關於航空旅行的一個普遍誤解是,如果一個人在飛機上生病,那麼其他所有乘客都會生病,因為他們呼吸的是同一種空氣。相反,由於過濾器和空氣交換,與其他許多密閉空間相比,在飛機上捕獲空中物體的風險較低。

在大多數商用飛機上,空氣通過醫院級的HEPA過濾器(高效顆粒過濾器)循環,該過濾器可去除99%的細菌以及攜帶病毒的空氣傳播顆粒(小滴等)。在現代飛機上,空中系統每小時大約發生15至30次變化,或者每2至4分鐘發生一次變化,這比辦公室,電影院或教室中的變化更為頻繁。

此外,機艙被劃分為獨立的通風區域(大約每三至七排座位),這意味著乘客僅與周圍環境的乘客共享空氣,而不與向後或向前咳嗽十排的乘客共享空氣。

為了使細菌通過飛機上的咳嗽和打噴嚏在人與人之間傳播,人們必須非常靠近生病的乘客,通常要坐兩排,坐很長時間,以增加患病的機會。

應當指出,空氣質量的一個缺點是其乾燥。空氣相對乾燥,濕度約為12%。這主要是水分含量低的高海拔巡航的副產品。空氣雖然乾淨,但乾燥對鼻竇不利,並且可以破壞粘液屏障,使其更容易感染。

飛行時撿拾蟲子的最常見方法是接觸受污染的表面,如桌子,洗手間門以及高架垃圾箱,扶手等上可能含有病菌的閂鎖。如概述 WHO,請使用含酒精的洗手液並經常用肥皂和水洗手,以保護自己。

Narendra Saini博士
德里醫學委員會主席科學委員會
IMA-EDB電暈委員會

 

閱讀清單

  1. 面向公眾的冠狀病毒病(COVID-19)建議。 WHO https://www.who.int/emergencies/diseases/novel-coronavirus-2019/advice-for-public

A common myth about air travel is that if one person is sick on an airplane, all other passengers will get sick because they’re breathing the same air. On the contrary, the risk of catching something airborne on a plane is lower than in many other confined spaces because of the filters and air exchanges.

On most commercial aircraft, air is circulated through hospital-grade HEPA filters (High-Efficiency Particle Filters), which remove 99 percent of bacteria, as well as the airborne particles that carry viruses (Droplets etc). On modern aircraft, there are changes in the air system approximately 15 to 30 times per hour, or once every two to four minutes, which is far more frequent than in offices, movie theatres, or classrooms.

Additionally, cabins are divided into separate ventilation sections (about every three to seven rows of seats), which means that a passenger shares air only with those in immediate environment and not with the passenger who’s coughing up ten rows back or front.

For germs to be passed from person to person through coughs and sneezes in airplanes, one needs to be sitting very close to a sick passenger, usually within two rows and for a long period of time to increase the chances of contracting an illness.

It should be noted that one drawback of air quality is its dryness. Air is relatively dry with around 12 percent humidity. This is chiefly a by-product of cruising at high-altitudes, where moisture content is low. While the air is clean, the dryness is bad for sinuses and can break down mucous barriers, making it easier to catch infection.

The most common way to pick up a bug when flying is from touching contaminated surfaces—tray tables, lavatory doors, and latches on overhead bins, armrests etc which may contain germs. As outlined by the WHO, protect yourself by using an alcohol-based hand sanitizer and washing hands frequently with soap and water.

Dr Narendra Saini
Chairman Scientific Committee, Delhi Medical Council
IMA-EDB Corona Committee

 

Reading list

  1. Coronavirus disease (COVID-19) advice for the public. WHO https://www.who.int/emergencies/diseases/novel-coronavirus-2019/advice-for-public