我们不确定在任何一次有多少比例的冠状病毒感染者没有COVID-19症状。部分原因是从暴露到出现症状的时间尚不清楚。

从发现病毒到出现症状之间的时间(潜伏期)估计为1到14天。但是人们一直以来都不认为自己具有传染性。来自可靠来源(WHO和ECDC)的建议表明,人们在症状出现之前最多可感染两天。

来自中国的报道说,每100人中约有70至80人显示无症状。但是,尚不清楚如何选择人员进行测试,因此我们不知道这一估计的准确性如何,但是其他研究也显示出惊人的数字。

这些高估支持合同追踪的重要性,在该合同中,可以快速识别,测试和隔离测试阳性患者的无症状或有症状接触。

这种说法的来源是什么?

英国医学杂志 根据4月1日在中国发布的数据,在新闻报道中报道了中国的数字。新闻报道说:“截至4月1日(星期三)下午的24小时内,共有166例新感染(78%)中有130例无症状。 ,中国国家卫生委员会说。”

这种说法的依据是什么?

BMJ的故事 根据中国国家卫生委员会发布的数据。我们没有关于如何选择人员进行测试的信息,因此我们不知道他们是否是总体的代表性样本。

牛津循证医学中心 查看了来自世界各地的21份报告,对有多少SARS-Cov-2感染者没有症状的估计有不同的估计。该研究发现了广泛的估计,从大流行初期确定的不到10%到4月1日在中国报道的70至80%。如此广泛的范围部分是因为早期测试主要限于有症状或与之密切接触的人。后来的测试包括更多的人,包括没有症状的人。

牛津中心分析的报告包括 美国疗养院,一名工作人员患上COVID-19后,所有居民都将接受检查。总共76名居民中有48名居民的冠状病毒检测呈阳性,但只有约50%(27人)有症状。但是,几乎所有人在接下来的两到四天内都出现了症状。

另一个来自 游轮 在许多乘客被感染的地方发现几乎20%的阳性检测者没有症状,而 大量测试 在一个意大利村庄中进行的测试发现,在测试时,有50到80%呈阳性的人没有症状。

可靠的信息源是如何建议的?

牛津大学循证医学中心的研究人员得出结论:“在5%和80%之间检测出SARS-CoV-2阳性的人可能是无症状的”,而基于症状的筛查将使许多人怀念。

他们补充说:“一旦进行了基于人群的抗体测试,我们很可能只会学到(真正的)程度。”

世界卫生组织 说:“一些报道表明,没有症状的人可以传播该病毒。目前尚不清楚它发生的频率。”

分析来源:英国经济学人智库 健康保健部(EIU Healthcare),由利洁时提供支持

引用

1.迈克尔。 Covid-19:中国的数据显示,五分之四的病例无症状。 BMJ 2020; 369:m1375 https://www.bmj.com/content/369/bmj.m1375

参考文献

1.卡尔·海内汉(Carl Heneghan),乔恩·布拉西(Jon Brassey),汤姆·杰斐逊(Tom Jefferson)。 COVID-19:无症状的比例是多少? Covid-19证据,牛津循证医学中心,2020年4月6日。 https://www.cebm.net/covid-19/covid-19-what-proportion-are-asymptomatic/ (2020年5月19日访问)

2.欧洲疾病预防控制中心(ECDC)。问与答传播方式是什么?它如何(轻松)传播? https://www.ecdc.europa.eu/en/covid-19/questions-answers

We do not know for certain what proportion of people infected with coronavirus have no symptoms of COVID-19 at any one time. This is in part because the time period from exposure to displaying symptoms is not yet known.

The time between catching the virus and developing symptoms (the incubation period) is estimated at between one and 14 days. But people are not thought to be infectious for all this time. Advice from trusted sources (WHO and ECDC) suggests that people are infectious for up to about two days before symptoms.

Reports from China say that about 70 to 80 in 100 people with the virus show no symptoms. However, it is not clear how people were selected for testing, so we do not know how accurate this estimate is, but other studies also show surprisingly high numbers.

These high estimates support the importance of contract tracing, where the asymptomatic or symptomatic contacts of people who have tested positive are rapidly identified, tested and isolated.

Where did the story come from?

The BMJ reported the Chinese figures in a news story, based on figures published in China from April 1. The news story said: “A total of 130 of 166 new infections (78%) identified in the 24 hours to the afternoon of Wednesday 1st April were asymptomatic, said China’s National Health Commission.”

What is the basis for the claim?

The BMJ story is based on figures published by China’s National Health Commission. We don’t have information about how people were selected for testing, so we don’t know whether they were a representative sample of the population.

The Oxford Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine looked at 21 reports from around the world, with differing estimates of how many SARS-Cov-2-infected people had no symptoms. The study found wide estimates, from less than 10% identified in the early days of the pandemic, to the 70 to 80% reported in China on April 1st. This wide range is partly because early testing was mostly confined to people with symptoms or those they came into close contact with; Later testing included more people, including those without symptoms.

The reports analysed by the Oxford Centre included one from a US nursing home, where all residents were offered tests after a staff member became sick with COVID-19. In total, 48 of 76 residents tested positive for coronavirus, but only about 50% (27 people) had symptoms. However, almost all of them developed symptoms in the next two to four days.

Another from a cruise ship where many passengers were infected found almost 20% of those testing positive had no symptoms, while mass testing undertaken in an Italian village found 50 to 80% of those testing positive had no symptoms at the time of testing.

What do trusted sources say?

The Oxford Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine researchers concluded: “between 5% and 80% of people testing positive for SARS-CoV-2 may be asymptomatic” and that symptom-based screening will miss many people.

They added: “It is likely we will only learn the true extent [of this] once population-based antibody testing is undertaken.”

The World Health Organization says: “Some reports have indicated that people with no symptoms can transmit the virus. It is not yet known how often it happens.”

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

Citation

1.     Day Michael. Covid-19: four fifths of cases are asymptomatic, China figures indicate. BMJ 2020; 369 :m1375 https://www.bmj.com/content/369/bmj.m1375

Reading list

1.     Carl Heneghan, Jon Brassey, Tom Jefferson. COVID-19: What proportion are asymptomatic? Covid-19 Evidence, Oxford Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine, April 6, 2020. https://www.cebm.net/covid-19/covid-19-what-proportion-are-asymptomatic/ (Accessed 19 May 2020)

2.     European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC). Q and A What is the mode of transmission? How (easily) does it spread? https://www.ecdc.europa.eu/en/covid-19/questions-answers