通常,儿童往往只受到新型冠状病毒的轻度感染。但是,最近的新闻报道描述了与COVID-19相关的儿童罕见和潜在的严重炎症综合症,据报道在至少六个国家中发现了100例。

据说该综合征与其他血管和其他器官的小儿炎症反应具有共同特征,例如川崎病和中毒性休克综合征。

英国皇家儿科与儿童健康学院(RCPCH)建议医生提防患有高温,低血压和其他炎症迹象(如腺体肿胀或皮疹)的孩子。

重要的是要强调,这种综合症虽然很严重,但却非常罕见。 RCPCH主席Russell Viner教授, :“应该让父母放心,孩子不太可能因[COVID-19]患重病,但是如果他们出于任何原因担心自己孩子的健康,则应该寻求卫生专业人员的帮助。”

这种说法的来源是什么?

监护人 在英国,有媒体报道了这种“非同寻常的综合症”,该报道称,截至2020年4月,英国有19名儿童受到影响,但没有死亡。他们说,案件也在接受调查 我们,法国,意大利,西班牙和瑞士。

这种说法的依据是什么?

一个 英国医学杂志 社论报道 紧急警报 来自英国NHS的信息于4月底在小儿重症监护协会发了推文。这警告说,患有当前或最近的冠状病毒感染的儿童数量正在增加,他们被接受了重症监护,患有炎症(一种极端的免疫系统反应),会影响身体的多个系统。

孩子们的特征与 中毒性休克综合征 (对细菌感染的严重身体反应)和 川崎病 (未知原因的血管发炎)。除发烧外,儿童经常有心脏发炎的征兆,有的则有腹部症状(例如胃痛,呕吐和腹泻)。 NHS英格兰说:“越来越多的人担心在英国的儿童中会出现SARS-CoV-2相关的炎症综合症,或者与这些病例有关的另一种尚未确认的[感染]。”

各种专家都有 回应 这些报告。 BMJ引用了埃克塞特大学的儿科传染病专家Adilia Wallis教授的话,他解释说这些综合征是由于免疫系统过度反应引起的。这会影响多个身体系统,导致血管渗漏,降低血压并损坏器官。

但是,专家警告说:“请注意,这些案例的绝对数量非常少,目前很少。打电话询问其他同事在过去一周中是否有可比较的经验,这样我们就可以确定发生了什么。”

可靠的信息源是如何建议的?

英国的 皇家儿科学与儿童健康学院 已向医生发布了指南,内容包括寻找和治疗与COVID-19相关的小儿多系统炎症综合症。

他们建议医生应该对患有持续发烧(> 38.5°C),低血压,需要氧气以及其他可疑迹象的儿童(例如腹部症状,皮疹,淋巴结肿胀或血液检查显示凝血异常)进行怀疑。或白细胞增加。

他们建议进行调查以排除其他传染病原因,但是这不应该延迟转介专家和治疗,如果需要的话,应迅速接受重症监护。

分析来源:英国经济学人智库 健康保健部(EIU Healthcare),由利洁时提供支持

 

引用

1.      Covid-19:人们对儿童出现的炎症综合症越来越担心。 BMJ 2020; 369:m1710

参考文献

1.皇家儿科学与儿童健康学院。 指南–暂时与COVID-19相关的小儿多系统炎性综合征.

In general, children tend to be only mildly affected by the novel coronavirus. However, recent news reports have described a rare and potentially serious inflammatory syndrome in children that has been linked with COVID-19, with 100 cases reportedly identified in at least six countries.

The syndrome is said to share features with other paediatric inflammatory reactions of the blood vessels and other organs, such as Kawasaki disease and toxic shock syndrome.

The UK’s Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health (RCPCH) has advised doctors to be alert to children presenting with high temperature, low blood pressure and other signs of inflammation such as swollen glands or rash.

It is important to highlight that this syndrome, although serious, is very rare. Professor Russell Viner, president of the RCPCH, has said: ‘Parents should be reassured that children are unlikely to be seriously ill with [COVID-19] but if they are concerned about their children’s health for any reason, they should seek help from a health professional.’

Where did the story come from?

The Guardian in the UK are among media outlets to have reported on this ‘unusual syndrome’ saying that 19 children in the UK had been affected as of the end of April 2020, but there had been no deaths. They said that cases were also being investigated in the US, France, Italy, Spain and Switzerland.

What is the basis for the claim?

A BMJ editorial reported on an urgent alert from NHS England tweeted by the Paediatric Intensive Care Society at the end of April. This warned of a rising number of children with a current or recent coronavirus infection, being admitted to intensive care with inflammation (an extreme immune system response) affecting multiple systems of the body.

The children’s features were similar to those seen in toxic shock syndrome (a severe bodily reaction to a bacterial infection) and Kawasaki disease (inflammation of the blood vessels of unknown cause).  As well as fever, children often had signs of inflammation of the heart and some had abdominal symptoms (such as stomach pain, vomiting and diarrhoea). NHS England said, ‘There is a growing concern that a SARS-CoV-2 related inflammatory syndrome is emerging in children in the UK or that there may be another yet unidentified [infection] associated with these cases.’

Various experts have responded to these reports. The BMJ quoted paediatric infectious diseases specialist Professor Adilia Wallis from the University of Exeter, who explained that these syndromes are caused by an excessive reaction of the immune system. This affects multiple bodily systems, causing blood vessels to leak, lowering blood pressure and damaging organs.

The specialist, however, cautioned ‘Please do consider that the absolute number of those cases are very low, a handful at the moment. The call to ask if other colleagues have comparable experiences over the past week is so we are able to define what is going on.’

What do trusted sources say?

The UK’s Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health has issued guidance for doctors on what to look for and how to manage this paediatric multisystem inflammatory syndrome associated with COVID-19.

They advise that doctors should suspect the syndrome in children presenting with persistent fever (>38.5°C), low blood pressure, needing oxygen, and with other suspicious signs such as abdominal symptoms, rash, lymph node swelling, or blood tests showing abnormal clotting or increased white blood cells.

They advise carrying out investigations to rule out other infectious disease causes, but that this should not delay referral to specialists and treatment with prompt admission to intensive care if needed.

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

 

Citation

1.      Covid-19: concerns grow over inflammatory syndrome emerging in children. BMJ 2020;369:m1710

Reading list

1.      Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health. Guidance – Paediatric multisystem inflammatory syndrome temporally associated with COVID-19.