早期報告顯示,死於COVID-19的男性大約是女性的兩倍。但是為什麼呢?目前,我們不確定。一些可能的解釋是男人和女人的免疫系統之間的差異以及較高的疾病發生率,例如男人的心髒病。

不幸的是,並非每個國家都分別收集男女的COVID-19數據。這使得調查男女之間是否存在真正差異變得更加困難。另外,由於測試的可用性有限,尤其是在社區中,無法知道死亡率的差異是因為獲得COVID-19的男性人數多於女性,還是因為他們更有可能發生嚴重的並發症。

但是,以前的冠狀病毒爆發(例如2002年的SARS)的研究也類似地顯示,男性似乎更容易受到感染的打擊。進行更多的研究將有助於我們了解原因。

 

資訊是從哪裡來的?

報告書 3月中旬開始出現來自世界各地的消息,這表明如果男性感染冠狀病毒,他們更可能患重病和死亡。

BBC未來網站 4月中旬報導了有關為何男女可能受到不同影響的最新理論。

資訊有什麼依據?

最多 最新記錄 全球COVID-19病例和死亡人數表明,男性死於該病毒的可能性似乎比女性高約50%。在34個報告男性與女性相比COVID-19死亡比例的數據的國家中,除2個國家外,所有國家報告的男性死亡比例更高。從伊朗的1.1到1,在多米尼加共和國的3到1。截至2020年4月底的英格蘭和威爾士數據顯示,在19,000例COVID-19死亡中,男性中有60%死亡,男孩或女性中有40%死亡。

在一個 BMJ博客文章 關於這些數字,研究人員說:“有幾種可能的解釋,尤其是數據可能偏斜的可能性。”

但是,正如BMJ作者所暗示的那樣,可能還有另外兩種可能的解釋。男女對感染的免疫系統反應可能有所不同。 以前的研究 發現女性的身體對病毒感染的免疫反應比男性強。但是,鑑於增強的免疫反應與COVID發病風險增加相關,因此這可能無法提供完整的解釋。

另一個可能的解釋是,生活方式風險因素中的性別與健康狀況之間的差異與COVID-19並發症的更大風險相關。例如,吸煙率,心血管疾病,高血壓和COPD的發生率在男性中比女性更普遍。

 

專家意見

世界衛生組織和NHS網站均未提供有關COVID-19是否對男性和女性的影響不同的任何信息。

全球衛生50/50組織該機構正在收集有關COVID-19和性別的信息,他說:“在大流行的這一點上,我們無法就性別在多大程度上影響被診斷患有艾滋病的人的健康結局提供明確的答案。新型冠狀病毒肺炎(COVID-19):新冠肺炎(COVID-19):COVID-19。然而,迄今為止的經驗和證據告訴我們,性別和性別都是感染和疾病風險和反應的重要驅動因素。”

經濟學人智庫醫療保健 分析文章,由利潔時贊助

 

引文

  1. Purdie A等。性別,性別和COVID-19:分類數據和健康差異。 BMJ全球健康博客 https://blogs.bmj.com/bmjgh/2020/03/24/sex-gender-and-covid-19-disaggregated-data-and-health-disparities/ (2020年5月5日訪問)

閱讀清單

  1. 全球健康50/50 COVID-19按性別分類的數據跟踪器。可在 http://globalhealth5050.org/covid19/ (2020年5月5日訪問)

Early reports show that around twice as many men have died from COVID-19 than women. But why is that? At present, we are not sure. Some possible explanations are variations between the immune systems of men and women and higher rates of illness such as heart disease in men.

Unfortunately, not every country is collecting data on COVID-19 separately for men and women. That makes it harder to investigate whether there is a real difference in what happens to men and women. Additionally, with limited availability of testing, particularly in the community, it is not possible to know whether the difference in death rates is because a greater number of men than women acquire COVID-19 or because they are more likely to develop serious complications.

However, research from previous coronavirus outbreaks, such as SARS in 2002, has similarly shown that men seemed more likely to be hard hit by the infection. More research would help us understand why that is.

 

Where did the story come from?

Reports from around the world began to emerge in mid-March to suggest that men were more likely to get seriously ill and die if they were infected with the coronavirus.

The BBC Future website reported in mid-April on current theories about why men and women might be affected differently.

What is the basis for the claim?

The most up-to-date record of global COVID-19 cases and deaths suggests that men appear to be about 50% more likely to die from the virus than women. Of 34 countries reporting data on the ratio of COVID-19 deaths among men compared with women, all but 2 reported a higher ratio of deaths for men. This ranged from only 1.1 to 1 for Iran, to 3 to 1 in the Dominican Republic. Data for England and Wales as of the end of April 2020 shows that among the 19,000 COVID-19 deaths, 60% were in men or boys, and 40% among women or girls.

In a BMJ blog post about the figures, researchers said: “There are several potential explanations, not least is the possibility that the data may be skewed.”

However, as the BMJ authors suggest, there could be two other possible explanations. There could be differences between men and women in the immune system response to infection. Previous research found that women’s bodies mounted a stronger immune response to viral infection than men.  However, this might not provide the whole explanation, given that a heightened immune response has been associated with a greater risk of morbidity in COVID.

Another possible explanation is the difference between genders in lifestyle risk factors and health conditions that are associated with a greater risk of complications of COVID-19. For example, rates of smoking, cardiovascular disease, high blood pressure and COPD tend to be more common in men than women.

 

What do trusted sources say?

Neither the World Health Organisation nor the NHS website has any information about whether COVID-19 affects men and women differently.

The Global Health 50/50 organisation, which is collecting information about COVID-19 and gender, says: “At this point in the pandemic, we are unable to provide a clear answer to the question of the extent to which sex and gender are influencing the health outcomes of people diagnosed with COVID-19. However, experience and evidence thus far tell us that both sex and gender are important drivers of risk and response to infection and disease.”

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

 

Citation

  1. Purdie A et al. Sex, gender and COVID-19: Disaggregated data and health disparities. BMJ Global Health blogs https://blogs.bmj.com/bmjgh/2020/03/24/sex-gender-and-covid-19-disaggregated-data-and-health-disparities/ (Accessed 5 May 2020)

Reading list

  1. Global Health 50/50 COVID-19 sex-disaggregated data tracker. Available at http://globalhealth5050.org/covid19/ (Accessed 5 May 2020)