科學家已經開發了一种血液測試,他們說這种血液測試可以發現誰最有可能患上嚴重的COVID-19疾病,並且可以幫助醫生開發新的治療方法。

有些人在感染SARS-CoV-2(引起COVID-19的病毒)後只有輕微症狀,而其他人則受到的影響更為嚴重。尚不清楚為什麼有些人比其他人受影響更大。該測試表明免疫系統對病毒的反應可以解釋這種變異。

血液測試鑑定出27種蛋白質,這些蛋白質在患有更嚴重疾病的人中高於或低於正常範圍。如果測試通過驗證,則這些蛋白質可用作“生物標記”,以識別可能需要氧氣或通氣的人。

但是,在這項研究中,該測試僅用於48名COVID-19患者。需要進行更大的研究以確保測試的可靠性。

 

資訊是從哪裡來的?

太陽時代 刊登了來自英國弗朗西斯·克里克研究所(Francis Crick Institute)和德國柏林的Charite Universitatsmedizin柏林的有關該研究的新聞報導。這兩份報告均側重於進行測試的潛力,以識別出罹患嚴重疾病或死亡的風險最高的人群。

 

資訊有什麼依據?

研究 報告所依據的是發表在《細胞出版社》上的雜誌。在這項研究中,研究人員解釋了他們如何開發一種使用質譜快速分析血液樣本中蛋白質的系統。研究人員說,該自動化系統每天可以分析近800個樣品。它是在COVID-19爆發開始之前開發的。

他們使用來自蘇格蘭199人的隨機人群水平的血液測試對系統進行了“培訓”。該系統使用一種形式的人工智能,深度神經網絡來分析來自蘇格蘭血樣的數據。然後,一旦冠狀病毒爆發開始,他們便與德國的醫生一起分析了31名入院的COVID-19患者的血液樣本。

該研究確定了27種生物標誌物,它們對病情較重的患者而言高於或低於正常水平。然後,另一組17名COVID-19患者和15名健康志願者進行了血液中這些生物標誌物的檢測。

被發現病情更嚴重的人的生物標誌物有所不同,包括與炎症和免疫反應有關的蛋白質,以及與凝血和組織修復有關的蛋白質。在病情較重的COVID-19患者中,已經看到炎症,過度活躍的免疫反應,血液凝塊和肺組織損傷。

研究人員說,他們的測試不僅可以幫助確定可能患有更嚴重疾病並且需要更多護理的患者,還可以幫助研究人員嘗試確定如何最好地通過藥物或其他療法來靶向治療該疾病。

 

經濟學人智庫醫療保健 分析文章,由利潔時贊助

 

引文

  1. 梅斯納(Messner),CB; Demichev,V; Wendisch,D等。 超高通量蛋白質組學揭示了COVID-19感染的分類器。 Cell Systems(2020),doi:https://doi.org/10.1016/ j.cels.2020.05.012。

Scientists have developed a blood test which they say may be able to spot who is at most risk of getting severe COVID-19 disease, and which may help doctors to develop new treatments.

Some people have only mild symptoms after being infected with SARS-CoV-2, the virus that causes COVID-19, while others are much more severely affected. It is not clear why some people are affected more than others. This test suggests the immune system response to the virus may explain this variation.

The blood test identified 27 proteins which were either higher or lower than the normal range in people who had more severe disease. If the test is validated, these proteins could be used as ‘biomarkers’ to identify people likely to need oxygen or ventilation.

However, in the study, the test was used on just 48 people with COVID-19. Bigger studies would be needed to make sure the test is reliable.

 

Where did the story come from?

The Sun and The Times carried news stories about the research, from the Francis Crick Institute in the UK and the Charite Universitatsmedizin Berlin in Germany. Both reports focused on the potential of the tests to identify those at highest risk of severe illness or death.

 

What is the basis for the claim?

The study the reports were based on was published in the journal Cell Press. In the study, the researchers explain how they developed a system to rapidly analyse proteins in blood samples using mass spectrometry. The automated system can analyse almost 800 samples a day, the researchers say. It was developed before the COVID-19 outbreak started.

They ‘trained’ the system using blood tests from a random population-level sample of 199 people from Scotland. The system used a form of artificial intelligence, deep neural networks, to analyse the data from the Scottish blood samples. Then, once the coronavirus outbreak began, they worked with doctors in Germany to analyse blood samples from 31 patients admitted to hospital with COVID-19.

The research identified 27 biomarkers which were higher or lower than normal for patients who were more severely ill. A separate group of 17 COVID-19 patients and 15 healthy volunteers then had their blood tested for these biomarkers.

The biomarkers found to be different in people who were more severely ill included proteins involved in inflammation and immune response, as well as proteins relating to blood clotting and tissue repair. Inflammation, an over-active immune response, blood clots and damage to lung tissue have all been seen in sicker COVID-19 patients.

The researchers say their test might not only help identify patients likely to have worse disease and need more care, but could also help researchers trying to work out how best to target the disease with drugs or other treatments.

 

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

 

Citation

  1. Messner, C.B; Demichev, V; Wendisch, D et al. Ultra-high-throughput clinical proteomics reveals classifiers of COVID-19 infection. Cell Systems (2020), doi: https://doi.org/10.1016/ j.cels.2020.05.012.