據報導,罹患2型糖尿病的人死於COVID-19的可能性是其他人的兩倍。據說患有1型糖尿病的人的風險是三倍。這些數字基於對英格蘭人口的研究,該研究著眼於死於COVID-19的人群的特徵。

這樣的大規模研究有助於我們了解哪些群體可能更受COVID-19的影響。至於為什麼糖尿病患者可能會受到更嚴重的影響,我們還不知道。部分(但不是全部)原因可能與2型糖尿病患者更可能具有其他風險因素(例如年齡較大)有關。年齡對風險的影響比任何一種糖尿病都大。

儘管這些數字似乎令人恐懼,但醫生已經向糖尿病患者保證,他們死於COVID-19的風險仍然非常低。

資訊是從哪裡來的?

有關糖尿病患者因COVID-19死亡風險升高的消息已經流傳了一段時間。最近, 新聞報導 專注於來自 NHS英格蘭,於5月19日發表了有關該主題的兩項研究。

資訊有什麼依據?

第一次學習 調查了2020年3月1日至5月11日在英格蘭醫院發生的所有COVID-19死亡病例。在此期間,共有23,804人死於感染,其中約三分之一(31.3%)患有2型糖尿病和1.5%患有1型糖尿病。

研究人員使用了在英國全科醫生中註冊的超過6100萬人的數據,研究了這種死亡在患有或不患有糖尿病的人群中有多普遍。

他們發現,在72天的時間裡,每10萬名2型糖尿病患者中就有261人死於COVID-19醫院,而每10萬名1型糖尿病患者中,這一數字約為138人。這些數字高於其餘普通人群在醫院每100,000個COVID-19死亡中約39人的死亡率。

在考慮到可能影響年齡,性別,種族,社會經濟剝奪和現有心血管疾病等結果的因素後,與非糖尿病患者相比,患有1型糖尿病的人死於醫院COVID-19的機率幾乎是其三倍。 2型糖尿病患者的發病率幾乎是後者的兩倍。然而,與糖尿病相比,年齡對醫院死於COVID-19的風險影響更大。 40歲以下人群的風險比80歲以上人群高700倍。

因此,即使糖尿病患者死亡的風險增加了,但這種風險仍然非常低,特別是對於年輕人而言。

第二項研究 調查了3,154,300名在英國的全科醫生註冊的糖尿病成人。最多1 5月9,795(0.3%)死亡,其死亡證明中提到了COVID-19。糖尿病控制不佳的人(如高HbA所指示1C 血糖水平)死於COVID-19的可能性是血糖水平得到良好控制的糖尿病患者的兩倍。還發現體重指數會影響死於COVID-19的機會。患有糖尿病,體重過輕或肥胖的人更容易死亡。

專家意見

慈善機構 英國糖尿病 說:“儘管這一新數據為我們提供了有關糖尿病患者冠狀病毒感染潛在風險的更多詳細信息,但重要的是要認識到,對於患有和不患有糖尿病的人,冠狀病毒死亡的風險仍然非常低,隨著案件數量的下降,這一數字將繼續下降。”

該慈善機構補充說:“任何糖尿病人都可以做的最重要的事情就是盡最大努力小心地控制自己的病情,盡可能將血糖保持在合理範圍內,並遵守與社會保持距離的規則。”

世界衛生組織將糖尿病作為現有的醫學疾病之一,並且隨著年齡的增長,可能會使某人更容易受到嚴重的COVID感染。

引文

  1. Valabjhi J等。英格蘭的1型和2型糖尿病以及與COVID-19相關的死亡率:整個人群研究。 2020年5月20日發布 https://www.england.nhs.uk/publication/type-1-and-type-2-diabetes-and-covid-19-related-mortality-in-england/ (2020年5月26日訪問)
  2. Valabjhi J等。英國1型和2型糖尿病與COVID-19相關的死亡率:一項針對糖尿病患者的隊列研究。 2020年5月20日發布 https://www.england.nhs.uk/publication/type-1-and-type-2-diabetes-and-covid-19-related-mortality-in-england/ (2020年5月26日訪問)

 

閱讀清單

  1. 英國糖尿病:關於糖尿病患者冠狀病毒死亡的最新統計數據。 https://www.diabetes.org.uk/about_us/news/coronavirus-statistics (2020年5月26日訪問)
  2. 冠狀病毒病(COVID-19)對公眾的建議

People with type 2 diabetes are reported to be twice as likely as other people to die from COVID-19. Those with type 1 diabetes are said to have triple the risk. These figures are based on a study of the population in England, which looked at the characteristics of those who died from COVID-19.

Large-scale studies such as this help us to understand which groups may be more severely affected by COVID-19. As for why people with diabetes might be more severely affected, we don’t yet know. Part (but not all) of the reason may relate to people with type 2 diabetes being more likely to have other risk factors, such as being older. Age had a much larger impact on risk than diabetes of either type.

While the numbers may seem scary, doctors have reassured people with diabetes that they still have a very low risk of dying from COVID-19.

Where did the story come from?

News that people with diabetes are at raised risk of death from COVID-19 has been circulating for a while. Recently, news reports focused on research from NHS England, which published two studies on the topic on 19 May.

What is the basis for the claim?

The first study looked at all deaths from COVID-19 that occurred in hospitals in England, from 1st March to 11th May 2020. During this period, 23,804 people died from the infection, about a third of whom (31.3%) had type 2 diabetes and 1.5% had type 1 diabetes.

The researchers used data on the over 61 million people registered with a General Practitioner in England to look at how common such deaths were in those with or without diabetes.

They found that about 261 in every 100,000 people with type 2 diabetes died in hospital with COVID-19 in the 72 day period, and the figure was about 138 in every 100,000 people with type 1 diabetes. These figures were higher than the rate of about 39 per 100,000 COVID-19 deaths in hospital for the remainder of the general population.

After accounting factors which could influence results like age, gender, ethnicity, socioeconomic deprivation and existing cardiovascular disease, people with type 1 diabetes were almost three times as likely to have died from COVID-19 in hospitals, compared to people without diabetes. People with type 2 diabetes were almost twice as likely. However, age had a far greater impact on the risk of dying from COVID-19 in hospital than diabetes. There was a 700-fold difference in risk for people under the age of 40 compared with those over 80.

So, even though the risk of death is raised for people with diabetes, this risk is still very low, particularly for young people.

The second study looked at 3,154,300 adults with diabetes registered with a General Practitioner in England. Up to 1st May 9,795 (0.3%) had died and had COVID-19 mentioned on their death certificate. People with poorly-controlled diabetes (as indicated by high HbA1C blood sugar levels) were up to twice as less likely to die from COVID-19 than people with diabetes whose blood sugar levels were well-controlled. Body mass index was also found to affect the chances of dying of COVID-19; people who had diabetes and were underweight or obese being more likely to die.

What do trusted sources say?

The charity Diabetes UK said: “Although this new data has provided us with a lot more detail about the potential risks of coronavirus infection for people with diabetes, it is important to recognise that the risk of death from coronavirus remains very low for people with and without diabetes and that it will continue to decrease as the number of cases fall.”

The charity added: “The most important thing anyone with diabetes can do is try their best to manage their condition carefully, keep their blood sugar in range as much as possible, and follow social distancing rules.”

The World Health Organization include diabetes as one of the existing medical conditions, alongside increased age, that may make someone more vulnerable to severe COVID infection.

Citation

  1. Valabjhi J et al. Type 1 and Type 2 diabetes and COVID-19 related mortality in England: a whole population study. Published 20 May 2020 https://www.england.nhs.uk/publication/type-1-and-type-2-diabetes-and-covid-19-related-mortality-in-england/ (Accessed 26 May 2020)
  2. Valabjhi J et al. Type 1 and Type 2 diabetes and COVID-19 related mortality in England: a cohort study in people with diabetes. Published 20 May 2020 https://www.england.nhs.uk/publication/type-1-and-type-2-diabetes-and-covid-19-related-mortality-in-england/ (Accessed 26 May 2020)

 

Reading list

  1. Diabetes UK: Latest statistics on coronavirus deaths in people with diabetes. https://www.diabetes.org.uk/about_us/news/coronavirus-statistics (Accessed 26 May 2020)
  2. Coronavirus disease (COVID-19) advice for the public