科学家提出了一种可能性,那就是COVID-19不会像普通流感那样在每个冬天消失,而是会在每个冬天回来。

在由新病毒引起的一些近期呼吸道疾病(如2002年的SARS和2012年的MERS)在受到季节性感染之前已得到控制。随着感染人数的减少,可以快速识别并隔离带有这种病毒的人,从而防止人与人之间的传播。

COVID-19的一个问题是,许多携带病毒的人有轻微或很少的症状,并且据认为,如果没有安全地隔开一个人,该病毒可能会感染另外三个无法免疫的人。这意味着该病毒可以传播给许多人,而无需他们意识到。

我们尚不知道大流行以后会发生什么。由于严格的社会疏离措施,现在的病例数正在减少。科学家无法预测放松这些措施后会发生什么,但是这种病毒可能会持续数年。

这种说法的来源是什么?

多家媒体 已报告 中国科学家在4月27日的简报中说,中国医学科学院病原生物学研究所所长金琦说:“这很可能是与人类长期共存的流行病,变成季节性,并在人体中维持。”

这种说法的依据是什么?

中国科学家说,他们的测试活动发现许多人携带SARS-CoV-2病毒,该病毒导致没有症状的COVID-19。

哈佛医学院的研究人员模拟了该病毒在未来5年内传播的几种可能方式。他们使用有关两种引起普通感冒的冠状病毒的数据作为模型,以及到目前为止我们有关SARS-CoV-2的信息。

他们发现,很大程度上取决于感染这种病毒的人能够免疫多长时间。免疫可能会持续长达40周(与普通感冒冠状病毒一样),或者可能持续更长时间。如果免疫力只有40周,那么每年爆发的可能性就更大。

暴发的规模还取决于一年中什么时候开始暴发,秋季的暴发可能导致更高的感染高峰。模式将取决于寒冷和温暖的天气对疾病的影响程度。研究人员预测,如果找不到有效的治疗方法或疫苗,则可能需要采取间歇性的社会隔离措施,直到2022年,以避免对卫生服务的压倒性需求。他们预测,“第一次SARS-COV2冬季暴发可能会在第一次大流行之后发生”。

重要的是要意识到所有这些研究都有潜在的不确定性。除非我们知道某些缺失的信息(例如免疫力持续多长时间),否则我们无法真正准确地预测未来会发生什么。

可靠的信息源是如何建议的?

目前尚无关于如何为北半球冬季暴发做准备的公众建议。尽管其他国家/地区可能会很快有数据通知我们。

疾病控制中心 在美国已经表示,目前尚不清楚天气和温度是否会影响COVID-19的传播。他们补充说:“还有更多的信息可以了解与COVID-19相关的可传播性,严重性和其他功能,并且调查正在进行中”。

分析来源:英国经济学人智库 健康保健部(EIU Healthcare),由利洁时提供支持

 

引用

  1. Kissler S等。预测大流行后期间SARS-Cov-2的传播动态。科学2020 10.1126 / science.abb5793

参考文献

  1. 中国顶尖科学家说,这种病毒每年都有可能再次流行。彭博社 https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2020-04-28/virus-is-here-to-stay-and-likely-seasonal-say-china-scientists (2020年5月13日访问)

Scientists have raised the possibility that COVID-19 will not be wiped out but will come back every winter, as influenza usually does.

Some recent respiratory diseases caused by novel viruses, such as SARS in 2002 and MERS in 2012, have been contained before they become seasonal. With fewer people infected it has been possible to identify and isolate people with the virus quickly, so preventing spread from person to person.

One problem with COVID-19 is that many people carrying the virus have had mild or few symptoms, and it is thought that without safe distancing one person with the virus can infect about three others who are not immune. That means the virus can pass to many people without them realising it.

We do not yet know what will happen later in this pandemic. Numbers of cases are reducing now because of strict social distancing measures. Scientists can’t predict what will happen after those measures are eased, but it is possible the virus will be around for years to come.

Where did the story come from?

Several media outlets reported a briefing given by Chinese scientists on 27 April, where Jin Qi, director of the Institute of Pathogen Biology at the Chinese Academy of Medical Sciences, said: “This is very likely to be an epidemic that co-exists with humans for a long time, becomes seasonal and is sustained within human bodies.”

What is the basis for the claim?

The Chinese scientists said their testing campaigns had discovered many people carrying the SARS-CoV-2 virus which causes COVID-19, who did not have symptoms.

Researchers from Harvard Medical School have modelled several possible ways in which the virus could spread over the next 5 years. They used data about two coronaviruses which cause the common cold as a model, plus the information we have so far about SARS-CoV-2.

They found that much depends on how long people who have had the virus remain immune to it. Immunity could last for as little as 40 weeks (as in the common cold coronaviruses) or could be longer-lasting. If immunity is only 40 weeks, then yearly outbreaks are more likely.

The size of outbreaks will also depend on what time of the year the outbreak starts, with outbreaks in autumn likely to lead to higher peaks in infection. The pattern will depend on the degree to which the disease is affected by colder and warmer weather. The researchers predict that, if effective treatments or a vaccine can’t be found, then intermittent social distancing measures could be needed until 2022 to avoid overwhelming demand on health services. They predict that “recurrent wintertime outbreaks of SARS-COV2 will probably occur” after the first pandemic wave.

It’s important to be aware that all these studies have underlying uncertainties. Until we know some of the missing information – such as how long any immunity lasts – we can’t really predict accurately what will happen in the future.

What do trusted sources say?

There is currently no advice for the public about how to prepare for winter outbreaks in the northern hemisphere. Though it is possible that other countries will have data to inform us soon.

The Center for Disease Control in the US has said that it is not yet known whether the weather and temperature will affect the spread of COVID-19. They add “there is much more to learn about the transmissibility, severity, and other features associated with COVID-19 and investigations are ongoing”.

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

 

Citation

  1. Kissler S et al. Projecting the transmission dynamics of SARS-Cov-2 through the postpandemic period. Science 2020 10.1126/science.abb5793

Reading list

  1. Virus Likely to Keep Coming Back Each Year, Say Top Chinese Scientists. Bloomberg https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2020-04-28/virus-is-here-to-stay-and-likely-seasonal-say-china-scientists (Accessed 13 May 2020)