在线邮件的一份报告质疑DNA是否会“推动死于冠状病毒的年轻人的崛起”。他们认为,某些“遗传性“错误””可能“使一些没有基本条件的人容易感染该病毒”。

尽管标题令人恐惧,但年轻人中COVID-19的死亡并不常见。在没有潜在健康状况的人中,它们特别少见,但确实有这种情况。美国洛克菲勒大学(Rockefeller University)的研究人员正在从这些稀有个体中收集DNA,以研究特定的基因突变是否可以解释为什么它们易感。

到目前为止,这项研究尚未完成,可能需要花费数月的时间。尽管只有少数人可能是由特定的遗传原因引起的,但此类研究有助于我们了解人体对COVID-19的反应。从长远来看,希望这种理解将帮助我们找到保护或治疗COVID-19的方法。

这种说法的来源是什么?

邮件 在线媒体已经发表了一篇文章,报道健康的年轻人患重症,冠状病毒和其DNA的死亡可能与他们之间存在联系。报告CDC数据表明,住院的冠状病毒患者中接近40%是年轻或中年成年人。

 

这种说法的依据是什么?

邮件的标题谈论的是“死于冠状病毒的年轻人的上升”,但他们的文章实际上并未提供有关年轻人死亡的任何数字。

他们似乎引用的CDC报告提供了2月12日以来美国不同年龄组的住院率,重症监护率和死亡人数 到3月16日。

在这些数据中,很明显,老年人的情况比年轻人差。 65岁及以上的人仅占三分之一的病例(31%),但约占80%的死亡人数。 COVID-19的20-54岁成年人中的死亡率低于1%,但随着年龄的增长,在85岁及以上的人群中死亡率增加到10%至27%之间。许多死亡的年轻人将有潜在的健康状况。

但是,正如《在线邮件》所指出的那样,在极少数情况下,尽管没有任何潜在的疾病,但年轻的成年人仍患有COVID-19的严重疾病。在这些罕见且无法解释的情况下,洛克菲勒大学的研究人员希望研究这些个体是否携带特定的基因突变,这可能解释了他们为何如此病态。

让-洛朗·卡萨诺瓦教授(Jean-Laurent Casanova)领导的研究小组研究了他们所谓的“免疫力的先天性失误”,即影响人抵抗特定感染能力的遗传变异。他们以前已经确定了遗传变异,这些变异使人们容易患上严重的流感并发症。

他们现在 与国际同事合作 收集和分析以前受COVID-19严重影响的健康年轻人的DNA。该联盟还在寻找可以保护人们免受COVID-19侵害的遗传变异。

 

可靠的信息源是如何建议的?

到目前为止,我们还没有关于一个人的DNA如何影响他们对冠状病毒的敏感性以及如果被其感染会受到多大影响的答案。但是,存在联系似乎是合理的,许多国际组织正在聚在一起研究这种可能性,以期希望它能帮助我们战胜这种疾病。

例如, 英国生物银行 该项目从2006年至2010年从英国各地招募了50万年龄在40-69岁之间的人。他们计划在这些参与者中收集有关冠状病毒感染的更多数据,并提供给专家研究。

分析来源:英国经济学人智库 健康保健部(EIU Healthcare),由利洁时提供支持

 

引用

  1. 在线邮件。 DNA是否会导致死于冠状病毒的年轻人的成长?可在: https://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-8202047/Some-young-people-fall-severely-ill-coronavirus-DNA.html 2020年5月11日访问。

参考文献

  1. 发病率和死亡率每周报告(MMWR)。可在: https://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/volumes/69/wr/mm6912e2.htm?s_cid=mm6912e2_w 2020年5月11日访问。
  2. 洛克菲勒大学。科学造福人类。可在: https://www.rockefeller.edu/our-scientists/heads-of-laboratories/970-jean-laurent-casanova/ 2020年5月11日访问。
  3. 科学家。 DNA可以为COVID-19的不同严重程度提供线索。可在: https://www.the-scientist.com/news-opinion/dna-could-hold-clues-to-varying-severity-of-covid-19-67435 2020年5月访问。

A Mail Online report has questioned whether DNA could be “driving the rise of young adults dying of coronavirus”. They suggest that some “genetic ‘errors’” could “make some people with no underlying conditions vulnerable to the virus”.

Despite the scary headline, deaths from COVID-19 in younger adults are uncommon. They are particularly rare among those who have no underlying health conditions, but there have been cases. Researchers from the Rockefeller University in the US are collecting DNA from these rare individuals to investigate whether specific genetic mutations could explain why they were susceptible.

As yet this research is not complete and could take many months. While only a few people might have a specific genetic cause for their susceptibility, studies such as this help us to understand how our bodies respond to COVID-19. In the long run, it is hoped that this understanding will help us work out ways to protect or treat people with COVID-19.

Where did the story come from?

The Mail Online is amongst the media outlets to have published an article reporting that there may be a link between healthy young people getting severely ill and dying of coronavirus and their DNA. It reports CDC data that suggests that nearly 40% of hospitalized coronavirus patients are young or middle-aged adults.

 

What is the basis for the claim?

The Mail’s headline talks about a “rise in young adults dying of coronavirus” but their article doesn’t actually give any figures on deaths in young adults.

The CDC report they appear to be quoting gives rates of hospitalisation, admission to intensive care, and deaths among different age groups in the US from February 12th to March 16th.

In these data, it is clear that older adults fare worse than younger ones. Those aged 65 and over accounted for only around a third of cases (31%) but around 80% of deaths. The rate of death among adults aged 20-54 years with COVID-19 was less than 1% but increased with age to between 10% and 27% in those aged 85 years and over. Many younger adults who die will have had underlying health conditions.

However, as the Mail Online points out, there are rare cases where younger adults have been severely ill with COVID-19 despite not having any underlying conditions. In these rare and unexplained cases, researchers from the Rockefeller University want to look at whether the individuals carry specific genetic mutations that might explain why they got so sick.

The team led by Professor Jean-Laurent Casanova study what they call “inborn errors of immunity”, which are the genetic variations that affect a person’s ability to fight off a specific infection. They have previously identified genetic changes that make people susceptible to severe complications of influenza for example.

They are now working with international colleagues to collect and analyse DNA from previously healthy young adults who have been severely affected by COVID-19. The consortium is also looking for genetic variations which might protect people from COVID-19.

 

What do trusted sources say?

As yet we don’t have the answers about how a person’s DNA might influence their susceptibility to coronavirus, and how severely they are affected if they do catch it. However, it is plausible that there is a link, and many international groups are coming together to study the possibility in the hope that it will help us to defeat the disease.

For example, the UK Biobank is a project which recruited 500,000 people aged between 40-69 years from across the UK between 2006 and 2010. They are planning to collect additional data on coronavirus infections among these participants and make it available to study by experts.

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

 

Citation

  1. The Mail Online. Is DNA responsible for the rise of young adults dying of coronavirus? Available at: https://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-8202047/Some-young-people-fall-severely-ill-coronavirus-DNA.html Accessed 11 May 2020.

Reading list

  1. Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR). Available at: https://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/volumes/69/wr/mm6912e2.htm?s_cid=mm6912e2_w Accessed 11 May 2020.
  2. The Rockefeller University. Science for the benefit of humanity. Available at: https://www.rockefeller.edu/our-scientists/heads-of-laboratories/970-jean-laurent-casanova/ Accessed 11 May 2020.
  3. The Scientist. DNA could hold clues to varying severity of COVID-19. Available at: https://www.the-scientist.com/news-opinion/dna-could-hold-clues-to-varying-severity-of-covid-19-67435 Accessed May 2020.