这个简单的问题很难回答。以英国为例, 每日统计 由英国政府发布的信息仅包括接受过检查的人,这些人是因为他们在医院中出现了症状,或者是因为他们是有症状的重要工作人员或疗养院居民。医院或疗养院之外的大多数人都未经测试。

我们对社区中有多少人被感染的最好估计来自国家统计局(ONS) 试验研究。到目前为止,来自英国7,054个家庭的14,599人接受了4次 五月和十七 可以。

在这项研究中,来自32个家庭的35个人对SARS-CoV-2(导致COVID-19的病毒)检测为阳性。研究人员根据这些发现计算得出,此时英格兰(医院和护理院之外)的人口中有0.25%患有SARS-CoV-2。每周每千人大约有1新感染。

这种说法的来源是什么?

正在进行的ONS研究的初步结果(给出了当前感染人群的0.27%略高的数字)涵盖了 英国广播公司的新闻等等。他们的统计负责人说,这个数字似乎“小得令人惊讶”。但是,他指出0.27%在英格兰大约有15万人。

这种说法的依据是什么?

ONS研究 这是第一次对英国一般人口的一大样本进行了SARS-CoV-2测试。该研究涉及以前自愿参加ONS研究的人员,因此并不是完全随机的样本。

研究人员要求英国20,000户家庭参加这项研究。到目前为止,有7,054户家庭为该家庭中2岁以上的每个人进行了鼻咽拭子检查。

人们还被问到自己的职业,是否有任何COVID-19症状,是否自我隔离或屏蔽,是否与任何怀疑有COVID-19的人接触。

研究发现,呈阳性的人的比例不会因年龄,性别或是否在医疗保健或社会护理领域工作,看病人或看护家庭居民而有所不同。

该研究不包括住在疗养院或目前在医院中的任何人。它仅提供测试时感染者的快照,因此无法告诉我们英格兰有多少人感染了该病毒并康复了。

该研究希望招募10,000个家庭,并计划将其扩展到苏格兰,北爱尔兰和威尔士。初次拭子之后,邀请住户每周提供5周的拭子,然后每月提供12个月。一定比例的参与者还将接受针对该病毒的抗体的血液检查,这可能有助于发现共有多少人感染了该病毒。

可靠的信息源是如何建议的?

伦敦卫生与热带医学学院新兴传染病教授马丁·希伯德(Martin Hibberd)通过 科学媒体中心:“发布这些数据是了解SARS-CoV-2爆发的可喜的一步。向前迈进,这将使我们能够跟踪基于病例的人口估计数。”

引用

国家统计局。统计公告:冠状病毒(COVID-19)感染调查试点:英格兰,2020年5月21日。 https://www.ons.gov.uk/peoplepopulationandcommunity/healthandsocialcare/conditionsanddiseases/bulletins/coronaviruscovid19infectionsurveypilot/england21may2020 (2020年5月26日访问)。

参考文献

科学媒体中心。专家对ONS COVID-19感染调查试点的第一批数据的反应,估计当前测试为阳性的人的数量(抽签“拥有成功”测试)。 https://www.sciencemediacentre.org/expert-reaction-to-first-data-from-the-ons-covid-19-infection-survey-pilot-estimating-numbers-of-people-currently-testing-positive-swab-have-you-got-it-test/ (2020年5月20日访问)。

This simple question is quite difficult to answer. Taking the UK as an example, the daily statistics released by the UK government only include people who have been tested because they have been in hospital with symptoms, or because they are essential workers with symptoms, or care home residents. Most people outside of hospitals or care homes are not tested.

The best estimate we have of how many people in the community are infected is from an Office for National Statistics (ONS) pilot study. So far 14,599 people from 7,054 households in England were tested between 4th May and 17th May.

In the study, 35 people from 32 households tested positive for SARS-CoV-2, the virus that causes COVID-19. Using these findings, the researchers calculated that 0.25% of the population of England (outside of hospitals and care homes) had SARS-CoV-2 at this time. That’s about 1 new infection per 1,000 people each week.

Where did the story come from?

The initial results of the ongoing ONS study (which gave a slightly higher figure of 0.27% of the population currently infected) were covered by BBC News, among others. Their head of statistics said that the figure might seem “surprisingly small”. However, he pointed out that 0.27% amounted to about 150,000 people in England.

What is the basis for the claim?

The ONS study is the first time a big sample of the general population of England has been tested for SARS-CoV-2. The study involved people who had previously volunteered to take part in ONS research, so was not a completely random sample.

The researchers asked 20,000 households in England to take part in the study. So far 7,054 households have performed nose and throat swabs for everyone aged over 2 years in the household.

People were also asked about their occupation, whether they had any symptoms of COVID-19, whether they are self-isolating or shielding, and whether they have come into contact with anyone they suspect may have had COVID-19.

The study found that the proportion of people testing positive did not vary according to age, sex or whether people were working in healthcare or social care, seeing patients or care home residents or not.

The study did not include anyone living in a care home or currently in hospital. It provides only a snapshot of who was infected at the time of the tests, so does not tell us how many people in England have had the virus and recovered.

The study hopes to recruit 10,000 households, and there are plans to expand it to Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales. After the initial swabs, households are invited to provide weekly swabs for 5 weeks and then monthly for 12 months. A proportion of participants will also have blood tests for antibodies to the virus, which may help discover how many people have had the virus in total.

What do trusted sources say?

Martin Hibberd, Professor of Emerging Infectious Disease at the London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine, said via the Science Media Centre: “The release of this data is a welcome step forward in understanding the SARS-CoV-2 outbreak. Going forward this will allow us to track a population-based estimate of the number of cases.”

Citation

Office for National Statistics. Statistical bulletin: Coronavirus (COVID-19) Infection Survey pilot: England, 21 May 2020. https://www.ons.gov.uk/peoplepopulationandcommunity/healthandsocialcare/conditionsanddiseases/bulletins/coronaviruscovid19infectionsurveypilot/england21may2020 (Accessed 26 May 2020).

Reading list

Science Media Centre. Expert reaction to first data from the ONS COVID-19 Infection Survey pilot, estimating numbers of people currently testing positive (swab ‘have-you-got-it’ test). https://www.sciencemediacentre.org/expert-reaction-to-first-data-from-the-ons-covid-19-infection-survey-pilot-estimating-numbers-of-people-currently-testing-positive-swab-have-you-got-it-test/ (Accessed 20 May 2020).