曾經有過關於面部朝下躺著(俯臥)比面對面躺著更容易幫助COVID-19的人呼吸的報導。

自從COVID大流行開始以來,就一直將呼吸患者定位於重症監護室。 指導方針 現在建議醫生嘗試將有呼吸困難的有意識的COVID-19住院患者放在他們的正面,以查看它是否有助於緩解肺部壓力。這是通過仔細監測血液中的氧氣含量來完成的,以確保不會使情況惡化。幫助人們經常性地轉身,以使他們不會一直處於前沿。

並非每個人都可以從正面朝下躺下來。不建議患有某些疾病或近期腹部手術或脊椎損傷的人服用。孕婦和非常肥胖的人也可能無法躺下。

資訊是從哪裡來的?

一個 文章 一位醫學生在博客平台上的一位中學生解釋了世界各地的醫院如何使用“檢針”(一種將患者置於自己面前的做法)來治療呼吸困難的患者。在有插管的(通氣的)和無插管的患者中,有很多關於在俯臥位中使用俯臥位的期刊出版物。

資訊有什麼依據?

一種 以前的評論 (不適用於COVID-19)概述了俯臥位在危及生命的急性呼吸窘迫綜合徵(ARDS)患者中的使用。在這種情況下,肺部發炎,液體洩漏到氣囊(肺泡)中,氧氣進入周圍毛細血管的傳輸受到損害,導致患者呼吸急促,血液中的氧氣不足。 ARDS可能有多種原因,包括感染,並在患有嚴重COVID-19感染的人中發現。

簡單地說,當您平躺著仰臥時,肺後部會受到各種力的擠壓,包括來自其餘肺部和組織,心臟和diaphragm肌的力。在您的前方,這些各種壓力都降低了,肺活量增加了,氧合也得到了改善。審查提供了來自 一次審判 ARDS患者被隨機分配在其正面(俯臥)或背面(仰臥)通氣。通風的患者比仰臥的患者更有可能生存。

俯臥位已經用於重症監護,以管理COVID-19的通氣患者。越來越多的證據表明,不使用呼吸機的COVID住院患者傾向於俯臥定位,以期改善結局並減少接受重症監護的需求。例如, 一項小型觀察性研究 在法國,發現大多數患者能夠忍受俯臥位幾個小時。但是,只有四分之一的人表現出更好的氧合作用。作者呼籲進行更多試驗,以幫助確定可能受益的患者。

專家意見

英國重症監護協會已經產生了新的 指導 放置有意識的或未通風的,懷疑或確診COVID-19的無呼吸患者的俯臥位。對於需要基本呼吸支持以維持血液氧合,能夠獨立溝通和定位且沒有可疑氣道問題的人,建議使用此方法。俯臥位有多種禁忌症,包括人的心血管或呼吸系統不穩。

重症監護學會說:“鑑於其改善COVID-19患者氧合作用的潛力,我們主張對病房中所有合適的患者進行有意識俯臥位試驗。”

由IU支持的EIU醫療保健分析

 

閱讀清單

  1. 亨德森WR等。 俯臥位能改善急性呼吸窘迫綜合徵患者的氧合作用並降低其死亡率嗎? Can Respir J.2014; 21(4):213-215。 doi:10.1155 / 2014/472136
  2. Guérin,C.,Reignier,J.,Richard,JC。等等。 PROSEVA研究小組。 嚴重急性呼吸窘迫綜合症的俯臥位。 N Engl J Med(2013); 368:2159–2168。
  3. Elharrar X,Trigui Y,Dols A等。 俯臥位在未插管的COVID-19和低氧血症急性呼吸衰竭患者中的應用。賈瑪在線發佈於2020年5月15日。doi:10.1001 / jama.2020.8255
  4. 重症監護學會。 ICS指南,有意識的COVID患者2020年俯臥。 (2020年6月8日訪問)

There has been publicity about how lying face-down (prone) may help people with COVID-19 to breathe more easily than when they are lying face-up.

Prone positioning of ventilated patients in intensive care units has been used since the start of the COVID pandemic. Guidelines now recommend that doctors try putting conscious hospital patients with COVID-19 who experience breathing difficulties onto their fronts, to see if it helps ease the pressure on their lungs. This is done with careful monitoring of blood oxygen levels to be sure it does not make things worse. People are helped to turn regularly so they are not constantly on their fronts.

Not everyone benefits from lying face-down. It’s not recommended for people with certain medical conditions or who have had recent abdominal surgery or spinal injury. Pregnant women and people who are very obese may also be unable to lie prone.

Where did the story come from?

An article by a medical student on the blogging platform Medium explained how hospitals around the world are using ‘proning’ – the practice of putting patients to lie on their fronts – to treat patients with breathing difficulties. There have been various journal publications on the use of prone positioning in COVID-19, both in intubated (ventilated) and non-intubated patients.

What is the basis for the claim?

A previous review (not specific to COVID-19) outlined the use of prone positioning in patients with the life-threatening condition of acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS). This is when the lungs become inflamed, fluid leaks into the air sacs (alveoli), and oxygen transfer into the surrounding blood capillaries is impaired, causing the patient to be very short of breath and have low blood oxygen. ARDS can have various causes, including infection, and is seen in people with severe COVID-19 infection.

When you lie flat on your back, in simplistic terms, the back of the lungs are compressed by various forces, including that from the rest of the lungs and tissues, your heart and diaphragm. On your front these various pressures are reduced, there is more lung capacity available and improved oxygenation. The review presented evidence from one trial where patients with ARDS were randomly assigned to be ventilated on their front (prone) or back (supine). Patients ventilated prone were more likely to survive than patients ventilated supine.

Prone positioning is already used in intensive care to manage ventilated patients with COVID-19. The evidence is increasing into the use of prone positioning for patients hospitalised with COVID who are not on a ventilator, with the hope that this may improve outcomes and reduce the need for intensive care admission. For example, one small, observational study in France found that most patients were able to tolerate prone positioning for several hours. However, only a quarter demonstrated improved oxygenation. The authors called for more trials to help identify patients who may benefit.

What do trusted sources say?

The UK Intensive Care Society has produced new guidance on prone positioning of conscious, unventilated patients hospitalised with suspected or confirmed COVID-19. It is recommended as a consideration for people who need basic respiratory support to maintain blood oxygenation, are able to communicate and position themselves independently and have no suspected airway issues. There are various contraindications to prone positioning, including any instability in the person’s cardiovascular or respiratory system.

The Intensive Care Society says: “Given its potential for improving oxygenation in COVID-19 patients we advocate that a trial of conscious prone positioning be performed on all suitable patients on the ward.”

Analysis by EIU healthcare, supported by RB

 

Reading list

  1. Henderson WR et al. Does prone positioning improve oxygenation and reduce mortality in patients with acute respiratory distress syndrome? Can Respir J. 2014;21(4):213‐215. doi:10.1155/2014/472136
  2. Guérin, C., Reignier, J., Richard, JC. Et al. PROSEVA Study Group. Prone Positioning in Severe Acute Respiratory Distress Syndrome. N Engl J Med (2013); 368: 2159–2168.
  3. Elharrar X, Trigui Y, Dols A, et al. Use of Prone Positioning in Nonintubated Patients With COVID-19 and Hypoxemic Acute Respiratory Failure. JAMA. Published online May 15, 2020. doi:10.1001/jama.2020.8255
  4. Intensive Care Society. ICS Guidance for Prone Positioning of the Conscious COVID Patient 2020. (Accessed 8 June 2020)