可以使用市售漱口水来帮助减慢COVID-19的传播吗?卡迪夫大学的一组科学家呼吁在发现某些漱口水具有抗病毒活性后,对漱口水进行测试以检测SARS-CoV-2(一种导致COVID-19的病毒)。

他们认为,含酒精或其他配方的漱口水可能会减少感染者的喉咙和唾液中的病毒数量,这可能会减轻其症状并降低感染性。

但是,漱口水尚未经过SARS-CoV-2的测试,因此我们不知道这是否有帮助。在推荐这种方法以防止病毒传播之前,需要进行高质量的试验。同时,人们应遵循瓶上的使用说明。

人们应继续遵守与社会保持距离和手卫生的规则,而不是依靠漱口水来提供保护。

这种说法的来源是什么?

几篇媒体文章 卡迪夫研究人员呼吁对SARS-CoV-2进行漱口水测试的报道。关于漂洗或漱口可能有助于抵抗病毒的建议正在流传。 蒂姆e。在通常的卫生习惯中,以盐水或漱口水冲洗的国家(例如日本),建议对呼吸道疾病采取预防措施。

这种说法的依据是什么?

加的夫的研究人员 总结研究 有关漱口水和已经出版的病毒的信息,以查看是否有证据表明漱口水可能有助于对抗SARS-CoV-2。

研究人员发现,漱口水的几种成分(包括酒精)会破坏脂质包膜,类似于冠状病毒周围的脂质包膜,尽管尚未直接在SARS-CoV-2上进行测试。

洗漱液中的酒精浓度比洗手液中的酒精浓度低得多。消毒剂通常为约60%至70%酒精,而市售漱口水的范围为约14%至27%。它们还可能包含精油,例如薄荷醇和桉树油。在英国,漱口水中另一种常用的化学品是洗必太。

研究人员说,有证据表明,在商业用途的含酒精和香精油的漱口剂中,使用30秒冲洗液可以灭活疱疹病毒和流感病毒。洗必太仅在实验室中经过了病毒测试,尚未被人们使用。研究人员说,一项研究表明,它对冠状病毒的活性很弱,并建议可以与酒精联合使用。

卡迪夫大学的研究人员说,科学家们需要找出用漱口水冲洗是否会减少口腔和喉咙中的病毒数量,哪种漱口水最有效,以及哪种冲洗方法最有效的减少病毒传播。与用酒精和洗必泰漱口水漱口相比,漱口的安全性也需要进一步评估。

可靠的信息源是如何建议的?

目前不建议使用漱口水来预防COVID-19。 哈佛大学陈陈公共卫生学院 说:“没有证据表明定期漱口(盐水或盐水)可以保护人们免受新的冠状病毒的感染。尽管这可能有助于缓解喉咙痛,但是这种做法并不能阻止病毒进入您的肺部。”

分析来源:英国经济学人智库 健康保健部(EIU Healthcare),由利洁时提供支持

 

引用

  1. O'Donnell V等。在SARS-CoV-2感染中靶向病毒脂质包膜的漱口液的潜在作用。功能,zqaa002, https://doi.org/10.1093/function/zqaa002 (2020年5月28日访问)

Could commercially-available mouthwash be used to help slow the spread of COVID-19? A group of scientists at the University of Cardiff have called for mouthwashes to be tested on SARS-CoV-2, the virus that causes COVID-19, after finding that some mouthwashes have anti-viral activity.

They suggest that mouthwash containing alcohol or other formulations might reduce the amount of virus in the throat and saliva of an infected person, which might reduce their symptoms and also make them less infective.

However, mouthwash has not been tested against SARS-CoV-2 yet, so we do not know whether this would help. Good quality trials would be needed before this could be recommended for preventing the spread of the virus. In the meantime, people should follow the instructions for use as on the bottle.

People should continue to follow the rules about social distancing and hand hygiene, rather than relying on the use of mouthwash for protection.

Where did the story come from?

Several media articles have reported on the Cardiff researchers’ call for testing mouthwashes on SARS-CoV-2. Suggestions that rinsing or gargling could help against the virus have been circulating for some time. In countries where rinsing with saline or mouthwash is part of the usual hygiene (such as Japan), it is a recommended preventive measure against respiratory disease.

What is the basis for the claim?

The researchers at Cardiff summarised studies about mouthwash and viruses that had already been published to see if there was any evidence that mouthwash might be helpful against SARS-CoV-2.

The researchers found that several ingredients of mouthwash, including alcohol, had been shown to damage lipid envelopes similar to those surrounding coronaviruses, although they have not been tested directly on SARS-CoV-2.

Mouthwashes have much lower concentrations of alcohol than those in hand sanitiser. Sanitiser is usually about 60% to 70% alcohol, while commercially-available mouthwashes range from about 14% to 27%. They may also contain essential oils such as menthol and eucalyptus oil. Another commonly-used chemical in mouthwash in the UK is chlorhexidine.

The researchers said there is evidence that commercially-available mouthwash formulations of alcohol plus essential oil could inactivate herpes virus and flu virus when used as a 30-second rinse. Chlorhexidine has only been tested against viruses in the laboratory, not in use by people. The researchers say a study showed it had only weak activity against a coronavirus and suggest it could be combined with alcohol.

The Cardiff researchers said scientists needed to find out whether rinsing with mouthwash would reduce the amount of virus in the mouth and throat, which mouthwash would be most effective, and what rinsing regime would be most effective to reduce the spread of the virus. The safety of gargling, as opposed to rinsing the mouth, with alcohol and chlorhexidine mouthwashes also needs further evaluation.

What do trusted sources say?

Gargling is not currently recommended to protect against COVID-19. Harvard TH Chan School of Public Health says: “There is no evidence that regularly gargling [saltwater or saline] has protected people from infection with the new coronavirus. While this may help soothe a sore throat, this practice will not prevent the virus from entering your lungs.”

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

 

Citation

  1. O’Donnell V et al. Potential role of oral rinses targeting the viral lipid envelope in SARS-CoV-2 infection. Function, zqaa002, https://doi.org/10.1093/function/zqaa002 (Accessed 28 May 2020)