最近的視頻動畫表明,可以安全地停下來與兩米遠的人交談,並與他們在相同距離處並排行走或奔跑。但是,由於它們的運動,咳嗽飛沫可以到達它們後面四米的距離。

建議進行身體疏遠,也稱為社交疏遠,因為冠狀病毒主要通過人咳嗽或打噴嚏時排出的呼吸道飛沫傳播。對其他呼吸道病毒(例如流感)的研究表明,這些大液滴在1到2米內掉到了地面上。冠狀病毒非常小,有證據表明它也可能以氣溶膠形式在空氣中停留更長時間,並可能進一步傳播。但是,這或跑步的運動是否意味著該諮詢距離需要修改?

可能不需要所有人都更改距離,但是跑步者應該與其他人保持距離。

資訊是從哪裡來的?

太陽 在媒體上展示了液滴傳播的動畫,他們將其描述為“恐怖的視頻”。該視頻本身據說是由 安思,一家美國的技術公司。

資訊有什麼依據?

動畫顯示兩個跑步者彼此靠近。它顯示了一個人咳嗽或打噴嚏時不同大小的呼吸滴的下落。下列行為被稱為“更安全”的行為;

  • 談話距離為1.5米-呼吸液滴緊密落在人周圍
  • 以每小時4公里的速度快走或慢跑,但相距2米-水滴落在人後的雲朵中
  • 快走或慢跑(以4 km / h的速度)在相距2米的交錯編隊中–水滴不會掉入您的路徑中。

但是,據說呆在快走,慢跑或跑步的人後面的空間並不安全。動畫顯示了不同大小的液滴的擴散,最細的顆粒在空中的懸掛時間最長。

值得注意的是,尚未對不同大小的飛沫的感染力進行建模,並且該視頻並非針對冠狀病毒,而僅針對咳嗽後被逐出的飛沫。

先前的研究已經研究了氣溶膠的傳播 流感。這項研究解釋說,較大的呼吸液滴會在1-2米內沉澱到地面,但是較小的顆粒(直徑小於5微米)可以在空氣中停留更長的時間。總體而言,關於呼吸道感染(尤其是冠狀病毒)中飛沫和氣霧傳播以及傳染性的相對貢獻的證據很少。

同樣值得一提的是,該視頻基於一個假設的跑步者,他正在咳嗽或打噴嚏,沒有像建議的那樣用手或肘遮住嘴/鼻子。

專家意見

WHO  建議COVID-19主要通過鼻子或嘴上的小液滴傳播,當COVID-19的人咳嗽,打噴嚏或說話時,這些小液滴會被排出……這些小液滴相對較重,不會傳播很遠,不會迅速沉入地面…這就是為什麼與他人保持至少1米的距離很重要的原因。”

美國疾病預防控制中心(CDC)同樣建議,COVID-19會在彼此接近的人(約6英尺內)之間傳播。但是,他們確實注意到,該病毒似乎比流感更有效地傳播,但效率不如麻疹。

世衛組織表示,他們正在繼續研究COVID-19的傳播方式,並將據此進行更新。

經濟學人智庫醫療保健 分析文章,由利潔時贊助

 

閱讀清單

  1. Cowling BJ,Ip DK等。 氣溶膠傳播是甲型流感病毒傳播的重要方式。自然交流。 2013年6月4日; 4:1935。
  2. 冠狀病毒(COVID-19)的問答.
  3. COVID-19如何傳播.

A recent video animation suggests that it is safe to stop and talk to someone at a distance of two metres and to walk or run alongside them at the same distance. But that because of their movement, cough droplets can reach out to a possible distance of four metres behind them.

Physical distancing, also called social distancing, is recommended because the coronavirus is primarily spread by respiratory droplets expelled when a person coughs or sneezes. Study on other respiratory viruses such as influenza has shown that these large droplets fall to the ground within 1 or 2 metres. The coronavirus is very small and there is some evidence that it may also stay in the air as an aerosol for longer and potentially spread further. But, does this or the movement of running mean this advisory distance needs revising?

Probably the distance does not need revising for everyone, but runners should keep well clear of others.

Where did the story come from?

The Sun was among media sources to display the animation of droplet transmission, which they described as a ‘horrific video.’  The video itself was reportedly produced by Ansys, a US-based technology company.

What is the basis for the claim?

The animation shows two runners close to each other. It demonstrates the fall of different sized respiratory droplets when one person coughs or sneezes. The following are said to be ‘safer’ behaviours;

  • Talking at a distance of 1.5 metres– respiratory droplets fall closely around the person
  • Walking briskly or jogging at 4 km/hour alongside but 2 metres apart – droplets fall in a cloud behind the person
  • Walking briskly or jogging (at 4 km/hour) in a staggered formation 2 metres apart – droplets don’t fall in your path.

But staying in the space directly behind someone who is walking briskly, jogging or running is said to be ‘less safe’. The animation shows the spread of different sized droplets, the finest particle size hangs in the air the longest.

It is worth noting that infectivity of different sized droplets has not been modelled and the video is not specific to the coronavirus, but only to expelled droplets after coughing.

Previous research has studied aerosol transmission in influenza. This study explains that large respiratory droplets settle to the ground within 1-2 metres, but smaller particles (diameter less than 5 micrometres) can remain airborne for longer. Overall there is little evidence on the relative contribution of droplet and aerosol transmission and infectivity in respiratory infections, particularly for coronavirus.

Also worth saying that this video was based on a hypothetical runner who was coughing or sneezing, without covering his/her mouth and nose with a hand or elbow as advised.

What do trusted sources say?

The WHO  advises that COVID-19 is spread primarily through ‘small droplets from the nose or mouth, which are expelled when a person with COVID-19 coughs, sneezes or speaks… These droplets are relatively heavy, do not travel far and quickly sink to the ground… This is why it is important to stay at least 1 metre away from others.’

CDC similarly advises that COVID-19 is spread between people who are in close proximity to one another (within about 6 feet). However, they do note that the virus appears to spread more efficiently than influenza but not as efficiently as measles.

WHO say they are continuing to research how COVID-19 is spread and will update accordingly.

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

 

Reading list

  1. Cowling BJ, Ip DK, et al. Aerosol transmission is an important mode of influenza A virus spread. Nature communications. 2013 Jun 4;4:1935.
  2. Q&A on coronaviruses (COVID-19).
  3. How COVID-19 spreads.