关于冠状病毒在儿童之间传播的报道相互矛盾。抓住它的机会(敏感性)和通过它的机会(传播)。有些人说年轻人感染的可能性较小,而另一些人则说他们传染的可能性也一样。通常,出现症状或疾病的机会与传播病毒的机会相混淆。

研究人员来自 伦敦大学学院 我们回顾了全球文献,发现20岁以下的年轻人比成年人少56%感染该病毒的可能性。

在这篇综述中,关于病毒传播的证据较少。

看起来儿童可以像其他任何人一样感染COVID-19,但是感染的可能性较小,或者在传播中起着积极的作用。卫生和身体疏远措施对每个人仍然至关重要。

这种说法的来源是什么?

守护者 报告指出,儿童感染该病毒的可能性是其一半,是社区中“最安全的群体”。这是继研究人员对 伦敦大学学院 目前正在等待同行评审和发布。

这种说法的依据是什么?

系统评价 旨在总结对儿童中COVID-19易感性和传播的理解。研究人员审查了6000多种出版物,并纳入了18项接触者追踪和人群筛选研究的数据。首席作者和儿童健康教授Russell Viner报告说,与18岁以下的成年人相比,18-20岁以下的年轻人患COVID-19的可能性降低了56%,因此“在传播病毒中的作用可能较小。 '他认为,这些发现可能有助于为开设学校或减少锁定措施的决策提供依据。

ONS 报告了一项初步调查的早期发现,该调查正在测试英格兰10,000户居民的COVID-19。经过两周的测试(27 四月至十 5月)发现在任何年龄段(包括2至19岁)中,阳性测试的比例均无差异,尽管由于每个年龄段的数字都很小,所以无法排除差异。

儿童似乎不太可能感染该病毒。但是,正如Viner教授所强调的那样,目前的困难是,要知道儿童将传染病传播给他人的可能性。

可靠的信息源是如何建议的?

WHO 建议任何年龄段的人都可以感染COVID-19。但是,儿童和青少年被认为不太可能受到严重感染。世卫组织还建议,即使年轻人只有轻微症状并且不会感到不适,他们仍然可以将感染传染给他人。

如果他们或家庭成员生病,则应采取与自我隔离相同的社会/身体隔离建议和建议,这些建议和建议适用于任何年龄段的年轻人。

由IU支持的EIU医疗保健分析

 

引用

  1. 伦敦大学学院。 儿童感染COVID-19的可能性是成年人的一半. 22nd 2020年5月

参考文献

  1. 夸口A,芒罗A,戈尔茨坦H. 儿科COVID-19文献的证据摘要,《别忘了泡泡》,2020年.
  2. 国家统计局。 冠状病毒(COVID-19)感染调查试点:英国,14岁 2020年5月
  3. 问答:青少年,青年和COVID-19

There have been conflicting reports on the spread of coronavirus between children. The chance of catching it (susceptibility) and the chance of passing it on (transmission). Some say that young people are less likely to become infected, while others report they’re just as likely to pass it on.  Frequently the chance of developing symptoms or the disease is confused with the chance of passing on the virus.

Researchers from University College London have reviewed the global literature and found that young people aged less than 20 years are 56% less likely to acquire the virus than adults.

There was less evidence on the transmission of the virus in this review.

It appears that children can catch COVID-19 like anyone else, but are less likely to have been infected or play an active role in transmission. Hygiene and physical distancing measures remain essential for everyone.

Where did the story come from?

The Guardian reports that children were half as likely to catch the virus and were the ‘safest group’ to be out in the community. This follows the preliminary findings of a systematic review by researchers from University College London that is currently awaiting peer-review and publication.

What is the basis for the claim?

The systematic review aimed to summarise what is understood about susceptibility and transmission of COVID-19 among children.  Researchers reviewed over 6000 publications and included data from 18 contact-tracing and population screening studies. Lead author and Professor of Child Health, Russell Viner, reports that young people aged under 18-20 are 56% less likely to contract COVID-19 than adults over this age and as such ‘are likely to play a smaller role in transmitting the virus.’ He suggests the findings may help to inform decision-making around opening schools or reducing lockdown measures.

The ONS reports early findings from a pilot survey that is testing the residents of 10,000 households in England for COVID-19. Testing over two weeks (27th April to 10th May) found no difference in the proportion testing positive in any age group, including those 2 to 19 years, though because of the numbers in each age group being small they were unable to exclude a difference.

It seems likely that children may be less likely to acquire the virus. But, as Professor Viner highlights, the difficulty currently is knowing how likely children are to transmit the infection to others.

What do trusted sources say?

The WHO advises that people of any age group can catch COVID-19. However, children and adolescents are understood to be less likely to get a severe infection. WHO also advises that young people can still transmit the infection to others, even if they have only mild symptoms and do not feel ill themselves.

The same social/physical distancing recommendations and advice to self-isolate if they, or a member of their family, becomes ill is highlighted, apply to young people as for any age group.

Analysis by EIU healthcare, supported by RB

 

Citation

  1. University College London. Children appear half as likely to catch COVID-19 as adults. 22nd May 2020

Reading list

  1. Boast A, Munro A, Goldstein H. An evidence summary of Paediatric COVID-19 literature, Don’t Forget the Bubbles, 2020.
  2. Office for National Statistics. Coronavirus (COVID-19) Infection survey pilot: England, 14th May 2020
  3. Q&A: Adolescents, youth and COVID-19