医生报告说在COVID-19中有一种不寻常的现象,患者的血氧含量极低,但没有呼吸困难。这被描述为“沉默的低氧”或“低氧血症” –意味着低血氧。

呼吸困难的缺乏意味着低氧水平可能直到患者重病才被发现。接受COVID-19住院治疗的人可能需要监测氧气水平,并且医院外使用医院级脉搏血氧仪的机会越来越多。但是,重要的是,这些测试所提供的任何保证都不得延迟或阻止适当的医疗护理。

低氧血症通常发生在肺部气囊的损坏和发炎,意味着它们无法将氧气转移到小毛细血管中时。这使人呼吸更快以尝试获取更多的氧气。但是,尽管许多COVID-19患者报告呼吸困难,但其他人却没有。

许多呼吸急促且疑似COVID-19的人将在医院外使用脉搏血氧仪测量其血氧。疗养院,疗养院和救护车服务通常都在存放这些设备。但是,没有证据表明智能手机应用程序或健身追踪器足以达到此目的。

这种说法的来源是什么?

沉默低氧或低氧血症的现象首先在来自 中国,尽管研究并未表明这是多么普遍。此后, 英国的医生其他欧洲国家.

这种说法的依据是什么?

来自医生的一封信 中国 讨论了168例死于21岁之间的COVID-19的患者的特征和治疗 和30 2020年1月在武汉的21家医院中进行。他们的平均年龄为70岁,而75%存在潜在的健康问题。据报道所有168位患者在住院期间都接受了氧气治疗,但是:

  • 27%仅通过面罩或鼻导管接收氧气
  • 43%接受无创正压通气
  • 插管20%并接受机械通气

该报告说,这可能是由于呼吸机不足或“某些严重低氧血症患者没有其他症状,例如呼吸急促,也称为无症状低氧血症”。

另一个 社论 在《重症监护医学》(Intensive Care Medicine)杂志中描述了COVID-19肺炎如何是“特定疾病”,其中严重的低氧血症与接近正常的呼吸顺应性(肺部扩张和吸收空气的能力)有关-在急性期通常不常见呼吸窘迫综合征。这些患者可能呼吸正常。

一个 《英国麻醉学杂志》的一篇文章从航空医学中吸取了教训,并提出了沉默低氧血症的综合征可能是因为二氧化碳与氧气一样低,而氧气通常是血液二氧化碳,通常会导致呼吸困难。

一些 媒体 建议患有COVID-19症状的人在家中应监测其氧气水平,并建议购买脉搏血氧仪。尽管FitBits和智能手机可以监控氧气含量,但是 评论 表明智能设备上的这些监视器不够准确,无法用于此目的。

可靠的信息源是如何建议的?

WHO 建议“如果您有轻微症状,例如仅轻微咳嗽或轻度发烧,则通常无需寻求医疗”。他们建议这些人呆在家里,监视他们的症状,并遵循有关自我隔离的国家指导。

世界卫生组织建议,如果人们呼吸困难,疼痛或胸闷,应立即就医。

分析来源:英国经济学人智库 健康保健部(EIU Healthcare),由利洁时提供支持

 

引用

  1. 谢J,童Z,关X,杜B,邱H.2019年中国死于冠状病毒病的患者的临床特征。 JAMA网络公开赛。 2020; 3(4):e205619。 doi:10.1001 / jamanetworkope

参考文献

  1. Gattinoni,L.,Chiumello,D.,Caironi,P.等。 COVID-19肺炎:针对不同表型的不同呼吸疗法?重症监护医学(2020)。 https://doi.org/10.1007/s00134-020-06033-2
  2. Ottestadt W等。 COVID-19呼吸衰竭患者:我们可以从航空医学中学到什么?英国麻醉学杂志(通讯)。发布时间:2020年4月18日DOI:https://doi.org/10.1016/j.bja.2020.04.012

Doctors are reporting an unusual phenomenon in COVID-19, where patients have critically low levels of blood oxygen, but no breathlessness. This has been described as ‘silent hypoxia’ or ‘hypoxaemia’ – meaning low blood oxygen.

The lack of breathing difficulties means low oxygen levels may not be spotted until the patient is seriously ill. People hospitalised with COVID-19 are likely to have oxygen levels monitored, and there is increasing access to hospital grade pulse oximeters outside of hospital. However, it is important that any reassurance offered by these tests does not delay or prevent appropriate medical attention.

Hypoxaemia usually occurs when damage and inflammation to the air sacs in the lungs mean they are not able to transfer oxygen into the small blood capillaries. This makes the person breathe faster to try and get more oxygen. However, while many people with COVID-19 report breathing difficulties, others do not.

Many people with breathlessness and suspected COVID-19 will have their blood oxygen measured with a pulse oximeter out of hospital. Rest homes, nursing homes and ambulance services usually stock these devices. However, there is no evidence to say that smart phone apps or fitness trackers are accurate enough for this purpose.

Where did the story come from?

The phenomenon of silent hypoxia or hypoxaemia was first reported in studies from China, although the studies did not indicate how common this was. It has since been noticed by doctors in the UK and other European countries.

What is the basis for the claim?

A letter published by doctors from China discussed the characteristics and treatment of 168 patients who died of COVID-19 between 21st and 30th January 2020 across 21 hospitals in Wuhan. Their average age was 70 years and 75% had underlying health problems. All 168 were reported to have received oxygen while in hospital but:

  • 27% received oxygen via face mask or nasal cannula only
  • 43% received non-invasive positive pressure ventilation
  • 20% were intubated and received mechanical ventilation

The report said this could be because of insufficient ventilators, or because ‘some patients with severe hypoxemia did not have other symptoms, such as shortness of breath, also called silent hypoxemia.’

Another editorial in the journal Intensive Care Medicine described how COVID-19 pneumonia is ‘a specific disease’ where there can be severe hypoxemia associated with near normal respiratory compliance (the ability of the lungs to expand and take in air) – something not normally seen in acute respiratory distress syndromes. Such patients may be breathing quite normally.

A letter to the British Journal of Anaesthesia draws lessons from aviation medicine and suggests that the syndrome of silent hypoxaemia could be because carbon dioxide is low as well as oxygen – when it is high blood carbon dioxide that usually causes breathlessness.

Some media have suggested that people with COVID-19 symptoms should monitor their oxygen levels at home and suggest purchasing a pulse oximeter. Although FitBits and smartphones can monitor oxygen levels, a review has shown that these monitors on smart devices are not accurate enough to be used for this purpose.

What do trusted sources say?

The WHO advises that ‘if you have minor symptoms, such as only a slight cough or a mild fever, ‘there is generally no need to seek medical care’. They advise such people to stay at home, monitor their symptoms, and follow national guidance on self-isolation.

The WHO advises that people get medical attention immediately if they have any breathing difficulties or pain or pressure in the chest.

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

 

Citation

  1. Xie J, Tong Z, Guan X, Du B, Qiu H. Clinical Characteristics of Patients Who Died of Coronavirus Disease 2019 in China. JAMA Netw Open. 2020;3(4):e205619. doi:10.1001/jamanetworkope

Reading list

  1. Gattinoni, L., Chiumello, D., Caironi, P. et al. COVID-19 pneumonia: different respiratory treatments for different phenotypes?. Intensive Care Med (2020). https://doi.org/10.1007/s00134-020-06033-2
  2. Ottestadt W et al. COVID-19 patients with respiratory failure: what can we learn from aviation medicine? British Journal of Anaesthesia (correspondence). Published: April 18, 2020 DOI:https://doi.org/10.1016/j.bja.2020.04.012