據報導,異常凝血可能導致嚴重COVID-19的人死亡。但是到目前為止對此有什麼了解?

在獲得最新消息的研究中,患有嚴重COVID-19的人的血液中似乎存在高水平的D-二聚體。 D-二聚體是來自血塊的蛋白質鏈。這些可能表明小凝塊在整個血液中積聚,繼而可能阻塞肺部和其他器官中的小血管。據認為,這可能導致血氧水平降低,並可能解釋了嚴重的冠狀病毒疾病的其他特徵。

在一家愛爾蘭醫院的一項研究中,每個接受COVID-19入院的患者均常規進行了凝血因子檢測。該研究發現,需要重症監護的人血凝異常,包括高D-二聚體水平。平均而言,這些水平高於不需要重症監護的患者。

這些有趣的觀察結果尚不能告訴我們哪些凝血異常是典型的COVID,以及如何徹底改變有關使用抗凝血藥或聯合用藥的傳統建議。風險和收益都需要考慮;精心設計的隨機試驗正在進行中,並且已經為管理這些疾病的醫生提供了臨時指導。

資訊是從哪裡來的?

科學新聞 該研究報告由愛爾蘭皇家外科醫學院和都柏林三一學院聖詹姆斯醫院的研究人員領導,並於上月發表在 英國血液學雜誌.

資訊有什麼依據?

來自中國的幾項研究還表明,嚴重患COVID-19的患者經常會出現異常的血液凝結,包括升高的D-二聚體和其他血液標記。驗屍研究還發現一些死亡者的整個肺血管中有微小的血塊跡象。諸如深靜脈血栓形成之類的凝血障礙在固定化人群中很常見,並且已知種族人群之間存在差異。當前的研究旨在觀察在歐洲的歐洲白人人群中是否也見到相同的情況。

研究人員回顧了所有13例都在都柏林醫院接受COVID-19治療的83例患者 3月10日 2020年4月。患者平均年齡為64歲,白人80%和80%有潛在疾病。入院時有三分之二的患者提高了D-二聚體水平。所有患者均注射了抗凝藥物低分子量肝素,以預防深靜脈血栓形成。

大約60%康復並出院而無需重症監護,28%進入重症監護,16%死亡。與康復者相比,需要重症監護的人入院時D-二聚體水平較高,在未來幾天仍將保持較高水平。

看來專家還不能對治療得出確切的結論。計劃對此進行隨機對照試驗。

專家意見

國際血栓形成和止血協會 已發布有關COVID-19中凝血障礙的法規和管理指南。這凸顯了將D-二聚體水平升高與死亡率增加聯繫起來的證據。建議在入院時測量D-二聚體和其他凝血指標,並持續進行每日監測以評估是否需要加強治療。

“顯著升高的D-二聚體”被強調為危險因素,該指南的作者指出,尚未確定起效水平。他們建議增加3-4倍被認為是重要的。

經濟學人智庫醫療保健 分析文章,由利潔時贊助

 

引文

  1. Fogarty H,Townsend L等。 高加索患者的COVID‐19凝血障礙。英國血液學雜誌。 2020年4月2日

閱讀清單

  1. Thachil J,Tang N等。 ISTH關於COVID-19中凝血病識別和管理的臨時指南。血栓與止血雜誌。 2020年5月; 18(5):1023-6。
  2. Tang N等。 新型冠狀病毒性肺炎患者的凝血參數異常與預後不良有關。 J血栓最重要。 2020; 18(4):844-7。
  3. Wang D,Hu B,等。 武漢市138例2019年新型冠狀病毒感染肺炎住院患者的臨床特徵。賈瑪2020年3月17日; 323(11):1061-9。
  4. Bikdeli B,Madhavan MV等。 COVID-19與血栓性或血栓栓塞性疾病:對預防,抗血栓治療和隨訪的意義。 J Am Coll Cardiol。 2020年。

It’s been reported that abnormal blood clotting may be contributing to the death of people with severe COVID-19. But what is known about this so far?

People with severe COVID-19 appear to have high levels of D-dimers in the blood in studies that have reached the news. D-dimers are strands of protein that come from blood clots. These could indicate that small clots are building up throughout the bloodstream which in turn could block small blood vessels in the lungs and other organs. It is thought this might contribute to low blood oxygen levels and perhaps explain other features of severe coronavirus disease.

In a study at one Irish hospital, every person admitted with COVID-19 was routinely tested for clotting factors. The study found that those who needed intensive care had abnormal clotting, including high D-dimer levels. On average these were at higher levels than found in those who didn’t need intensive care.

These interesting observations can’t yet tell us which clotting abnormalities are typical of COVID, and how traditional advice on the use of anti-clotting drug or combination might be changed if at all. Risks and benefits will both need to be considered; carefully designed randomised trials are underway and there is already provisional guidance for doctors managing these conditions.

Where did the story come from?

Science News reported on the study, which was led by researchers from the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland and St James’ Hospital, Trinity College Dublin, and published last month in the British Journal of Haematology.

What is the basis for the claim?

Several studies from China also show that patients severely ill with COVID-19 often have abnormal blood clotting, including raised D-dimer and other blood markers. Post-mortem studies also found signs of tiny blood clots throughout the lung blood vessels in some people who died. Clotting disorders like deep vein thrombosis are common in immobilised people and is already known to differ between ethnic populations, the current study aimed to see whether the same was seen in a white European population.

Researchers reviewed all 83 patients admitted with COVID-19 to a Dublin hospital between 13th March and 10th April 2020. Patients were aged 64 years on average, 80% of white ethnicity and 80% had underlying illnesses. Two-thirds had raised D-dimer levels at the time of admission. All patients were given injections with the anti-clotting drug low molecular weight heparin for prevention of deep vein thrombosis.

About 60% recovered and were discharged without ever needing intensive care, 28% were admitted to intensive care, and 16% died. Compared with those who recovered, people who needed intensive care had higher D-dimer levels at admission, which remained high in the coming days.

It seems experts can’t draw definite conclusions on treatments yet. Randomised controlled trials are planned to look into this.

What do trusted sources say?

The International Society on Thrombosis and Haemostasis has issued guidance on regulation and management of clotting disorders in COVID-19. This highlights the evidence linking raised D-dimer levels with increased mortality. Measurement of D-dimer and other blood clotting markers is recommended on admission, with continued daily monitoring to assess the need for more intensive management.

‘Markedly raised D-dimer’ is highlighted as a risk factor and the authors of this guideline note that a cut-off level is not yet established. They suggest that a 3-4 fold increase may be considered significant.

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

 

Citation

  1. Fogarty H, Townsend L, et al. COVID‐19 Coagulopathy in Caucasian patients. British journal of haematology. 2020 Apr 2

Reading list

  1. Thachil J, Tang N, et al. ISTH interim guidance on recognition and management of coagulopathy in COVID‐19. Journal of Thrombosis and Haemostasis. 2020 May;18(5):1023-6.
  2. Tang N et al. Abnormal coagulation parameters are associated with poor prognosis in patients with novel coronavirus pneumonia. J Thromb Haemost. 2020;18(4):844–7.
  3. Wang D, Hu B, et al. Clinical characteristics of 138 hospitalized patients with 2019 novel coronavirus–infected pneumonia in Wuhan, China. Jama. 2020 Mar 17;323(11):1061-9.
  4. Bikdeli B, Madhavan MV, et al. COVID-19 and thrombotic or thromboembolic disease: implications for prevention, antithrombotic therapy, and follow-up. J Am Coll Cardiol. 2020.