”

PHE表示,这些担忧为吸烟者戒烟提供了更多动力。

可靠的信息源是如何建议的?

世界卫生组织说:“吸烟者更容易感染COVID-19,因为吸烟意味着手指(以及可能受污染的香烟)与嘴唇接触,这增加了病毒从手向口传播的可能性。

吸烟者可能已经患有肺部疾病或肺活量下降,这将大大增加患严重疾病的风险。”

引用

  1. 刘威等。 2019年新型冠状病毒病住院患者的疾病结局相关因素分析。中华医学杂志:2020年2月28日doi:10.1097 / CM9.0000000000000775 https://journals.lww.com/cmj/Abstract/publishahead/Analysis_of_factors_associated_with_disease.99363.aspx (2020年4月20日访问)

参考文献

  1. 世界卫生组织,关于吸烟和COVID-19的问答。 2020年3月24日。 https://www.who.int/news-room/q-a-detail/q-a-on-smoking-and-covid-19 (2020年4月20日访问)
  2. 英国公共卫生,新闻稿。吸烟者罹患COVID-19的严重呼吸道疾病风险更大。 2020年4月3日。 https://www.gov.uk/government/news/smokers-at-greater-risk-of-severe-respiratory-disease-from-covid-19 (2020年4月20日访问)
  3. NHS针对高危人群的建议。 https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/coronavirus-covid-19/advice-for-people-at-high-risk/

Smokers are “14 times more likely to develop coronavirus” according to a recent news headline.

However, this isn’t quite right. This figure doesn’t actually refer to smokers’ risk of catching the virus. Instead, the research in question found that smokers were about 14 times more likely than people who have never smoked to develop more serious COVID-19 disease when they do catch it.

Smoking damages the lungs and the blood vessels of the heart. This may be why smokers who catch coronavirus are more likely to have serious complications than non-smokers. We know that people with lung and heart disease are more at risk of complications from COVID-19.

Other early research in France quoted by The Guardian has sampled 480 people and found fewer smokers get to hospital with COVID-19, in that country, than expected. The researchers have a theory that there are specific substances in smoke, such as nicotine, that might explain this and our planning further research of better quality to test the idea.

Smoking cigarettes also means people touch their mouths frequently as they take puffs of a cigarette or pipe. Some types of smoking apparatus, such as water pipes, are typically shared. Touching your mouth frequently and sharing pipes is likely to increase the risk of catching the virus.

Where did the story come from?

The Sun’s article is based on a Public Health England (PHE) warning to smokers that they are more likely to suffer severe disease from coronavirus. Unfortunately, the Sun’s headline misreports the basis for this warning, as the research in question didn’t find that smokers are more likely to get coronavirus. Instead, it found that smokers were more likely to develop more serious COVID-19 disease.

 

What is the basis for the claim?

The press release from Public Health England (PHE) said: “The evidence clearly shows COVID-19 virus attacks the respiratory system, which explains why smokers are at greater risk” of severe respiratory disease.

The PHE press release referenced a study published in the Chinese Medical Journal at the end of February. This study reported on 78 patients treated in hospitals in Wuhan Province in China in the early days of the coronavirus outbreak.

After two weeks 67 of the 78 patients improved or stabilised while 11 deteriorated and developed more serious disease. Of those who got worse, 27% were smokers or former smokers, while only 3% of those who improved were smokers or former smokers. The researchers said that people who smoked were 14 times more likely to have deteriorated than non-smokers after taking into account other factors.

Older patients had higher temperatures or breathing difficulties on admission and were also more likely to deteriorate.

In addition, PHE said: “the repetitive hand to mouth movement provides an easy route of entry for the virus, putting smokers at greater risk of contracting COVID-19.”

PHE said these concerns give an added incentive for smokers to stop smoking.

What do trusted sources say?

The World Health Organization says: “Smokers are likely to be more vulnerable to COVID-19 as the act of smoking means that fingers (and possibly contaminated cigarettes) are in contact with lips which increases the possibility of transmission of virus from hand to mouth.

Smokers may also already have lung disease or reduced lung capacity which would greatly increase the risk of serious illness.”

Citation

  1. Liu W et al. Analysis of factors associated with disease outcomes in hospitalized patients with 2019 novel coronavirus disease. Chinese Medical Journal: February 28, 2020 doi: 10.1097/CM9.0000000000000775 https://journals.lww.com/cmj/Abstract/publishahead/Analysis_of_factors_associated_with_disease.99363.aspx (Accessed 20 April 2020)

Reading list

  1. World Health Organization, Q&A on smoking and COVID-19. 24 March 2020. https://www.who.int/news-room/q-a-detail/q-a-on-smoking-and-covid-19 (Accessed 20 April 2020)
  2. Public Health England, press release. Smokers at greater risk of severe respiratory disease from COVID-19. 3 April 2020. https://www.gov.uk/government/news/smokers-at-greater-risk-of-severe-respiratory-disease-from-covid-19 (Accessed 20 April 2020)
  3. NHS advice for people at high risk. https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/coronavirus-covid-19/advice-for-people-at-high-risk/