自三月以来,这个危险的神话一直在社交媒体和一些新闻媒体中进行。但是,没有证据表明非洲的遗产可以为冠状病毒提供任何保护。

在英国,可悲的是死于COVID-19的许多人都是非洲人或加勒比人后裔。确实, 研究正在进行中 找出为什么来自英国黑人和少数民族的人们似乎更可能成为该疾病的受害者。在美国,许多非洲裔美国人死于COVID-19, 死亡率更高 比白人人口在撰写本文时,已经报告了超过16,000例COVID-19病例。 非洲.

如果非洲人后裔认为自己处于同等风险或较高风险中时,感染或严重疾病的风险较低,那么这个神话就特别危险。

 

这种说法的来源是什么?

在喀麦隆一个年轻的中国学生感染了这种病毒之后,神话似乎开始了。一些 非洲新闻媒体 他说,医生们对他幸存下来并归因于他的基因感到惊讶。在他年轻的时候,这并不奇怪。他的种族背景不太可能与他的生存有关。

 

这种说法的依据是什么?

新闻报道 由于多种原因,它们并不可信。他们没有给那些对年轻学生的生存感到惊讶的中国医生命名。他们没有解释声称他的生存取决于他的“血液遗传成分”的说法。他们没有给出“非洲医生”的资格或从属关系,他们援引他们的话说,黑色素是使皮肤变色的色素,可以提供保护,并且“这再次证明黑人是坚不可摧的”。

除了脆弱的事实之外,这些报告还没有基于任何关于遗传变异如何影响对COVID-19的易感性的科学理解。

即使在同一种族的个体之间也存在许多遗传变异。除行为和健康系统因素外,这些因素还可能以未知的方式影响生存。寻找简单的解释来预测这种新病毒患者的生存可能不会有所帮助。

 

可靠的信息源是如何建议的?

这个神话已经被包括 世界经济论坛路透社 通讯社。世界经济论坛说:“没有证据表明黑色素能保护黑人免受冠状病毒的侵害。也没有科学证据表明非洲的血液成分会阻止非洲人感染冠状病毒。”

分析来源: EIU医疗保健由Reckitt Benckiser支持

 

引用

  1. Afriupdate网站。中国医生揭示了非洲皮肤为何抵抗冠状病毒。 https://www.afriupdate.com/africa/chinese-doctors-reveals-why-african-skin-resists-coronavirus/ (2020年4月22日访问)

参考文献

  1. 世界经济论坛。在非洲绕冠状病毒传播的9个流行神话被揭穿了。 https://www.weforum.org/agenda/2020/04/debunking-9-popular-myths-doing-the-rounds-in-africa-about-the-coronavirus/ (2020年4月22日访问)
  2. Covid-19:政府将探索对少数民族医护人员的巨大影响。 (新闻故事)。 BMJ 2020; 369:m1562 https://www.bmj.com/content/369/bmj.m1562 (2020年4月22日访问)

This dangerous myth has been doing the rounds of social media and some news outlets since March. But there is no evidence that African heritage offers any protection against coronavirus.

In the UK, many of the people who have sadly died of COVID-19 are of African or Caribbean descent. Indeed, research is underway to find out why people from black and minority ethnic groups in the UK seem more likely to become victims of the disease. Many African American people in the US have died of COVID-19, with death rates higher than those for the white population. At the time of writing, more than 16,000 cases of COVID-19 have been reported in Africa.

The myth could be particularly dangerous if people of African descent believe themselves to be at lower risk of infection or serious illness when they are at equal or raised risk.

 

Where did the story come from?

The myth appears to have started after a young Cameroonian student in China contracted the virus. Some African news outlets said doctors were surprised that he had survived and put it down to his genes. As he was young, there’s nothing surprising about it. His ethnic background is unlikely to have anything to do with his survival.

 

What is the basis for the claim?

The news reports are not credible for a number of reasons. They do not name the Chinese doctors who were supposedly surprised by the survival of the young student. They do not explain the claims that his survival was down to his “blood genetic composition”. They do not give the qualifications or affiliation of an “African doctor” who they quote as saying that melanin, the pigment which gives skin its colour, provides protection, and that “This proves yet again that the black man is indestructible.”

In addition to the flimsy facts, the reports are not based on any scientific understanding of how genetic variation might affect susceptibility to COVID-19.

There are many genetic variations even between individuals of the same ethnic group. Along with behavioural and health system factors these may influence survival in unknown ways. Looking for simple explanations to predict survival for people with this new virus is unlikely to be helpful.

 

What do trusted sources say?

The myth has been debunked by organisations including the World Economic Forum and Reuters news agency. The World Economic Forum says: “There is no proof that melanin protects black people from the coronavirus. There is also no scientific evidence that African blood composition prevents Africans from contracting the coronavirus.”

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

 

Citation

  1. Afriupdate website. Chinese doctors reveal why African skin resists coronavirus. https://www.afriupdate.com/africa/chinese-doctors-reveals-why-african-skin-resists-coronavirus/ (Accessed 22 April 2020)

Reading list

  1. World Economic Forum. 9 popular myths doing the rounds in Africa about the coronavirus – debunked. https://www.weforum.org/agenda/2020/04/debunking-9-popular-myths-doing-the-rounds-in-africa-about-the-coronavirus/ (Accessed 22 April 2020)
  2. Covid-19: Disproportionate impact on ethnic minority healthcare workers will be explored by government. (news story). BMJ 2020;369:m1562 https://www.bmj.com/content/369/bmj.m1562 (Accessed 22 April 2020)