最近,媒体报道,肥胖者如果感染了冠状病毒,则住院和死亡的风险更高。政府宣布了一项 调查 哪些特征使人处于最大风险。

中国的早期报道并未将肥胖视为危险因素。但是,由于许多原因,超重的人往往会受到呼吸系统疾病的重创。政府 警告人们 肥胖(体重指数为40或更高)的人属于高风险类别。

来自欧洲和美国的研究发现,肥胖者似乎更可能被送往医院或因Covid-19死亡,英国的数据也支持这一观点。我们不知道是肥胖本身就是问题所在,还是肥胖与其他疾病(例如心脏病和糖尿病)之间的联系。

这种说法的来源是什么?

每日邮报 已报告 卫生部长马特·汉考克(Matt Hancock)下令调查COVID-19致死与肥胖之间的联系。的 评论 还将研究种族背景和性别等因素。英国《金融时报》表示,肥胖与COVID-19之间的联系突出了 健康不平等的影响 在英国。

这种说法的依据是什么?

一个 分析 入院英国COVID-19医院的16749名患者发现,与不肥胖的人相比,肥胖与37%的高死亡概率相关。随着年龄的增长,50岁以上的人患病风险增加了四倍以上,肥胖症的中度患病风险增加的程度与其他合并症相似。该报告已作为预印本出版,因此尚未经过同行评审。

一位研究人员在接受BBC 4号电台的世界新闻节目采访时说,其中的一项结果可以通过以下方式得到解释:

  • 更多的肥胖者有其他危险因素,例如高血压或心血管疾病
  • 来自贫困地区的肥胖人群更多,他们可能更容易受到感染
  • 肥胖者由于体内炎症水平较高而更容易受到严重传染病的影响

研究人员在他们的论文中说:“对肥胖(经临床工作人员认可)的认识是,在对其他合并症,年龄和性别进行调整后,肥胖与医院内死亡率相关。 2009年,肥胖被认为是大流行性A / H1N1流感的危险因素,尽管2016年中东呼吸综合征冠状病毒(MERS-CoV)中没有。

一项针对近4000名住院COVID-19患者的研究 纽约 发现肥胖是60岁以下年轻人入院的主要危险因素。 法国 发现需要重症监护的机会随着体重指数的增加而增加。

可靠的信息源是如何建议的?

NHS网站 他说,如果人们“非常肥胖(体重指数(BMI)为40或更高)”,患上冠状病毒的风险就很高,这些人只有在必须购买食物和药品的情况下才应离开家。

分析来源:英国经济学人智库 健康保健部(EIU Healthcare),由利洁时提供支持

 

引用

  1. Docherty AB等。使用ISARIC WHO临床特征分析协议对16749名英国住院的COVID-19患者进行了研究。可在 https://www.medrxiv.org/content/10.1101/2020.04.23.20076042v1 (2020年5月6日访问)

参考文献

  1. 科学媒体中心。专家对预印报告16749例英国COVID-19住院患者的临床特征的反应。 https://www.sciencemediacentre.org/expert-reaction-to-preprint-reporting-clinical-features-of-16749-hospitalised-uk-patients-with-covid-19/ (2020年5月6日访问)

Recently, the media has reported that people who are obese have a higher risk of hospital admission and death if they are infected with the coronavirus. The government has announced an investigation into which characteristics put people at most risk.

Early reports from China did not flag up obesity as a risk factor. However, people who are very overweight tend to be hard hit by respiratory diseases for a number of reasons. The government warned people who were very obese (with a body mass index of 40 or above) that they were in a high risk category.

Studies from Europe and the US have found that people who were obese seemed to be more likely to be admitted to hospital or to die from Covid-19, and figures from the UK back that up. We don’t know if it is obesity itself that is the problem, or links between obesity and other conditions such as heart disease and diabetes.

Where did the story come from?

The Daily Mail reported that health secretary Matt Hancock had ordered an investigation into links between deaths from COVID-19 and obesity. The review will also look at factors such as ethnic background and sex. The Financial Times said that links between obesity and COVID-19 highlighted the impact of health inequalities in the UK.

What is the basis for the claim?

An analysis of 16,749 patients admitted to UK hospitals with COVID-19 found that obesity was linked to a 37% higher probability of dying, compared to people who were not obese. The risk increased more than four-fold with increasing age over 50 and the more moderate increased risk with obesity was similar to that found with other co-morbidities. The report was published as a pre-print so has not been peer-reviewed yet.

Interviewed on BBC Radio 4’s World at One news programme, one of the researchers said that the results could be explained by:

  • more people with obesity having additional risk factors such as high blood pressure or cardiovascular disease
  • more people with obesity being from deprived areas where they might be more vulnerable to infection
  • people with obesity being more vulnerable to severe infectious disease because of higher levels of inflammation in the body

In their paper, the researchers say: “The recognition that obesity (as recognised by clinical staff) is associated with in-hospital mortality after adjustment for other comorbidities, age and sex has not been widely reported. Obesity was recognised as a risk factor in 2009 for the pandemic A/H1N1 influenza, although not in the 2016 Middle East respiratory syndrome coronavirus (MERS-CoV).”

A study of almost 4,000 hospitalised COVID-19 patients in New York found that obesity was the main risk factor for admission to hospital for people younger than 60. A study in France found that the chances of needing intensive care rose along with body mass index.

What do trusted sources say?

The NHS website says that people are at high risk after contracting the coronavirus if they are “very obese (a BMI of 40 or above)” and that these people should only leave their home if essential to buy food and medicine.

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

 

Citation

  1. Docherty AB et al. Features of 16,749 hospitalised UK patients with COVID-19 using the ISARIC WHO Clinical Characterisation Protocol. Available at https://www.medrxiv.org/content/10.1101/2020.04.23.20076042v1 (Accessed 6 May 2020)

Reading list

  1. Science Media Centre. Expert reaction to preprint reporting clinical features of 16,749 hospitalised UK patients with COVID-19. https://www.sciencemediacentre.org/expert-reaction-to-preprint-reporting-clinical-features-of-16749-hospitalised-uk-patients-with-covid-19/ (Accessed 6 May 2020)