许多人可能认为您需要与拥有COVID-19的人直接接触才能感染病毒。但是,COVID-19可能会在表面上持续几天。这一已知事实导致伦敦国王学院将这种误解归类为危险的神话。

2020年2月,一篇综述对全球文献进行了搜索,以找出研究研究了所有已知冠状病毒在塑料或玻璃等无生命表面上的持久性。冠状病毒包括负责源自中国南部的2002年SARS爆发的SARS-CoV,负责2012年中东呼吸综合征的MERS-CoV和这种新的冠状病毒SARS-CoV-2。这些过去对其他冠状病毒的研究表明,它们可以在表面上持续长达9天,但可以通过表面消毒有效去除。

这些数据强调不仅需要表面卫生,而且还需要定期洗手作为关键的感染控制措施。这将保护个人免受可能通过与无生命的表面接触而吸收的病毒的侵害,而且还可以清除可能会传播到他人身上的任何呼吸飞沫(例如,咳嗽和打喷嚏)。

这种说法的来源是什么?

对...的系统评价 无生命表面上冠状病毒的持久性 于2020年2月发表在《医院感染杂志》上。

伦敦国王学院 引用该出版物是为了支持他们对COVID-19仅通过直接与感染者接触而感染的观点进行分类的说法,这是一个危险的神话。

这种说法的依据是什么?

该评论搜索了多达28篇发表的研究 2020年1月关于冠状病毒及其在表面或材料上的持久性和/或因消毒而失活。研究人员确定了22项研究,涵盖SARS-CoV,MERS-CoV和其他人类冠状病毒株(例如HCoV 229E株),这些株通常在人群中传播,引起轻度感冒样症状。

病毒在表面上保留的时间取决于特定病毒,病毒载量,表面类型(例如塑料,玻璃,金属),温度和湿度。例如,HCoV-229E可以在数小时到9天的时间内停留在不同的表面上,并在较高的湿度下具有更大的持久性。已显示SARS-CoV在室温下可在大多数表面上持续约4或5天,而对MERS-CoV的一项分析显示,SARS-CoV在20°C的塑料上可存活48小时,而在30°C的温度可降至8-24小时。他们发现,接触1分钟后,诸如乙醇(78-95%),过氧化氢(0.5%)和次氯酸钠(> 0.21%浓度)的消毒液会灭活冠状病毒。

影响病毒持久性的各种因素使人们很难确切确定COVID-19在不同表面和不同条件下可以存活多长时间。

这些研究共同强调了表面消毒的价值,尤其是共享物品(如超市小推车)和定期洗手的价值。

可靠的信息源是如何建议的?

WHO 建议经常使用肥皂和水或酒精类洗手液彻底清洁双手,以保护自己和他人免受COVID-19侵害。他们还建议,洗手比戴着手套能为您提供更多的保护,因为您仍然可以污染手套,然后将这种污染物转移到您的脸上。

CDC 还建议每天对经常接触的表面进行清洁和消毒。他们建议在使用家用消毒剂之前用肥皂和水清洗(如果表面明显被污染)。

 

引用

  1. Kampf G,Todt D,Pfaender S,Steinmann E. 冠状病毒在无生命表面上的持久性及其杀生物剂的灭活作用。医院感染杂志。 2020年2月6日。
  2. 伦敦国王学院。 博客:揭穿十个最危险的冠状病毒神话.

 

参考文献

  1. 世界卫生组织。 对公众的建议。
  2. 疾病控制中心。 如何保护自己和他人。
  3. 新科学家。 冠状病毒的类型

Many may think you need to be in direct contact with someone who has COVID-19 to catch the virus. But COVID-19 may persist for several days on surfaces. This known fact led Kings College London to classify this misunderstanding as a dangerous myth.

In February 2020 a review searched the global literature to identify studies looking at the persistence of all known coronaviruses on inanimate surfaces like plastic or glass. Coronoviruses include SARS-CoV responsible for the 2002 SARS outbreak originating in southern China, MERS-CoV responsible for the Middle East Respiratory Syndrome of 2012, and SARS-CoV-2, this new coronavirus. These past studies of other coronaviruses show that they can persist on surfaces for up to 9 days but can be effectively removed by surface disinfection.

These data emphasise the need not only for surface hygiene but also regular handwashing as a key infection control measure. This will protect individuals against viruses they may have picked up through contact with inanimate surfaces, but also remove any respiratory droplets they may have on their hands (e.g. from coughing and sneezing) that could transmit the virus to others.

Where did the story come from?

The systematic review on persistence of coronaviruses on inanimate surfaces was published in February 2020 in The Journal of Hospital Infection.

King’s College London cited this publication in support of their classification of the idea that COVID-19 was contracted only through direct contact with an infected person, as a dangerous myth.

What is the basis for the claim?

The review searched for studies published up to 28th January 2020 on coronaviruses and their persistence on surfaces or materials and/or deactivation by disinfection. The researchers identified 22 studies, covering SARS-CoV, MERS-CoV and other human coronavirus strains (e.g. HCoV strain 229E) which commonly circulate among the population causing mild cold-like symptoms.

How long viruses persisted on surfaces depended on the specific virus, viral load, type of surface (e.g. plastic, glass, metal), temperature and humidity. For example HCoV-229E persisted on different surfaces from a few hours to 9 days, with greater persistence at higher humidity. SARS-CoV was shown to persist at room temperature for around 4 or 5 days on most surfaces, while one analysis of MERS-CoV showed it survived on plastic for 48 hours at 20◦C reducing to 8-24 hours at 30◦C. They found that disinfects like ethanol (78-95%), hydrogen peroxide (0.5%) and sodium hypochlorite (>0.21% concentration) inactivated coronavirus after 1 minute contact time.

The various factors influencing viral persistence make it difficult to be certain yet exactly how long COVID-19 may survive on different surfaces and under different conditions.

Together these studies highlight the value of surface disinfection, particularly of shared items, such as supermarket trollies, and of regular handwashing.

What do trusted sources say?

The WHO advises cleaning hands frequently and thoroughly, using soap and water or alcohol-based hand sanitisers as the best way to protect yourself and others against COVID-19. They also advise that handwashing gives you more protection than wearing gloves, as you can still contaminate the gloves, and then transfer this contamination to your face.

CDC also advises daily cleaning and disinfection of frequently-touched surfaces. They suggest cleaning with soap and water (if surfaces are visibly contaminated) prior to use of household disinfectant.

 

Citation

  1. Kampf G, Todt D, Pfaender S, Steinmann E. Persistence of coronaviruses on inanimate surfaces and its inactivation with biocidal agents. Journal of Hospital Infection. 2020 Feb 6.
  2. King’s College London. Blog: The ten most dangerous coronavirus myths debunked.

 

Reading list

  1. World Health Organisation. Advice for the public.
  2. Centers for Disease Control. How to protect yourself and others.
  3. New Scientist. Types of Coronavirus