最近,有媒體報導說,科學家已經發現了冠狀病毒中的突變,這種突變有助於其適應人類並可能更快地傳播。

有問題的科學家已經發布了他們研究的早期摘要,該摘要分析了來自62個國家/地區的5300種新病毒樣本,以查看其遺傳密碼隨時間變化的情況。總體而言,他們發現該病毒自從首次傳播到人類以來並沒有太大變化。

有證據表明,他們確定的一些變化可能正在幫助病毒在人類中生存,但是需要更多的研究來了解這些變化的影響。

隨著時間的推移,病毒自然會獲得其遺傳密碼的變化。這樣的研究對於跟踪這些變化非常重要,因此可以根據需要調整檢測和治療病毒的方法。

 

資訊是從哪裡來的?

包括英國在內的多家媒體 獨立 最近,倫敦衛生與熱帶醫學院的研究人員報導了這項研究。研究人員在網上發布了他們的研究結果的初步摘要,以允許其他研究人員閱讀並提供反饋。將結果發送到期刊以進行發布後,將對結果進行更多的質量檢查。

 

資訊有什麼依據?

科學家比較了2019年12月下旬至2020年4月上旬在62個國家/地區收集的5349種新冠狀病毒樣本的完整遺傳密碼。他們將它們與武漢市所收集病毒的早期樣本的遺傳密碼進行了比較,以尋找任何變化。 。

他們在所分析的遺傳密碼中確定了3,502個單一的“字母”變化(突變)。他們利用這些信息,繪製出隨著病毒在國家之間傳播而在不同菌株中隨時間變化的變化情況。

幾種變化似乎是在幾種不同的菌株中獨立發生的。這表明這些變化可能有助於這些病毒存活。這包括該病毒用於感染人類細胞的關鍵“尖峰”蛋白代碼的一項更改。代碼中還有其他較不常見的突變,也可能改變了這種尖峰蛋白。由於某些正在開發的疫苗針對這種刺突蛋白,因此對其進行更改可能會影響它們的效果。

存在局限性,因為所分析的樣本數量與感染總數相比很小,並且可能無法代表那些受輕度感染或無症狀,不太可能接受檢測的人的樣本。

其中一位研究人員 馬丁·希伯德教授,他說:“總的來說,這種病毒似乎非常適合人類,並且在從動物轉移到人類後並未發生太大變化,這在觀察到的相對較少的突變中就得到了反映。但是,通過選擇以增加傳播可能會產生一些關鍵突變。”他呼籲開展更多研究,以了解這些突變如何使病毒受益。

 

專家意見

改變冠狀病毒遺傳密碼很重要,因為它們可能會改變我們檢測,預防或治療它的能力。因此,全世界正在進行大量研究以收集,共享和分析有關病毒的遺傳信息。

例如,在美國,疾病控制與預防中心(CDC)成立了一個名為SARS-CoV-2序列的公共衛生緊急響應,流行病學和監視(SPHERES)聯盟,以幫助協調收集和使用有關美國冠狀病毒的遺傳密碼。

經濟學人智庫醫療保健 分析文章,由利潔時贊助

 

引文

  1. 獨立。科學家擔心,冠狀病毒可以通過變異而適應人類,這種變異可以幫助人類傳播。可在: https://www.independent.co.uk/news/science/coronavirus-news-latest-study-mutations-human-transmission-a9508086.html。於2020年5月18日訪問。

閱讀清單

  1. Phelan等。控制SARS-CoV-2暴發,可從全球範圍內產生的大規模全基因組序列中獲得見解。可在: https://www.biorxiv.org/content/10.1101/2020.04.28.066977v1.full#ref-11 於2020年5月18日訪問。

Recently the media have reported that scientists have discovered mutations in the coronavirus which are helping it adapt to humans and potentially spread faster.

The scientists in question have posted an early summary of their research, which analysed 5,300 samples of the new virus from 62 countries to look at how its genetic code has been changing over time. Overall, they found that the virus had not changed much since it first spread into humans.

There was evidence that a few of the changes they identified might be helping the virus to survive in humans, but more research is needed to understand what impact these changes have.

Viruses naturally acquire changes in their genetic code over time. Research such as this is important in keeping a track of these changes so that approaches to detecting and treating the virus can be adapted if needed.

 

Where did the story come from?

Several media outlets including the UK’s Independent recently reported on this study from researchers at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine. The researchers posted a preliminary summary of their results online to allow other researchers to read them and give feedback. The results will undergo more quality checking once they are sent to a journal for publication.

 

What is the basis for the claim?

The scientists compared the full genetic code of 5,349 samples of the new coronavirus collected in 62 countries between late December 2019 and early April 2020. They compared these to the genetic code of an early sample of the virus collected in Wuhan, to look for any changes.

They identified 3,502 single “letter” changes (mutations) across the genetic codes analysed. Using this information, they mapped how the changes arose over time in different strains as the virus spread between countries.

A few of the changes appeared to have arisen in several different strains independently. This suggested that these changes might be helping these viruses to survive. This included one change in the code for the crucial ‘spike’ protein which the virus uses to infect human cells. There were also other less common mutations in the code that could also change this spike protein. As some of the vaccines in development are targeting this spike protein, changes to it might affect how well they work.

There are limitations, as the number of samples analysed is small compared to the total number of infections and may not be representative of samples from people who are mildly affected or asymptomatic who are less likely to have been tested.

One of the researchers, Professor Martin Hibberd, has said “Overall, the virus seems very well adapted to humans and has not changed very much following its movement from animals to humans, reflected in the relatively small number of mutations observed. However, a few key mutations may have developed through selection for increased transmission.” He called for more research to see how these mutations might be benefitting the virus.

 

What do trusted sources say?

Changes to the coronavirus genetic code are important as they may change how well we are able to detect, prevent or treat it. As such, a lot of research is ongoing worldwide to collect, share and analyse genetic information on the virus.

For example, in the US the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) has set up a consortium called SARS-CoV-2 Sequencing for Public Health Emergency Response, Epidemiology and Surveillance (SPHERES) to help coordinate efforts to collect and use data on genetic code of coronavirus in the US.

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

 

Citation

  1. The Independent. Coronavirus adapting to humans with mutations that could help it spread, scientists fear. Available at: https://www.independent.co.uk/news/science/coronavirus-news-latest-study-mutations-human-transmission-a9508086.html. Accessed 18 May 2020.

Reading list

  1. Phelan et al. Controlling the SARS-CoV-2 outbreak, insights from large scale whole genome sequences generated across the world. Available at: https://www.biorxiv.org/content/10.1101/2020.04.28.066977v1.full#ref-11 Accessed 18 May 2020.