一些报告说,患有COVID-19的人可能会出现症状长达数周甚至数月。但是,如果人们的病情不足以接受检查或住院,则可能不会在NHS常规数据或研究中找到这些人。这使得很难知道持久症状有多常见,以及它们是否绝对是COVID-19的症状。

因为COVID-19是一种新疾病,所以我们一直都在学习它。最初,它被认为是一种类似流感的疾病,轻度症状的人们会在几周内康复。尽管许多人的确恢复得很快,但有些人报告的症状持久得多,包括极度疲劳,肌肉酸痛以及嗅觉和味觉丧失。

目前,尚无可靠的研究来说明人们从COVID-19完全康复需要多长时间,他们有哪些持续症状或某些人可能需要经历多长时间。

这种说法的来源是什么?

一些媒体网站进行了 故事 一位研究人员说,他正在进行的研究表明,“约10%”的人经历了至少25天的症状,这与一位经历了长期症状的医生有关。

这种说法的依据是什么?

目前,这个故事的基础是轶事证据。利物浦热带医学院感染病学专家兼教授保罗·加纳(Paul Garner)博士在《 英国医学杂志 关于他患上可能是COVID-19的疾病后七周经历了极度疲劳和包括耳鸣,大头针和针头在内的“怪诞症状”的经历(尽管他没有接受过这种病毒的测试)。一个 跟进 博客说,在认为自己已经康复之后,他在接下来的三周内经历了几次“筋疲力尽”。

伦敦国王学院基因流行病学教授Tim Spector博士一直在研究症状追踪应用程序的数据,该应用程序已被300万人下载。据报道他 金融时报 如他的数据所示,大约25天后10%仍然有症状,一个月后仍然有5%。但是,这些数据似乎尚未在研究中发表 网站.

可靠的信息源是如何建议的?

WHO或NHS没有提供有关人们可能会经历COVID-19症状多长时间的信息。

分析来源:英国经济学人智库 健康保健部(EIU Healthcare),由利洁时提供支持

 

引用

  1. 保罗·加纳(Paul Garner):我已经过了七个星期的过山车,身体不适,极端情绪激动,筋疲力尽。 BMJ博客,2020年5月5日发布。 https://blogs.bmj.com/bmj/2020/05/05/paul-garner-people-who-have-a-more-protracted-illness-need-help-to-understand-and-cope-with-the-constantly-shifting-bizarre-symptoms/ (2020年5月28日访问)

参考文献

  1. 长时间的Covid-19症状之谜增加了未知数。可在: https://www.ft.com/content/91e4482e-d120-49ab-93e3-d314d99b5336?segmentID=5b3cb929-a23e-88ae-662f-4cae036b0dee。 (5月28日访问)

Some reports say that people who have been ill with COVID-19 may experience symptoms for weeks or even months. However, if people are not ill enough to have been tested or admitted to hospital, these individuals may not be picked up in NHS routine data or research. That makes it difficult to know how common long-lasting symptoms are, and if they are definitely symptoms of COVID-19.

Because COVID-19 is a new illness, we are learning about it all the time. At first, it was assumed to be a flu-like illness, with people who had mild symptoms recovering within a couple of weeks. Although many people do seem to recover quickly, some have reported much longer-lasting symptoms, including extreme fatigue, aching muscles and loss of sense of smell and taste.

At present, there are no reliable studies to say how long it takes people to recover from COVID-19 completely, what persistent symptoms they have or how long some people might experience them for.

Where did the story come from?

Several media sites have carried stories about a doctor who has himself experienced long-lasting symptoms, and from a researcher who says his ongoing study shows “about 10%” of people experience symptoms for at least 25 days.

What is the basis for the claim?

At present, the basis for the story is anecdotal evidence. Dr Paul Garner, an infectious disease expert and professor at the Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine, wrote in the BMJ about his own experience of having extreme fatigue and “bizarre symptoms”, including tinnitus and pins and needles, for seven weeks after becoming ill with what was likely to be COVID-19 (though he was not tested for the virus). A follow-up blog said that he had experienced several “relapses” of exhaustion in the following three weeks, after thinking he had recovered.

A researcher, Dr Tim Spector, professor of genetic epidemiology at King’s College London, has been working with data from a symptom-tracking app, downloaded by more than 3 million people. He is reported in the Financial Times as saying his data shows about 10% of people still have symptoms after 25 days and 5% after a month. However, these data do not seem to have been published on the study website.

What do trusted sources say?

There is no information from the WHO or NHS about how long people are likely to experience symptoms of COVID-19.

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

 

Citation

  1. Paul Garner: For 7 weeks I have been through a roller coaster of ill health, extreme emotions, and utter exhaustion. BMJ Blogs, published May 5 2020. https://blogs.bmj.com/bmj/2020/05/05/paul-garner-people-who-have-a-more-protracted-illness-need-help-to-understand-and-cope-with-the-constantly-shifting-bizarre-symptoms/ (Accessed 28 May 2020)

Reading list

  1. Mystery of prolonged Covid-19 symptoms adds to the unknowns. Available at: https://www.ft.com/content/91e4482e-d120-49ab-93e3-d314d99b5336?segmentID=5b3cb929-a23e-88ae-662f-4cae036b0dee. (Accessed 28 May)