一些新闻来源报道,用于治疗类风湿关节炎的抗炎药可能是“挽救生命的冠状病毒疗法”。

越来越多的证据表明,在COVID-19中看到的某些严重影响可能是由过度炎症反应(称为“细胞因子风暴”)引起的。 Anakinra是一种阻滞称为白细胞介素-1的细胞因子的作用的药物。在治疗其他情况引起的细胞因子风暴之前,曾使用过它,但未获得此用途的许可。

最近的新闻报道是由 法国队列研究 使用anakinra治疗52例重症COVID肺炎住院患者。经过两周的治疗,接受过Anakinra的患者中只有25%需要通气或死亡,而最近在同一家医院接受治疗但未接受过Anakinra的相似患者为73%。服用Anakinra的人更容易出现血块和肝脏失衡。

在该早期研究中,该药似乎显示出严重的COVID肺炎的前景,但还需要更多的研究。目前正在进行一些随机对照试验,这些试验将使我们能够得出关于anakinra的影响的更明确的结论。

这种说法的来源是什么?

电报 是来自法国HôpitalParis Saint-Joseph研究人员进行的队列研究的媒体来源之一,该研究发表在同行评审杂志上 柳叶刀.

一项队列研究比较了接受不同方式治疗的人群的结局。这类研究的主要局限性在于,除了接受的治疗外,各组之间的差异可能会影响其结果。

这种说法的依据是什么?

这项队列研究招募了因COVID-19而被接纳患有双肺严重肺炎的成年人。同意服用anakinra的患者需注射药物10天。总共招募了52位患者,其中24位接受了anakinra 3月6日 四月。

作为对照组,研究人员确定了三月初入院的44例COVID-19患者,这些患者具有相同的症状但未接受过anakinra。这些患者当时在医院接受了其他治疗,包括抗生素或抗疟疾羟氯喹。所有患者均接受抗凝药物治疗。

在两周内,对照组的四分之三(32/44)需要通气或死亡,而anakinra组只有25%(13/52)。考虑到两组之间的已知差异后,这表示死亡或需要使用anakinra进行通气的风险降低了78%。

anakinra组中更多的患者出现了血凝块(19%比对照组的11%)或某些肝酶水平升高(13%对9%)。 anakinra组的患者在住院期间均未出现细菌感染。

除了这项研究之外, 其他一些小型观察研究 关于在COVID-19中使用anakinra的信息,其中一些尚未完全发布或经过同行评审。在此阶段,它们的局限性意味着无法得出有力的结论。但是,他们确实建议进行更可靠的试验,并且据报道 10项此类临床试验 目前正在进行中,包括英国的一个。其中大多数将在今年晚些时候完成。

这些试验针对的是不同类型的患者和anakinra的剂量,他们还将anakinra与不同的治疗方法进行比较,并观察不同的结果。这些试验在寻找潜在收益的同时,还将密切考虑anakinra是否会造成伤害。这一点很重要,因为已知Anakinra可以降低白细胞数量并增加感染的风险。

这些试验的结果将更加确定anakinra的效果以及哪些患者组可以从治疗中受益最大。

可靠的信息源是如何建议的?

在标准医疗实践中,anakinra具有严格的使用标准,该标准已在药物许可中列出。例如在欧洲和美国,它仅被许可作为类风湿性关节炎以及其他一些较不常见病的二线治疗药物。它目前在治疗COVID-19中的用途是“标签外”,这意味着它当前尚未获得该用途的许可。

5月,英国国家健康与护理卓越研究所(NICE)在5月份审查了在由COVID-19引起的特定炎症综合征患者中使用anakinra的证据。那时,他们只对COVID-19人群进行了三项小型观察性研究,其中只有一项发表。

NICE说,anakinra已被其他病毒触发的细胞因子风暴标签使用,据报道其耐受性相对较好。但是,他们建议谨慎使用anakinra和其他会影响已知或怀疑感染的重症患者免疫系统的药物,因为它们会增加感染并发症的风险。

由IU支持的EIU医疗保健分析

 

引用

  1. Huet T,Beausier H,Voisin O等。 Anakinra用于严重形式的COVID-19:一项队列研究。柳叶刀风湿病学。 2020年5月29日。
  2. King A,Vail A,O'Leary C,Hannan C等。 Anakinra在COVID-19中:临床试验的重要考虑因素。柳叶刀风湿病学。 2020年5月21日。

进一步阅读

  1. 不错。 COVID 19快速证据摘要:Anakinra用于COVID-19相关的继发性噬血细胞淋巴组织细胞增生。 2020年5月21日。(于2020年6月8日访问)
  2. 欧洲药品管理局。 Kineret(anakinra)。 (2020年6月8日访问)

An anti-inflammatory drug used to treat rheumatoid arthritis has been reported by some news sources to be a potentially ‘life-saving coronavirus treatment.’

Growing evidence suggests that some of the severe effects seen in COVID-19 could be caused by an excessive inflammatory response known as a ‘cytokine storm’.  Anakinra is a drug that blocks the action of a cytokine called interleukin-1. It has been used before to treat cytokine storms caused by other conditions, but it is not licensed for this use.

The recent news reports were prompted by a French cohort study which used anakinra to treat 52 people hospitalised with severe COVID pneumonia. Over two weeks of treatment, only 25% of those receiving anakinra needed ventilation or died, compared with 73% of similar patients who had recently been treated in the same hospital, but who didn’t receive anakinra. People taking anakinra were slightly more likely to develop blood clots and liver imbalance.

The drug seems to show promise for severe COVID pneumonia in this early stage research, but more research is needed. Several randomised controlled trials are currently in progress that will allow us to reach more definitive conclusions about anakinra’s impact.

Where did the story come from?

The Telegraph is among media sources to have reported on the cohort study carried out by researchers from Hôpital Paris Saint-Joseph in France, and published in the peer-reviewed journal The Lancet.

A cohort study compares outcomes in groups of people being treated in different ways. The main limitation of this type of study is that differences between the groups other than the treatments being received could impact their outcomes.

What is the basis for the claim?

The cohort study recruited adults who were admitted with severe pneumonia in both lungs due to COVID-19. Patients who agreed to be given anakinra received injections of the drug for 10 days. In total 52 patients were recruited to receive anakinra between 24th March and 6th April.

As a control group, the researchers identified 44 patients admitted with COVID-19 earlier in  March who had the same symptoms but had not received anakinra. These patients received other treatments being used at the hospital at the time, including antibiotics or the antimalarial hydroxychloroquine. All patients received anti-clotting drugs.

Over two weeks, three-quarters of the control group (32/44) required ventilation or died compared with only 25% in the anakinra group (13/52). After considering known differences between the groups, this represented a 78% reduction in risk of death or needing ventilation with anakinra.

More patients in the anakinra group developed a blood clot (19% versus 11% of controls) or had elevated levels of certain liver enzymes (13% versus 9%). None of the patients in the anakinra group developed bacterial infections while they were in hospital.

In addition to this study, there have been a few other small observational studies on the use of anakinra in COVID-19, some of which have not been fully published or peer reviewed. At this stage, their limitations mean that strong conclusions can’t be drawn. However, they do suggest that more robust trials are worth conducting, and there are reportedly 10 such clinical trials currently in progress, including one in the UK. Most of these are due to be completed later this year.

These trials are looking at different types of patients and doses of anakinra, they are also comparing anakinra to different treatments and looking at different outcomes. As well as looking at potential benefits, these trials will also closely consider whether anakinra could cause harm. This is important as anakinra is known to lower white blood cell count and increase risk of infection.

The results of these trials will give greater certainty of the effect of anakinra and which patient groups could most benefit from treatment.

What do trusted sources say?

In standard medical practice, anakinra has strict criteria for use, which are laid out in the drug’s licence. In Europe and the US for example, it is only licensed as a second-line treatment for rheumatoid arthritis, and for a few other less common conditions. Its current use in the treatment of COVID-19 is ‘off label’ meaning it is not currently licensed for that use.

In May the UK’s National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) reviewed the evidence on the use of anakinra in people with a specific inflammatory syndrome resulting from COVID-19 in May. At that point, they only identified three small observational studies in people with COVID-19, only one of which was published.

NICE says that anakinra has been used off label for cytokine storms triggered by other viruses and is reported to be relatively well tolerated. However, they advised caution in using anakinra and other drugs which affect the immune system in critically ill people with known or suspected infections because they increase the risk of infectious complications.

Analysis by EIU healthcare, supported by RB

 

Citation

  1. Huet T, Beaussier H, Voisin O, et al. Anakinra for severe forms of COVID-19: a cohort study. The Lancet Rheumatology. 2020 May 29.
  2. King A, Vail A, O’Leary C, Hannan C, et al. Anakinra in COVID-19: important considerations for clinical trials. The Lancet Rheumatology. 2020 May 21.

Further reading

  1. NICE. COVID 19 rapid evidence summary: Anakinra for COVID-19 associated secondary haemophagocytic lymphohistiocytosis. 21 May 2020. (Accessed 8 June 2020)
  2. European Medicines Agency. Kineret (anakinra). (Accessed 8 June 2020)