什麼是疫苗?

疫苗是一種藥物,可以幫助人體的免疫系統識別並抵抗以前從未接觸過的傳染病。疫苗是預防傳染病的最有效方法之一,據估計,它們每年可預防多達300萬人死亡。我們目前擁有針對25種以上嚴重且可能威脅生命的疾病的疫苗。

疫苗如何運作?

當免疫系統與一種新的引起疾病的生物(例如病毒或細菌)接觸時,它會與之抗爭,因此它也會學會識別該生物。這意味著,如果該人再次暴露於同一生物體,則免疫系統可以迅速製造出抗體來攻擊該生物體,從而保護該人免於疾病和傳播疾病。

疫苗可以利用這一點,並使用少量不會使您生病的弱化或死亡的病毒或細菌,其蛋白質或遺傳物質“訓練”免疫系統。

如何製作和測試疫苗?

疫苗必須經過幾個測試階段,以確保其安全性和良好的工作性能。主要階段是:

  • “發現和臨床前”階段–在此階段,研究人員研究出如何最好地為該生物體製作疫苗,並在實驗室和動物身上對其進行測試。
  • “臨床階段” –如果疫苗在臨床前階段取得了令人鼓舞的結果,則可以繼續在人們中進行測試,但是疫苗仍需要經過多個階段:
    • 第1階段–首先在少數健康人群(10-50歲)中對疫苗進行測試,並對其進行嚴密監控,以檢查疫苗是否安全以及是否會引起免疫反應
    • 第2階段–然後在更多的人(數百人)上測試疫苗,並對免疫反應進行更詳細的研究;研究人員繼續監視任何不良影響
    • 第3階段–對該疫苗進行了數千人的測試,以查看它是否可以保護他們免於感染該疾病;研究人員繼續監視任何不良影響

疫苗通常需要成功通過每個階段才能繼續進行下一階段,而且許多疫苗屬於這些障礙之一。疫苗通過初始階段後,製造商還需要確保可以將大量疫苗生產到很高的標準。

如果所有這些試驗都表明疫苗有效且安全,則必須對數據進行獨立評估,並由每個國家的藥品監管機構批准出售該疫苗。

從頭到尾,此過程可能需要十多年的時間才能完成,並耗資數億美元。即使在接種疫苗後,製造商和監管機構也會進行監控,以防出現罕見的副作用。

冠狀病毒疫苗開發有何不同?

由於巨大的不利影響,COVID-19大流行繼續在全球範圍內蔓延,希望可以在6-18個月內開發出針對新型冠狀病毒的疫苗。

這意味著將同時執行某些不同的測試階段,而不是一個接一個地執行。如果可以在不影響安全性的情況下完成某些臨床前研究,則也可以跳過。

資助者還試圖資助試圖使用不同方法開發疫苗的不同研究小組,以增加其中至少一種可行的機會。生產現場也將需要儘早開發,並在世界各地進行開發,這樣,如果我們獲得成功的疫苗,就可以快速生產和分發疫苗,以保護盡可能多的人。

以這種快速方式開發疫苗將需要數十億美元的投資。

冠狀病毒疫苗的發展達到了什麼階段?

在30 根據世界衛生組織(WHO)的數據,5月有:

  • 在臨床測試階段有10種潛在的COVID-19疫苗
  • 臨床前階段的121種潛在COVID-19疫苗

潛在的疫苗正在全球範圍內開發,其中北美開發46%,歐洲開發18%,亞洲和澳大利亞開發18%,中國開發18%。

牛津大學與阿斯利康合作開發了最先進的疫苗。最初在動物中的研究表明,該疫苗足夠安全,可以在人體中進行測試。該疫苗於4月下旬開始第一階段測試,涉及1,000多名健康成年人。

研究人員現在進入2/3測試階段,併計劃招募10,000多名志願者。研究的第一部分(第2階段)將包括少量的兒童和老年人(未包含在第1階段的測試中),以了解他們的反應。研究的第3階段部分將是研究的大部分,並且僅評估成年人。 2/3期疫苗已於5月開始接種。

研究人員可能會在今年6月中旬之前就初步了解該疫苗是否有效。但是,如果病毒在英國的傳播速度減慢,則從2/3期試驗中獲得結果可能需要長達6個月的時間。

牛津研究小組表示,他們希望最早在九月份就生產一百萬劑實驗疫苗。這是為了確保如果試驗確實表明該疫苗有效,那麼將有一定劑量的疫苗可供使用。

經濟學人智庫醫療保健 分析文章,由利潔時贊助

 

閱讀清單

  1. 健康主題:疫苗。 https://www.who.int/topics/vaccines/en/ (2020年6月1日訪問)
  2. COVID-19候選疫苗景觀草案。 2020年5月30日。可從以下地點獲得: https://www.who.int/who-documents-detail/draft-landscape-of-covid-19-candidate-vaccines (2020年6月1日訪問)
  3. 美國疾病預防控制中心。 https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/vpd/vpd-vac-basics.html
  4. 疫苗知識項目。牛津大學。 https://vk.ovg.ox.ac.uk/vk/how-do-vaccines-work
  5. 美國衛生與公共服務部。 Vaccines.gov https://www.vaccines.gov/basics (2020年6月1日訪問)
  6. NHS英國。為什麼接種疫苗安全且重要 https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/vaccinations/why-vaccination-is-safe-and-important/
  7. 英國廣播公司新聞之夜。冠狀病毒:研發疫苗的競賽。 2020年5月15日。網址: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V8jhlaep0Ww&t=369s
  8. 我們如何快速開發COVID-19疫苗? 2020年4月22日 https://wellcome.ac.uk/news/how-can-we-develop-covid-19-vaccine-quickly (2020年6月1日訪問)
  9. 電報。牛津大學冠狀病毒疫苗:到目前為止我們所知道的一切。 2020年6月1日在以下位置提供: https://www.telegraph.co.uk/global-health/science-and-disease/oxford-trial-covid-19-coronavirus-vaccine/ (2020年6月1日訪問)
  10. 牛津大學。牛津COVID-19疫苗將開始II / III期人體試驗。 2020年5月22日。 http://www.ox.ac.uk/news/2020-05-22-oxford-covid-19-vaccine-begin-phase-iiiii-human-trials (2020年6月1日訪問)

What is a vaccine?

A vaccine is a type of medicine which helps the body’s immune system to recognize and fight an infectious disease it has not come into contact with before. Vaccines are one of the most effective methods to prevent infectious diseases, and they have been estimated to prevent up to 3 million deaths a year globally. We currently have vaccines against more than 25 serious and potentially life-threatening diseases.

How do vaccines work?

When the immune system is exposed to a new disease-causing organism such as a virus or bacteria, as it fights it off, it also learns to recognise that organism. This means that if the person is exposed to the same organism again, the immune system can quickly make antibodies to attack it, and protect the person from getting sick and spreading the disease.

Vaccines take advantage of this, and “train” the immune system using small amounts of the weakened or dead virus or bacteria, their proteins or genetic material, that cannot make you sick.

How are vaccines made and tested?

Vaccines must go through several stages of testing to make sure they are safe and work well. The main stages are:

  • “Discovery and pre-clinical” phase – at this stage researchers work out how best to make a vaccine for the organism, and test it in the laboratory and on animals.
  • “Clinical phase” – if the vaccine gives promising results at the pre-clinical phase, it can go on to be tested in people, but there are still multiple stages the vaccine needs to pass:
    • Phase 1 – the vaccine is first tested on a small number of healthy people (10-50) who are monitored very closely to check that the vaccine is safe and to test whether it causes an immune response
    • Phase 2 – the vaccine is then tested on more people (hundreds) and the immune response is studied in more detail; researchers continue to monitor for any adverse effects
    • Phase 3 – the vaccine is tested in thousands of people to see if it protects them from catching the disease; researchers continue to monitor for any adverse effects

Vaccines normally need to successfully pass each phase before they can pass on to the next, and many vaccines fall at one of these hurdles. Once the vaccine passes the initial stages, the makers also need to make sure they can make large quantities of the vaccine to very high standards.

If all these trials suggest that a vaccine works and is safe, the data must be independently assessed, and the vaccine approved for sale by each country’s medicines regulatory body.

From start to finish, this process can take more than a decade to complete and cost hundreds of millions of dollars. Even after a vaccine is launched, the manufacturers and regulator monitor in case there are rare side effects.

What’s different about coronavirus vaccine development?

Because of the huge adverse impact, the COVID-19 pandemic continues to have globally, it is hoped that a vaccine against the novel coronavirus could be developed in 6-18 months.

This will mean carrying out some of the different testing stages at the same time, rather than one after the other. Some pre-clinical studies might also be skipped if this can be done without compromising safety.

Funders are also trying to fund different research groups trying to develop vaccines using different approaches, to increase the chances that at least one of these will work. Manufacturing sites will also need to be developed early, and in sites around the world, so that if we get a successful vaccine, it can be produced and distributed rapidly, to protect as many people as possible.

Developing the vaccine in this rapid way will require billions of dollars in investment.

What stage has coronavirus vaccine development reached?

On the 30th of May, according to the World Health Organization (WHO) there were:

  • 10 potential COVID-19 vaccines in the clinical phase of testing
  • 121 potential COVID-19 vaccines in the pre-clinical phase of testing

Potential vaccines are being developed worldwide, with 46% being developed in North America, 18% in Europe, 18% in Asia and Australia and 18% in China.

The vaccine in the most advanced stage is being developed by the University of Oxford, in collaboration with AstraZeneca. Initial studies in animals suggested that the vaccine was safe enough to be tested in humans. The vaccine started phase 1 testing in late April, which involved more than 1,000 healthy adults being given the vaccine.

The researchers are now moving on to phase 2/3 testing, and are aiming to recruit over 10,000 volunteers. The first part of the study (phase 2) will include small numbers of children and older adults, who were not included in phase 1 testing, to see how they respond. The phase 3 part of the study will be the larger part of the study and only assess adults. Vaccinations for phase 2/3 started in May.

The researchers may get the first signs on whether the vaccine works by mid-June this year. However, if transmission of the virus in the UK slows, getting results from the phase 2/3 trial could take up to 6 months.

The Oxford team stated that they expect to produce a million doses of the experimental vaccine as early as September. This is to ensure that if the trials do show that the vaccine works, there will be doses of it ready to be used.

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

 

Reading list

  1. Health topics: Vaccines. https://www.who.int/topics/vaccines/en/ (Accessed 1 June 2020)
  2. Draft landscape of COVID-19 candidate vaccines. 30 May 2020. Available from: https://www.who.int/who-documents-detail/draft-landscape-of-covid-19-candidate-vaccines (Accessed 1 June 2020)
  3. US CDC. https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/vpd/vpd-vac-basics.html
  4. Vaccine knowledge project. University of Oxford. https://vk.ovg.ox.ac.uk/vk/how-do-vaccines-work
  5. US Department of Health & Human Services. Vaccines.gov https://www.vaccines.gov/basics (Accessed 1 June 2020)
  6. NHS UK. Why vaccination is safe and important https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/vaccinations/why-vaccination-is-safe-and-important/
  7. BBC Newsnight. Coronavirus: The race to develop a vaccine. 15 May 2020. Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V8jhlaep0Ww&t=369s
  8. How can we develop a COVID-19 vaccine quickly? 22 April 2020 https://wellcome.ac.uk/news/how-can-we-develop-covid-19-vaccine-quickly (Accessed 1 June 2020)
  9. The Telegraph. University of Oxford coronavirus vaccine: everything we know so far. 1 June 2020 Available at: https://www.telegraph.co.uk/global-health/science-and-disease/oxford-trial-covid-19-coronavirus-vaccine/ (Accessed 1 June 2020)
  10. Oxford University. Oxford COVID-19 vaccine to begin phase II/III human trials. 22 May 2020. http://www.ox.ac.uk/news/2020-05-22-oxford-covid-19-vaccine-begin-phase-iiiii-human-trials (Accessed 1 June 2020)