關於英國是否應按照世界衛生組織的建議放寬其距離兩米的規則,目前仍存在爭議,以使某些企業和 款待 行業有更好的複蘇機會。

最新的 研究 收集了來自32項研究的證據,這些研究涉及COVID-19,SARS和MERS大流行期間的10,000多人。研究發現,當這些人與感染者接觸時,他們被感染的風險從相距不到一米的12.8%降低到相距至少一米的2.6%。當該高度增加到2米時,風險減小到1.3%。

如何緩解鎖定同時防止出現第二個峰值沒有簡單的答案。這樣的研究對於幫助告知這些複雜的決定至關重要。

資訊是從哪裡來的?

媒體報導了由世衛組織資助在《柳葉刀》上發表的系統評價。

審查的方法很嚴格,但是發現是基於觀察性研究的,因此不能限制影響行為的其他行為(例如人們洗手的頻率)。但是,這是當前可用的最佳證據。

資訊有什麼依據?

系統評價包括172項觀察性研究,根據身體狀況,了解已知感染者與附近感染者(家庭成員,護理人員或醫護人員)之間傳播SARS-CoV-2和其他類似呼吸道冠狀病毒的風險。面罩和防護眼鏡的距離和使用。

關於距離的主要結果來自於匯總了其中29項研究的結果(10,736名參與者)。

研究發現,如果人們相距至少近一米,則傳播的風險要比接近者低82%(調整後的優勢比為0.18)。這意味著估計感染該病毒的實際風險將從12.8%降低到2.6%。每隔一米,風險降低一半。

獨立 研究 已經研究了咳嗽後病毒如何通過空氣中的飛沫傳播。這項建模研究發現,在沒有風的情況下,輕度咳嗽產生的水滴不會攜帶至2米遠。但是,風速在2.5英里至8.5英里之間時,它們的傳播距離可達6米。

六米長的社交距離顯然不是一個選擇,但這項研究確實有助於保持2米的距離規則。

專家意見

英國政府 建議人們與家人以外的人保持2米的距離。的 美國疾病預防控制中心 (CDC)的建議相似,建議相距6英尺(約1.8米)。的 WHO 建議至少相隔1米。

經濟學人智庫醫療保健 分析文章,由利潔時贊助

 

引文和資助聲明

  1. Chu DK,Akl EA,Duda S等。進行物理疏散,戴口罩和保護眼睛以防止人對人傳播SARS-CoV-2和COVID-19:系統的回顧和薈萃分析。柳葉刀。 2020年6月1日。DOI: https://doi.org/10.1016/S0140-6736(20)31142-9
    資金來源:世界衛生組織(世衛組織)

閱讀清單

  1. Dbouk T,Drikakis D. 關於咳嗽和空氣中的飛沫傳播給人類。流體物理學。 32,053310(2020)。在線發佈於2020年5月19日。
  2. 英國。 指導意見:保持警惕和安全(與社會隔離)。 2020年5月31日更新。
  3. 美國疾病預防控制中心。 社交隔離。上次審核日期為2020年5月6日。
  4. 世界衛生組織。 冠狀病毒病(COVID-19)對公眾的建議。 2020年4月29日。已訪問2nd 2020年6月。

There is debate as to whether the UK should relax its 2 metre social distancing rules in line with the WHO recommendation to stay at least 1 metre apart so that certain businesses and the hospitality industry have a better chance of recovery.

The latest research has brought together evidence from 32 studies of over 10,000 people during pandemics of COVID-19, SARS and MERS. It found that when these people were in contact with someone with the infection, the risk of them catching it reduced from 12.8% when they stayed less than 1 metre apart to 2.6% when they stayed at least 1 metre apart. When this increased to 2 metres, the risk reduced to 1.3%.

There are no easy answers in how to ease lockdown while preventing a second peak. Studies such as this are vital in helping to inform these complex decisions.

Where did the story come from?

The media have reported on a systematic review published in The Lancet funded by the WHO.

The methods of the review were rigorous, but the findings are limited by being based on observational studies, which cannot rule other behaviours (like how often people washed their hands) impacting results. However, this is the best evidence currently available.

What is the basis for the claim?

The systematic review included 172 observational studies looking at the risk of transmission of SARS-CoV-2 and other similar respiratory coronaviruses between people with a known infection and those close to them (members of their household, caregivers, or healthcare workers) according to physical distance and use of face masks and protective eyewear.

The main results on distancing came from pooling the results of 29 of these studies (10,736 participants).

It found that the risk of transmission is 82% lower if people stay at least 1 metre apart compared to getting closer (adjusted odds ratio 0.18). This would mean the estimated actual risk of catching the virus would reduce from 12.8% to 2.6%. For every further metre apart, the risk was halved.

A separate study has looked at how the virus could be transmitted through droplets in the air from coughing. This modelling study found that droplets from a mild cough would not carry to 2 metres when there is no wind. However, with wind speeds of between 2.5mph to 8.5mph, they could spread up to 6 metres.

Six metre social distancing is clearly not an option, but this study does lend weight to keeping the 2-metre distancing rule.

What do trusted sources say?

The UK government advises that people should stay 2 metres apart from anyone outside of their household. The US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) advice is similar, suggesting a 6 foot distance (about 1.8 metres). The WHO recommends staying at least 1 metre apart.

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

 

Citation and funding statement

  1. Chu DK, Akl EA, Duda S et al. Physical distancing, face masks, and eye protection to prevent person-to-person transmission of SARS-CoV-2 and COVID-19: a systematic review and meta-analysis. The Lancet. June 01 2020. DOI: https://doi.org/10.1016/S0140-6736(20)31142-9
    Funding: World Health Organization (WHO)

Reading list

  1. Dbouk T, Drikakis D. On coughing and airborne droplet transmission to humans. Physics of Fluids. 32, 053310 (2020). Published Online 19 May 2020.
  2. UK. Guidance: Staying alert and safe (social distancing). Updated 31 May 2020.
  3. US CDC. Social distancing. Last reviewed 6 May 2020.
  4. World Health Organization. Coronavirus disease (COVID-19) advice for the public. April 29 2020. Accessed 2nd June 2020.