在社交媒体和报纸报道中已经反复提出了建议,即COVID-19可能会损害男性的生育能力。

 

之所以引起人们的关注,部分原因是因为已知睾丸会产生一种蛋白质,而新的冠状病毒被认为可以用来进入细胞(称为ACE2)。因此,从理论上讲,睾丸可能会受到该病毒的影响。

 

还有证据表明,由某些感染(包括流感)引起的疾病和高温可以暂时降低精子数量并增加异常精子的产生,但这种作用是短暂的。

 

一项针对181位来自中国的男性的研究发现,与未感染该病毒的男性相比,患有COVID-19的男性的某些生殖激素水平似乎有所变化,但睾丸激素水平没有差异。来自中国的两项研究发现,从COVID-19中恢复的男性精液中没有这种病毒的证据。

 

迄今为止,还没有研究关注精子数量或质量等重要问题,因此,没有令人信服的证据表明COVID-19影响男性的生育能力。

 

这种说法的来源是什么?

三月 在线邮件 报道说,武汉的一位生殖医学教授建议,冠状病毒可能会影响睾丸,患有这种疾病的男性应该在恢复后进行生育力检查。的 南华早报 报道称,类似的报告在被删除之前,已在湖北政府网站上发布并在社交媒体上广泛共享。

 

 

这种说法的依据是什么?

教授声称的依据是,被认为是新型冠状病毒用来进入细胞的蛋白质(称为ACE2)是在睾丸中发现的(在其他地方)。因此,理论上,睾丸中的细胞可以被病毒感染,这可能会影响精子的产生。他说,SARS也是由冠状病毒引起的,在某些情况下导致睾丸受损。

他承认,尽管那时还没有研究证实冠状病毒对男性生育能力的影响。

我们开始看到一些有关此问题的早期研究。这些研究通常规模较小,并且通常尚未经过其他专家的审查,以检查其质量。

 

一个 最近的研究 来自武汉的人比较了81名COVID-19男性和100名未感染男性的生殖相关激素水平(对照)。

研究发现,患有COVID-19的男性确实在某些与生殖有关的激素水平上存在差异,但在睾丸激素水平上却没有差异。该研究没有考虑男性的精子数量或精子质量,因此我们不知道这些差异。布里斯托大学的Paolo Madeddu教授 评论研究 指出“激素变化可能是由于一般炎症也影响了性腺功能”。

两项针对少数男性的研究(12名34名 在中国,有COVID-19的人在康复后没有发现任何证据显示精液中存在冠状病毒。的发现 这些研究之一 也暗示具有ACE2蛋白的睾丸细胞缺乏病毒进入细胞所需的第二种蛋白。

总体而言,目前尚无令人信服的证据表明冠状病毒会影响男性的生育能力。

可靠的信息源是如何建议的?

截至23rd 4月,英国等国尚未发布有关冠状病毒和男性生育力的具体建议。 人类受精与胚胎学管理局英国生育协会, 或者 美国生殖医学学会.

分析来源: EIU医疗保健由Reckitt Benckiser支持

引用

  1. 在线每日邮件。医生声称新的冠状病毒“可能会损害男性的睾丸”,并敦促男性患者在康复后进行生育力检查。 2020年3月12日。网址:  https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-8104477/Doctors-claim-new-coronavirus-cause-damage-mans-TESTICLES.html (2020年4月23日访问)
  2. Ling等。 SARS-CoV-2感染对男性性腺功能的影响:一项基于中心的研究。 medRxiv网站。发表于2020年3月30日。 https://doi.org/10.1101/2020.03.21.20037267 (2020年4月23日访问)
  3. Pan等。从COVID-19中恢复的男性精液中没有SARS-CoV-2的证据。生育和不育。印刷中,可在线查阅2020年4月17日。 https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0015028220303848 (2020年4月23日访问)
  4. 宋等。在COVID-19患者的精液和睾丸活检标本中检测2019年新型冠状病毒。 medRxiv网站。发表于2020年4月10日。 https://www.medrxiv.org/content/10.1101/2020.03.31.20042333v2.full.pdf+html (2020年4月23日访问)

参考文献

  1. 美国生殖医学学会。 COVID-19患者资源。可在: https://www.reproductivefacts.org/news-and-publications/covid-19-resources-for-patients/?_ga=2.85838297.1124890166.1587642257-1781960207.1587642257 (2020年4月23日访问)
  2. 英国生育协会网站。可在: https://www.britishfertilitysociety.org.uk/ (2020年4月23日访问)
  3. 人类受精与胚胎学管理局。冠状病毒(COVID-19)和生育治疗。出版日期2020年4月16日。可在以下网站获取: https://www.hfea.gov.uk/treatments/covid-19-and-fertility-treatment/ (2020年4月23日访问)
  4. Sergerie M.Mieusset R.Croute F. 最近发生急性发热性疾病后,精液参数暂时改变的高风险。 2007年; 88(4):第970页

There have been repeated suggestions on social media and in newspaper reports that COVID-19 might damage male fertility.

 

The concerns have in part arisen because the testes are known to produce the protein that the novel coronavirus is thought to use to get into cells (called ACE2). So theoretically the testes could be affected by the virus.

 

There is also some evidence that illness and high temperature caused by some infections including flu, can temporarily lower sperm count and increase the production of abnormal sperm, but this effect is short lived.

 

One study in 181 men from China found that men with COVID-19 seem to have changes in levels of some of their reproductive hormones compared to men without the virus but found no difference in testosterone levels. Two studies from China found no evidence of the virus in the semen of men who had recovered from COVID-19.

 

No studies so far have looked at important issues such as sperm count or quality, so there isn’t convincing evidence that COVID-19 impacts men’s fertility.

 

Where did the story come from?

In March the Mail Online reported that a Professor in reproductive medicine from Wuhan suggested that coronavirus could affect the testes and that men who have had it should have fertility tests after recovery. The South China Morning Post reported that a similar report was published on the Hubei government website and widely shared on social media, before being removed.

 

 

What is the basis for the claim?

The basis for the Professor’s claim was that the protein thought to be used by the novel coronavirus to enter cells (called ACE2) is found in the testes (among other places). So, cells in the testes could theoretically be infected by the virus, and this might affect sperm production. He stated that SARS, which was also caused by a coronavirus, had led to damage to the testes in some cases.

He acknowledged though that at that point there was no research to confirm an impact of coronavirus on male fertility.

We are starting to see a few early studies being published on this issue. These studies are generally small and often have not yet been through review by other experts to check that they are of good quality.

 

A recent study coming out of Wuhan compared the levels of reproduction-related hormones in 81 men who had COVID-19 and 100 men who did not have the infection (controls).

The study found that the men with COVID-19 did show differences in the levels of some of their reproduction-related hormones, but not in testosterone levels. The research did not look at the men’s sperm counts or sperm quality, so we don’t know if these differed. Professor Paolo Madeddu from the University of Bristol commenting on the study noted that “Hormonal changes could be due to general inflammation affecting also the gonad function”.

Two studies in a small number of men (12 men and 34 men respectively) in China who had COVID-19 did not find any evidence of coronavirus being present in their semen after they recovered. The findings of one of these studies also suggested that testicular cells with the ACE2 protein lacked a second protein needed for the virus to enter the cells.

Overall, there isn’t currently convincing evidence that coronavirus has an impact on male fertility.

What do trusted sources say?

As of the 23rd April, specific advice on coronavirus and male fertility had not been issued by sources such as the UK’s Human Fertilisation & Embryology Authority, the British Fertility Society, or the American Society for Reproductive Medicine.

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

Citation

  1. Daily Mail online. Doctors claim new coronavirus ‘may cause damage to a man’s testicles’ and urge male patients to take fertility tests upon recovery. 12 March 2020. Available at:  https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-8104477/Doctors-claim-new-coronavirus-cause-damage-mans-TESTICLES.html (Accessed 23 April 2020)
  2. Ling et al. Effect of SARS-CoV-2 infection upon male gonadal function: A single center-based study. medRxiv website. Posted 30 March 2020. https://doi.org/10.1101/2020.03.21.20037267 (Accessed 23 April 2020)
  3. Pan et al. No evidence of SARS-CoV-2 in semen of males recovering from COVID-19. Fertility and Sterility. In press, available online 17 April 2020. Available at: https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0015028220303848 (Accessed 23 April 2020)
  4. Song et al. Detection of 2019 novel coronavirus in semen and testicular biopsy specimen of COVID-19 patients. medRxiv website. Posted 10 April 2020. Available at: https://www.medrxiv.org/content/10.1101/2020.03.31.20042333v2.full.pdf+html (Accessed 23 April 2020)

Reading list

  1. American Society for Reproductive Medicine. COVID-19 Resources for Patients. Available at: https://www.reproductivefacts.org/news-and-publications/covid-19-resources-for-patients/?_ga=2.85838297.1124890166.1587642257-1781960207.1587642257 (Accessed 23 April 2020)
  2. British Fertility Society website. Available at: https://www.britishfertilitysociety.org.uk/ (Accessed 23 April 2020)
  3. Human Fertilisation & Embryology Authority. Coronavirus (COVID-19) and fertility treatment. Publication date 16 April 2020. Available at: https://www.hfea.gov.uk/treatments/covid-19-and-fertility-treatment/ (Accessed 23 April 2020)
  4. Sergerie M. Mieusset R. Croute F. High risk of temporary alteration of semen parameters after recent acute febrile illness. 2007; 88(4): p.970