大多数COVID-19的患者无需重症监护即可康复。只有病情最重的患者才能进入重症监护病房,并且只有在没有帮助的情况下无法充分呼吸的患者才能使用呼吸机。那些病重的患者死于COVID-19的机会增加。

目前,关于重症监护和通气治疗中有多少人可以生存的最准确的估计值是在30天时测得的60%左右。但是比例差异很大。

来自中国的一份早期报告发现,在29名重症监护患者中有23人死亡(大约20%的存活率)。美国的一份报告也引起了人们的关注,该报告起初显示出很高的死亡率,但后来被纠正以表明该研究中的大多数患者仍在医院。

这些估计数有所不同,因为这取决于谁接受重症监护和谁进行通气,这在不同国家之间有所不同。随着医生对基础疾病的更多了解,对COVID-19的重病患者的治疗也在不断改善。

这种说法的来源是什么?

新闻网站上的报道 彭博社 最初表示,在纽约地区加重呼吸机的88%人死亡。但是,这是基于对研究的误解。仅3%已康复出院,24.5%已死亡,但大多数(72%)仍留在医院。

这种说法的依据是什么?

彭博社报道了一项研究 美国医学会杂志,该研究调查了纽约市地区医院中重症监护中5700名COVID-19患者的情况。

最初的研究报道了已经出院或死亡的人。在使用呼吸机的320人中,只有38人出院,有282人死亡,因此这组88%的死亡率。但是对研究的澄清指出:“截至2020年4月4日,有1,151例需要机械通气的患者活着出院38例(3.3%),死亡282例(24.5%),仍有831例(72.2%)留在医院”。我们不知道在报告研究时那些仍在医院的人发生了什么。

来自中国的较早研究也显示,需要机械通气的患者预后较差。的 柳叶刀医学杂志报道:“需要无创通气的ICU [重症监护病房]死亡率为29的23(79%),而需要有创机械通气的ICU [22]为19(86%)。”

一项研究 苏格兰重症监护学会 从1发现  2月3日nd  5月,苏格兰有472例COVID-19患者被接受了重症监护。其中60%在30天后存活。与需要非侵入性或其他呼吸支持(80%)的患者相比,需要“高级呼吸支持”的患者生存30天(56%)的可能性较小。

该报告显示,在这两个ICU中,所有ICU患者中的45%已康复出院,33%死亡,21%仍在重症监护中nd  可以。

可靠的信息源是如何建议的?

WHO和NHS尚未对COVID-19给予机械通气的患者的生存率发表评论。但是,在过去一个月或更长时间里,许多临床指南已迅速发布,以告知负责临床护理的人员。

分析来源:英国经济学人智库 健康保健部(EIU Healthcare),由利洁时提供支持

引用

  1. 理查森(Richardson S),赫希(Hirsch)JS,纳拉辛汉(Narasimhan M)等。在纽约地区的5700例COVID-19住院患者中的特征,合并症和结局。贾玛在线发布于2020年4月22日。doi:10.1001 / jama.2020.6775 https://jamanetwork.com/journals/jama/fullarticle/2765184

参考文献

  1. 苏格兰重症监护协会审核组关于COVID-19的报告。 2020年5月13日。苏格兰公共卫生发布的《管理信息报告》。可在 https://beta.isdscotland.org/find-publications-and-data/population-health/covid-19/scottish-intensive-care-society-audit-group-report-on-covid-19/ (2020年5月19日访问)
  2. 国立卫生研究院。 2019年冠状病毒病(COVID-19)治疗指南
  3. 疾病控制中心。 确诊冠状病毒病(COVID-19)的患者管理的临时临床指南
  4. 美国国家临床和护理研究院 19关于COVID-19的快速指南

Most people with COVID-19 recover without needing intensive care. Only the sickest patients are admitted to intensive care units, and only patients who cannot breathe adequately without help are placed on ventilators. Those very sick patients have an increased chance of dying from COVID-19.

The most accurate current estimates of how many people survive intensive care and ventilation treatment are around 60%, measured at 30 days. But the proportion varies widely.

An early report from China found 23 of 29 people in intensive care died, (approximately a 20% survival rate). Concern was also raised by a report from the US that appeared at first to show a very high death rate but was later corrected to show that most of the patients in the study were still alive in hospital.

These estimates vary because it depends on who is admitted to intensive care and who is ventilated, which differs between countries. Treatments for very sick people with COVID-19 are also improving over time as doctors understand more about the underlying disease.

Where did the story come from?

A report on the news website Bloomberg initially said that 88% of people put on ventilators in intensive care in the New York area died. However, this was based on a misunderstanding in the research. Only 3% had recovered and been discharged, 24.5% had died, but most (72%) remained in hospital.

What is the basis for the claim?

Bloomberg reported a study published in the Journal of the American Medical Association, which looked at what happened to 5,700 people with COVID-19 in intensive care in hospitals in the New York City area.

The initial study reported on people who had been discharged or died. Only 38 of 320 people who had been on ventilators had been discharged, 282 had died, giving a death rate for this group of 88%. But a clarification to the study states: “As of April 4, 2020, for 1,151 patients requiring mechanical ventilation, 38 (3.3%) were discharged alive, 282 (24.5%) died, and 831 (72.2%) remained in hospital”. We don’t know what happened to those who were still in hospital at the time the study was reported.

An earlier study from China also showed poor outcomes for people needing mechanical ventilation. The Lancet medical journal reported: “The ICU [intensive care unit] mortality rate among those who required non-invasive ventilation was 23 (79%) of 29 and among those who required invasive mechanical ventilation was 19 (86%) of 22.”

A study by the Scottish Intensive Care Society found that from the 1st  March to the 2nd  May, 472 patients with COVID-19 were admitted to intensive care in Scotland. Of these, 60% survived, measured at 30 days. Patients who needed “advanced respiratory support” were less likely to survive for 30 days (56% survived) than those who needed non-invasive or other respiratory support (80% survived).

The report showed that 45% of all ICU patients recovered and were discharged, 33% died and 21% were still in intensive care on the 2nd  May.

What do trusted sources say?

The WHO and NHS have not yet commented on the survival rates for people with COVID-19 given mechanical ventilation. However, in the last month or more, many clinical guidelines have been published rapidly to inform those responsible for clinical care.

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

Citation

  1. Richardson S, Hirsch JS, Narasimhan M, et al. Presenting Characteristics, Comorbidities, and Outcomes Among 5700 Patients Hospitalized With COVID-19 in the New York City Area. JAMA. Published online April 22, 2020. doi:10.1001/jama.2020.6775 https://jamanetwork.com/journals/jama/fullarticle/2765184

Reading list

  1. Scottish Intensive Care Society Audit Group report on COVID-19. 13 May 2020. Management Information Report published by Public Health Scotland. Available at https://beta.isdscotland.org/find-publications-and-data/population-health/covid-19/scottish-intensive-care-society-audit-group-report-on-covid-19/ (Accessed 19 May 2020)
  2. National Institutes of Health. Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) Treatment Guidelines
  3. Centres for Disease Control. Interim Clinical Guidance for Management of Patients with Confirmed Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19)
  4. National Institute for Clinical and Care Excellence: 19 rapid guidelines on COVID-19