有人擔心COVID-19對英國和美國等國家的少數民族社區產生了過度影響。

英國的最新數據提供了對風險最大的人群的洞察力。英格蘭公共衛生的報告證實,與英格蘭的白人相比,黑人,亞洲人和其他少數族裔的人患COVID-19的風險更高。

黑人最有可能被診斷出COVID-19,而孟加拉國背景的人則有最高的死亡風險。與白人相比,中國人,印度人,巴基斯坦人,其他亞洲人,加勒比海人和其他黑人種族的死亡風險更高。

該報告還發現,生活在較貧困地區和城市的人們,患有高血壓或糖尿病的人以及從事包括出租車司機,保安人員和護士在內的公共工作的人更可能受到嚴重影響。這些因素可能會導致族裔群體之間出現某些差異。

需要進一步的工作來確定如何解決這些不平等現象。

資訊是從哪裡來的?

英國大多數新聞媒體都報導了英國公共衛生的這項研究,其中包括 守護者英國廣播公司的新聞。也有 媒體報導 在其他國家的差距。

資訊有什麼依據?

該報告使用的數據收集了截至5月13日COVID-19呈陽性的人(大多數測試是在醫院進行的)以及來自多個來源的COVID-19死亡的數據。

考慮年齡後,該報告發現:

  • 最有可能被診斷出COVID-19的人群是來自黑人的人群(每10萬名女性486例,每100,000名男性649例)。白人中最不可能被診斷出COVID-19的人群(每100,000名女性中220例,每100,000名男性中224例)
  • 考慮到性別,年齡以及被剝奪者的居住面積和水平,在看待具有確診的COVID-19的人時,孟加拉族背景的人死亡的可能性是白人的兩倍。來自亞洲和其他種族的人的患病風險也更高,從10%到50%不等,高於白人。

在報告的其他部分,發現護理輔助人員,出租車司機和保安人員的風險增加。已知患有高血壓和糖尿病的人患病的風險增加。來自黑人和亞洲種族背景的人可能更有可能從事這些高風險的工作和醫療條件,這可能是造成所看到的差異的原因。

專家意見

英國公共衛生的結論是,他們的報告“證實了COVID-19的影響已經復制了現有的健康不平等,並且在某些情況下加劇了這些不平等。”他們說,結果“將有助於製定未來對[大流行]的公共衛生應對措施”。

萊斯特大學初級保健糖尿病和血管醫學教授Kamlesh Khunti教授在科學媒體中心發表的一份聲明中說:“這是對與COVID病例,嚴重程度和死亡率相關的危險因素的全面綜述。它總結了已發表的研究,並使用監視數據進行了描述性分析。研究結果與先前發表的結果一致。但是,該報告沒有就如何減少這些差距提出任何建議。”

由EIU Healthcare分析,由Reckitt Benckiser支持。

引文

  1. 英國公共衛生。 COVID-19:審查風險和結果之間的差異。 2020年6月2日。 https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/covid-19-review-of-disparities-in-risks-and-outcomes (於2020年6月12日訪問)。

閱讀清單

  1. 科學媒體中心。專家對PHE審查COVID-19中的風險和結果差異的反應。 https://www.sciencemediacentre.org/expert-reaction-to-phe-review-of-disparities-in-risks-and-outcomes-in-covid-19/ (於2020年6月12日訪問)。

There has been concern that COVID-19 is having an excessive impact on minority ethnic communities in countries such as the UK and US.

Recent data from the UK has provided insight into the groups who are at greatest risk. The report from Public Health England confirms that people of black, Asian and other ethnic minority groups are at higher risk from COVID-19, compared to white people in England.

Black people were the most likely to be diagnosed with COVID-19, while people from Bangladeshi backgrounds had the highest risk of death. People of Chinese, Indian, Pakistani, other Asian, Caribbean and other black ethnicity had a higher risk of death compared to white people.

The report also found that people living in more deprived and urban areas, people with conditions such as high blood pressure or diabetes, and people with public-facing jobs including taxi drivers, security guards and nurses, were more likely to be severely affected. These factors could contribute to some of the discrepancies seen between ethnic groups.

Further work is needed to identify how these inequalities can be addressed.

Where did the story come from?

Most news media outlets in the UK reported on the study from Public Health England, including The Guardian and BBC News. There has also been media coverage of the disparities in other countries.

What is the basis for the claim?

The report used data collected on people testing positive for COVID-19 up to 13 May (most tests were done in hospital) and on deaths from COVID-19 from a number of sources.

After taking age into account, the report found that:

  • The group most likely to be diagnosed with COVID-19 were people from black ethnic groups (486 cases per 100,000 women and 649 per 100,000 men). The group least likely to be diagnosed with COVID-19 were white people (220 cases per 100,000 women and 224 per 100,000 men)
  • When looking at people with confirmed COVID-19, people of Bangladeshi ethnic background were twice as likely to die from it as white people, after taking account of sex, age and the area and level of deprivation of where they lived. The risk was also higher for people from other Asian and black ethnic groups, ranging from 10% to 50% higher than that for the white population.

In other parts of the report, people working as nursing auxiliaries, taxi drivers and security guards were found to be at increased risk. People with conditions including high blood pressure and diabetes are already known to be at increased risk. People from black and Asian ethnic backgrounds may be more likely to have these at-risk jobs and medical conditions, and this could be contributing to the differences seen.

What do trusted sources say?

Public Health England concludes that their report “confirms that the impact of COVID-19 has replicated existing health inequalities and, in some cases, has increased them.” They say that the results “will help in formulating the future public health response to [the pandemic]”.

In a statement via the Science Media Centre, Professor Kamlesh Khunti, Professor of Primary Care Diabetes and Vascular Medicine at the University of Leicester, said: ‘This is a comprehensive review of the risk factors associated with COVID cases, severity and mortality.  It has summarised published studies and conducted descriptive analysis using surveillance data.  The findings are in agreement with what has been published previously. However, the report does not make any recommendations on how to reduce these disparities.’

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser.

Citation

  1. Public Health England. COVID-19: review of disparities in risks and outcomes. 2 June 2020. https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/covid-19-review-of-disparities-in-risks-and-outcomes (Accessed 12 June 2020).

Reading list

  1. Science Media Centre. Expert reaction to PHE review of disparities in risks and outcomes in COVID-19. https://www.sciencemediacentre.org/expert-reaction-to-phe-review-of-disparities-in-risks-and-outcomes-in-covid-19/ (Accessed 12 June 2020).