从COVID-19感染中恢复过来的人据说肺功能下降20到30%,使他们在走路时呼吸困难。

目前,此类报告基于非常有限的研究证据。他们追踪了在香港爆发初期的12例因COVID-19住院的患者的观察结果。恢复后,据说12例中有2到3例肺功能下降,而其他人的肺部扫描显示变化提示损伤。

这只是一个小数目。来自的最新信息 世界卫生组织 显示全球已确认超过250万例COVID-19感染。可能有成千上万的人被感染,但未经测试,或者在没有得到医疗救助的情况下康复。

需要进行大规模,持续的随访,以更好地了解COVID-19是否与持续的呼吸作用有关,以及其随感染严重程度或患者基本特征而变化的方式。

这种说法的来源是什么?

香港医院管理局感染疾病中心的医学总监在2020年3月上旬的新闻发布会上报告了12例患者的观察结果。 澳大利亚商业内幕。据说这些发现首先在《南华早报》上发表。

这种说法的依据是什么?

该报告是简短的。据说这十二名病人是今年初在香港康复并出院的首批病人之一。

香港医院管理局的医务总监报告说,每12个人中有2至3个人的肺活量有所变化。他被引述为“如果他们走得更快一些,他们会喘着粗气”,并且“有些患者在完全康复后肺功能可能下降约20至30%。”简报继续说,建议患者可以进行心血管运动以随着时间的推移提高其肺活量。

主任进一步报告说,对9名患者的肺部进行CT扫描(假定为12例中的9例)显示出“毛玻璃”图案。这是指在放射胶片上看到的白色斑块(不透明),这可能意味着诸如液体积聚,发炎或肺部瘢痕形成等各种情况。它们被认为是COVID-19感染中的典型CT发现,并且是“确诊病例”定义的一部分。

在此阶段得出肯定的结论时必须谨慎。这些是对非常小的局部患者样本的短期观察。我们对这些患者了解得很少,例如他们先前的呼吸系统健康或合并症,以及这些疾病可能是暂时的还是长期的。

医学主任强调指出,现在还不能确定COVID-19的长期作用。

可靠的信息源是如何建议的?

WHO 报告指出,大约80%的感染者会出现轻度症状,并且无需治疗即可康复,而据认为有些感染者可能完全没有症状。但是,六分之一的人可能会出现呼吸并发症。患有呼吸系统疾病或心血管疾病等健康问题的人预计会处于较高风险中。

世卫组织和英国政府的消息来源强调所有人的感染控制措施和社会隔离。建议弱势群体,包括那些患有慢性肺部疾病(如囊性纤维化,哮喘或COPD)的群体,至少在六月底之前在家自我隔离。建议呼吸困难,咳嗽或发烧的人寻求医疗帮助。

 

引用

1.商业内幕。 香港医生说,一些从冠状病毒中康复的人的肺功能可能会降低“ 20到30%”,并且在他们快速行走时会喘着气。

2.科学警报。 医生说,那些从冠状病毒中恢复的人可能会使肺功能降低

参考文献

  1. 英国肺基金会。 冠状病毒和COVID-19
  2. 英国公共卫生。 屏蔽和保护临床上极易感染COVID-19的人群的指南
  3. 世界卫生组织。 对公众的建议。

People who have recovered from COVID-19 infection are said to be left with 20 to 30% reduced lung function, leaving them struggling for breath when trying to walk.

Such reports are based on very limited research evidence at the moment. They follow observations from 12 patients who were hospitalised with COVID-19 in the first stages of the outbreak in Hong Kong. After recovery “two to three” of the 12 were said to have reduced lung function, while others were said to have lung scans showing changes suggestive of damage.

This is a small number on which to conclude. The latest information from the World Health Organisation shows that over 2.5 million COVID-19 infections have been confirmed worldwide. Many thousands more may have been infected but remain untested, or have recovered without accessing medical attention.

Large scale, ongoing follow-up will be needed to better understand whether COVID-19 is associated with persistent respiratory effects, and how this varies by infection severity or underlying patient characteristics.

Where did the story come from?

The medical director of the Hong Kong Hospital Authority’s Infection Disease Centre reported the observations for 12 patients at a press conference in early March 2020. The current summary is based on a briefing by Business Insider, Australia. The findings were said to be first publicized in the South China Morning Post.

What is the basis for the claim?

This report is brief. The 12 patients were said to be among the first to have recovered and been discharged from hospital earlier this year in Hong Kong.

The medical director of the Hong Kong Hospital Authority reported that “two to three” of 12 saw changes in their lung capacity. He was quoted “they gasp if they walk a bit more quickly” and that “some patients might have around a drop of 20 to 30% lung function after full recovery.” The briefing continues that it was suggested that patients could do cardiovascular exercises to improve their lung capacity over time.

The director further reported that CT scans of nine patients’ lungs (presumed to be nine of the 12) showed “ground glass” patterns. This refers to white patches (opacities) seen on radiological film, which could mean various things like fluid build-up, inflammation or scarring in the lungs. They are recognised as typical CT findings in COVID-19 infection and are part of the “confirmed case” definitions.

Caution needs to be taken when drawing firm conclusions at this stage. These are short-term observations of a very small, localised sample of patients. We know little further about these patients, such as their prior respiratory health or comorbidity, and whether these may be temporary or long-term changes.

The medical director highlighted that it is too early to establish the long-term effects of COVID-19.

What do trusted sources say?

The WHO reports that around 80% of people infected will experience mild symptoms and recover without treatment, while it is thought that some may remain completely asymptomatic. However, 1 in 6 people may develop breathing complications. People with existing health problems like respiratory or cardiovascular disease are expected to be at higher risk.

The WHO and UK government sources emphasise infection control measures and social distancing for all.  Vulnerable groups, including those with chronic lung conditions like cystic fibrosis, asthma or COPD, are advised to self-isolate at home until at least the end of June.  People experiencing breathing difficulties, cough or fever are advised to seek medical attention.

 

Citation

1.     Business Insider. Some people who recover from the coronavirus might be left with ’20 to 30%’ less lung function, and gasping for breath when they walk quickly, Hong Kong doctors said

2.     Science Alert. Those Who Recover From Coronavirus Can Be Left With Reduced Lung Function, Say Doctors

Reading list

  1. British Lung Foundation. Coronovirus and COVID-19
  2. Public Health England. Guidance on shielding and protecting people who are clinically extremely vulnerable from COVID-19
  3. World Health Organisation. Advice for the public.