媒体报道表明,使用卡介苗疫苗接种其人群的结核病疫苗接种的国家似乎死于COVID-19的比例较低。卡介苗疫苗可以减少病毒感染或死亡吗?

目前正在进行临床试验,但目前尚无高质量的证据表明BCG疫苗可预防COVID-19。

与大多数欧洲和美国一样,英国不再向所有人常规接种BCG疫苗,因为该国并不常见结核病。卡介苗在结核病仍是一个问题的亚洲和非洲国家得到更广泛的应用。其中一些国家尽管收入低于欧洲国家,但COVID-19报告的病例和死亡人数却较低。

国家一级的证据很有趣,但是存在很多问题。各个国家处于大流行的不同阶段,并且具有不同的检测方式。这种差异可以解释COVID-19死亡率的差异。

世卫组织和英国的指导意见继续建议将卡介苗疫苗推荐给罹患结核病风险较高的婴儿。

 

一个故事 地铁 该报着重介绍了由COVID-19对卡介苗接种和死亡率进行的研究, 约翰霍普金斯大学公共卫生学院 在美国。媒体强调了对当前证据水平的谨慎,并表示“尚未得出最终结论。”

 

这种说法的依据是什么?

约翰霍普金斯大学公共卫生学院 研究 是迄今为止最详细的研究,用于调查COVID-19死亡率与BCG疫苗接种之间的联系。该研究尚未经过同行评审,这意味着最终出版物可能会发生变化,尽管早期报告在COVID-19研究迅速发展的领域中很普遍。

报告调查了截至2020年3月29日报告冠状病毒病例最多的50个国家每百万人口COVID-19的死亡人数。通常,高收入国家/地区的传染病死亡率(包括呼吸道感染死亡)最低,最高适用于低收入国家。但是,对于COVID-19,情况恰恰相反。中低收入国家的COVID-19死亡率中位数(平均)为0.4 /百万,高收入国家为5.5。

研究人员调整了他们的数据,以考虑到该国的经济状况(国内生产总值,GDP),65岁以上人口的百分比以及流行病的阶段(自100年以来的天数 病例已报告)。这些都是与COVID-19等呼吸道感染的疾病严重程度和死亡率相关的所有因素。然后,他们查看了提供或未提供通用BCG疫苗接种的那些国家的死亡率。他们发现使用BCG疫苗的国家的COVID-19死亡率是未使用BCG疫苗的国家的5.8倍。

但是,这种生态学研究无法解释国家检测和报告水平的差异,其他混杂因素(例如合并症和社会疏远程度)或大流行的迅速发展。

总的来说,在将这些发现归因于BCG疫苗的直接保护作用时必须格外谨慎。

 

可靠的信息源是如何建议的?

世界卫生组织表示,它将评估正在进行的BCG试验的结果,据报道,该试验涉及医护人员。但是,目前有这样的说法:“没有证据表明,BacilleCalmette-Guérin疫苗(BCG)保护人们免受COVID-19病毒的感染”和“ WHO不建议使用BCG疫苗预防COVID-19。”

它警告说,从目前使用该疫苗的国家转移疫苗的供应有可能在那些地区爆发结核病,并说那些使用该疫苗保护婴儿免受结核病感染的国家应继续这样做。

分析来源: EIU医疗保健由Reckitt Benckiser支持

 

引用

  1. A Shet,D Ray等。不同国家/地区归因于COVID-19的死亡率和卡介苗疫苗的使用差异。 medRxiv预印本doi: https://doi.org/10.1101/2020.04.01.20049478. https://www.medrxiv.org/content/10.1101/2020.04.01.20049478v1.full.pdf (2020年4月21日访问)

 

参考文献

  1. Gursel,I。Gursel,全球BCG疫苗接种覆盖率与SARS-CoV-2大流行的进展有关吗?,医学假说(2020),doi: https://doi.org/10.1016/j.mehy。 2020.109707
  2. 世界卫生组织,BacilleCalmette-Guérin(BCG)疫苗和COVID-19(科学简介)。 https://www.who.int/news-room/commentaries/detail/bacille-calmette-gu%C3%A9rin-(bcg)-vaccination-and-covid-19 (2020年4月21日访问)
  3. 结核。 NICE指南NG33。最后更新时间为2019年9月12日。 https://www.nice.org.uk/guidance/ng33/chapter/recommendations#bcg-vaccination (2020年4月21日访问)

Media reports have suggested countries that vaccinate their populations against tuberculosis (TB) using the BCG vaccine seem to have lower rates of deaths from COVID-19. Could the BCG vaccine reduce infections or deaths from the virus?

Clinical trials are underway, but at present, there is no good quality evidence that the BCG vaccination protects against COVID-19.

The UK, like most of Europe and the US, no longer routinely offers BCG vaccination to everyone because TB is not common in this country. BCG is used more widely in Asian and African countries where TB is still a problem. Some of these countries, despite being lower income than European countries, had lower COVID-19 reported cases and deaths.

The evidence at country level is interesting, but there are many problems with it. Countries are at different stages in the pandemic and have very different testing regimens. This variation could explain the differences in COVID-19 death rates.

The WHO and UK guidance continue to recommend the BCG vaccine for babies who are at higher risk of exposure to TB.

 

A story in the Metro newspaper highlighted research on BCG vaccination and death rates from COVID-19 that was conducted by the Johns Hopkins School of Public Health in the US. The media highlighted caution regarding the current level of evidence and said that “no final conclusions have been drawn.”

 

What is the basis for the claim?

The Johns Hopkins School of Public Health study is the most detailed study to date to have investigated the link between COVID-19 death rates and BCG vaccination. The study has not yet been peer-reviewed, meaning the final publication may change, though early reporting is common in the rapidly evolving field of COVID-19 research.

It looked at deaths from COVID-19 per million of population for the 50 countries reporting the most cases of coronavirus as of 29 March 2020. Typically, death rates for infectious disease – including those from respiratory infection – are lowest for high income countries and highest for low income countries. However, for COVID-19, the reverse was true. The median (average) COVID-19 mortality rate was 0.4 per million for low-middle income countries rising to 5.5 for high income countries.

The researchers adjusted their figures to take account of the country’s economy (Gross Domestic Product, GDP), the percentage of the population aged over 65 years, and the stage in the epidemic (the number of days since the 100th case had been reported). These are all factors that are expected to be associated with disease severity and mortality in a respiratory infection like COVID-19. They then looked at death rates for those countries that did and did not offer universal BCG vaccination. They found countries that used BCG vaccine had COVID-19 death rates 5.8 times lower than countries that did not use BCG vaccine.

However, this ecological research cannot account for differences in the level of testing and reporting by country, other confounding influences (such as the level of comorbidity and social distancing), or the rapidly evolving spread of the pandemic.

Overall considerable caution must be taken in attributing these findings to a direct protective effect of the BCG vaccine.

 

What do trusted sources say?

The WHO says it will evaluate the results of the BCG trials underway, which reportedly involve healthcare workers. However, at present is says there is: “no evidence that the Bacille Calmette-Guérin vaccine (BCG) protects people against infection with COVID-19 virus” and “WHO does not recommend BCG vaccination for the prevention of COVID-19.”

It warns that diverting supplies of the vaccine from countries where it is currently used risks outbreaks of TB in those areas, and says that those countries which use the vaccine to protect babies from TB should continue to do so.

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

 

Citation

  1. A Shet, D Ray et al. Differential COVID-19-attributable mortality and BCG vaccine use in countries. medRxiv preprint doi: https://doi.org/10.1101/2020.04.01.20049478. https://www.medrxiv.org/content/10.1101/2020.04.01.20049478v1.full.pdf (Accessed 21 April 2020)

 

Reading list

  1. Gursel, I. Gursel, Is Global BCG Vaccination Coverage Relevant To The Progression Of SARS-CoV-2 Pandemic?, Medical Hypotheses (2020), doi: https://doi.org/10.1016/j.mehy. 2020.109707
  2. World Health Organisation, Bacille Calmette-Guérin (BCG) vaccination and COVID-19 (scientific brief). https://www.who.int/news-room/commentaries/detail/bacille-calmette-gu%C3%A9rin-(bcg)-vaccination-and-covid-19 (Accessed 21 April 2020)
  3. Tuberculosis. NICE guideline NG33. Last updated 12 September 2019. https://www.nice.org.uk/guidance/ng33/chapter/recommendations#bcg-vaccination (Accessed 21 April 2020)