冠状病毒的典型症状是咳嗽,发烧和呼吸急促,但医生仍在了解COVID-19患者中也可能发生的不常见症状和体征。

自疫情爆发以来,国际上已有许多关于具有COVID-19潜在皮肤表现的个体病例或患者群体的报告。 3月,由400名法国皮肤专家组成的WhatsApp组开始共享信息。前295个帖子包括诸如皮肤损伤,红疹,荨麻疹或雪白之类的报告。但是,尚未系统地收集报告。我们不确定这些人中有多少人已证明COVID-19,或者相反地,有多少人具有COVID-19的皮肤症状。

世界卫生组织,美国疾病控制中心或NHS当前未将皮肤病变列为COVID-19的症状。但是,疾病预防控制中心强调,目前的清单并不包括在内,有任何有关症状的人应寻求医疗救助。

这种说法的来源是什么?

几家报纸和杂志已经报道,皮疹,斑点或冻疮可能是COVID-19的症状。的 每日快报 报告了一个 法国皮肤科医生联合会的《欧洲皮肤病与性病学杂志》。他们创建了一个由400名皮肤科医生组成的WhatsApp小组,以共享有关COVID-19的信息,例如实践变更和远程医疗的使用。大多数帖子涵盖了可能与病毒有关的皮肤症状。

这种说法的依据是什么?

自该小组于3月14日成立以来,已向该小组提交了“全部295宗案件” 截至4月10日。据说大多数(219)是由成员直接报告的,而其他成员则是通过管理员或其他社交媒体网站间接报告的。信中说有146例报告冻疮或冻疮型病变。这些是皮肤发痒,肿胀的区域,通常是在寒冷的天气中引起的。其他149例病例报告有诸如荨麻疹(荨麻疹)或水痘样病变之类的水疱疹。

这封信报告说,WhatsApp组涵盖了在“怀疑或确诊的COVID-19患者”中发现的皮肤病灶。但是,它并没有说报告的295例病例是否经过了COVID-19的检测。即使确诊病例,我们也不能确定所有皮肤损伤都是病毒的直接影响。

还不知道在所有冠状病毒患者中皮肤症状可能有多频繁。除了这封信,全球还出版了其他各种病例报告和病例系列。例如, 另一封信 据报道,在罗马的130例因COVID-19住院的患者中,有2名(1.5%)出现了发痒的水疱性皮疹,而在巴塞罗那的一家医院也发现了类似的患者。因此,皮肤症状可能非常罕见。法国皮肤科医生推测,皮肤病变在感染较轻且不需要医院治疗的人群中可能更为常见。我们不知道情况是否如此。

还值得注意的是,皮疹非常常见,因此,如果有人发现皮疹,这并不意味着他们患有冠状病毒。这样的病例报告可以对重要的诊断线索提供早期警告,但是基于它们的主张将需要进一步量化。

可靠的信息源是如何建议的?

世界卫生组织目前建议:“ COVID-19的最常见症状是发烧,干咳和疲倦。有些患者可能会感到疼痛和疼痛,鼻塞,喉咙痛或腹泻。”英国政府消息来源或美国疾病控制中心也未报告潜在的皮肤症状。但是,如上所述,疾病预防控制中心(CDC)建议人们“就任何严重或与您有关的其他症状”寻求医疗护理。

 

引用

1. Duong,TA等。 Whatsapp®揭示了新的皮肤COVID-19表现吗? J Eur Acad Dermatol Venereol。 2020 Apr 24. doi:10.1111 / jdv.16534。 [Epub提前发布] https://doi.org/10.1111/jdv.16534 (2019年4月29日访问)

参考文献

1.     冠状病毒(COVID-19)的问答。世界卫生组织。

2.疾病预防控制中心。

The classic symptoms of coronavirus are cough, fever and shortness of breath, but doctors are still building an understanding of the less common symptoms and signs that may also occur in people with COVID-19.

Since the outbreak began, there have been various international reports of individual cases or groups of patients with potential skin manifestations of COVID-19. In March, a WhatsApp group of 400 skin specialists in France started to share information.  The first 295 posts included reports such as skin lesions, red rashes, hives or chilblains. However, the reports have not been collected systematically. We do not know for certain how many of these people had proven COVID-19, or conversely how many people with COVID-19 have skin symptoms.

Skin lesions are not currently listed by the World Health Organisation, the US Center for Disease Control or the NHS as symptoms of COVID-19. However, the CDC emphasises that current lists are not inclusive and that people with any concerning symptoms should seek medical attention.

Where did the story come from?

Several newspapers and magazines have reported that rashes, spots or chilblains might be symptoms of COVID-19. The Daily Express reported a letter to the Journal of the European Academy of Dermatology and Venereology, from the French union of dermatologists. They had created a WhatsApp group of 400 dermatologists to share information about COVID-19, such as practice changes and use of telemedicine. Most posts covered skin symptoms that may be associated with the virus.

What is the basis for the claim?

The letter concerned “all 295 cases” submitted to this group since its inception on March 14th up to April 10th. The majority (219) were said to have been reported directly by members, while others were reported indirectly via the administrator or other social media sites. The letter said that 146 cases were reports of chilblains or chilblain-type lesions. These are itchy, swollen areas on the skin that are usually caused by going out in the cold. The other 149 cases included reports of blistering rashes like urticaria (hives) or chickenpox-like lesions.

The letter reported that the WhatsApp group covered posts of skin lesions seen in “suspected or confirmed COVID-19 patients”. However, it does not say whether the 295 cases reported had been tested for COVID-19. Even if they were confirmed cases, we cannot be sure that all skin lesions were a direct effect of the virus.

Neither is it known how frequent skin symptoms may be among all people with coronavirus. Alongside this letter, various other case reports and case series have been published worldwide.  For example, another letter reported that of 130 patients hospitalised with COVID-19 in Rome, two (1.5%) had an itchy blistering rash, while a similar patient was also found in a Barcelona hospital. Therefore, skin symptoms could be quite rare. he French dermatologists speculate that skin lesions might be more common in people with milder infection who do not need hospital treatment. We do not know whether this is the case.

It is also worth noting that skin rashes are very common, so if someone finds a rash this does not automatically mean they have coronavirus.  Case reports such as these can provide an early warning of important diagnostic clues, but claims based on them will need further quantification.

What do trusted sources say?

The World Health Organisation currently advises: “The most common symptoms of COVID-19 are fever, dry cough and tiredness. Some patients may have aches and pains, nasal congestion, sore throat or diarrhoea.” Potential skin symptoms are also not reported by UK government sources or the US Center for Disease Control. However, as above, the CDC advises that people seek medical attention “for any other symptoms that are severe or concerning to you.”

 

Citation

1.     Duong, TA et al. Did Whatsapp® reveal a new cutaneous COVID-19 manifestation? J Eur Acad Dermatol Venereol. 2020 Apr 24. doi: 10.1111/jdv.16534. [Epub ahead of print] https://doi.org/10.1111/jdv.16534 (Accessed 29 April 2019)

Reading list

1.     Q&A on coronaviruses (COVID-19). World Health Organisation.

2.     Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.