目前正在進行試驗,以查看從COVID-19中恢復的人的血液製品是否可以幫助增強嚴重感染者的免疫反應。

從COVID-19中恢復的人將產生針對該病毒的特異性抗體,並將其標記為可被其他免疫細胞破壞。這些抗體在恢復後仍保留在透明的血液中(血漿)。醫生正在進行試驗,以找出從供體中註入這種“恢復血漿”是否可以幫助重病患者。過去,恢復性血漿已被用於治療其他呼吸道病毒,包括SARS。

迄今為止,只有很少的觀測報告可用於COVID-19,無法提供充分的證據。但是,目前正在進行22項隨機對照試驗,這些試驗對於該研究產品是否是COVID-19的安全有效治療方法應該給出更可靠的結果。

資訊是從哪裡來的?

多家媒體(全國廣播公司在線郵寄)已報告了醫院使用恢復血漿的情況。中的醫療服務 英國我們 其他國家/地區要求從COVID-19中康復的人註冊捐獻血漿。但是, Cochrane系統評價 到目前為止完成的研究中,有說尚無足夠證據說明它是否有效。恢復性血漿被監管為研究產品,目前可在試驗中使用。

資訊有什麼依據?

在四月下旬, Cochrane評論 搜索了報導使用恢復性血漿治療COVID-19的研究。他們確定了八項觀察性研究,包括32名患者,其中大多數需要呼吸支持。輸血後3至37天對患者進行隨訪。

隨訪期間無一例患者死亡。六項研究報導輸血後患者症狀有所改善。但是,報告的質量很差,研究人員無法提取有關這些改進的足夠信息。這些研究在報告重症監護病房,住院時間或出院方面也不一致。

因此,這提供了關於恢復血漿效果的非常有限的證據。由於沒有接受標準護理或替代護理的患者的比較組,因此我們不知道是否有任何改善是輸注的直接結果。它們可能是由於其他治療方法引起的,或者只是反映出感染的自然過程。

但是,兩項研究中的兩名患者出現了不良反應。一個人輸了恢復性血漿後發燒,而另一個人出現嚴重的過敏反應。因此,還需要考慮風險收益平衡。

令人鼓舞的是,該評價確定了48項正在進行的研究,其中22項是隨機對照試驗。這些應該平衡患者特徵的任何差異,並提供有關恢復期血漿是否是COVID-19的安全有效治療的更可靠信息。

專家意見

本月初, 英國血液,組織和器官安全諮詢委員會 (SaBTO)概述了從COVID-19中恢復28天后從個人那裡收集獻血的建議。最佳的捐獻者應該是那些因嚴重感染而住院的人,因為他們產生的抗體水平最高。

該提案強調了當前的限制,即自1980年以來輸血的人由於vCJD傳播的風險目前無法獻血。這意味著接受恢復期血漿的人無法再捐獻自己,可能會限制將來的捐獻者人數。他們臨時提議,由於風險低,應允許這些人捐贈。

經濟學人智庫醫療保健 分析文章,由利潔時贊助

 

引文

  1. Valk SJ等。恢復性血漿或超免疫性免疫球蛋白治療COVID-19的人:快速回顧。 Cochrane系統評價數據庫2020,第5期。編號:CD013600 DOI:10.1002 / 14651858.CD013600。

閱讀清單

  1. 社論。 康復血漿療法的複活。柳葉刀血液學2020; 7,e353。
  2. 衛生和社會保健部。 使用血漿捐贈治療COVID-19:SaBTO的建議
  3. 美國食品和藥物管理局。 關於研究性COVID-19康復血漿的建議

Trials are underway to see whether blood products from people who have recovered from COVID-19 can help boost the immune response of people with severe infection.

People who have recovered from COVID-19 will have produced specific antibodies that target the virus and mark it out for destruction by other immune cells. These antibodies remain in the clear blood fluid (plasma) after they recover. Doctors are carrying out trials to find out whether giving an infusion of this ‘convalescent plasma’ from a donor could help people who are seriously ill. Convalescent plasma has been used to treat other respiratory viruses, including SARS, in the past.

To date, only a few observational reports are available on its use in COVID-19, which cannot provide good evidence. However, 22 randomised controlled trials are now underway, which should give more reliable results on whether this investigational product is a safe and effective treatment for COVID-19.

Where did the story come from?

Several media outlets (NBC and Mail Online) have reported on the use of convalescent plasma in hospitals. Healthcare services in the UK and US among other countries are asking people who have recovered from COVID-19 to register to donate their plasma. However, a Cochrane systematic review of studies completed so far said there was not yet enough evidence to say whether it works. Convalescent plasma is regulated as an investigational product, for use in trials currently.

What is the basis for the claim?

In late April, the Cochrane review searched for studies that reported using convalescent plasma to treat COVID-19. They identified eight observational studies, including 32 patients, most of whom needed respiratory support. Patients were followed up from between 3 and 37 days after transfusion.

None of the patients died during follow-up. Six studies reported seeing improvement in patient symptoms after transfusion. However, the quality of reporting was poor, and the researchers could not extract sufficient information about these improvements. Neither were the studies consistent in their reporting of admissions to intensive care, duration of stay, or discharges from hospital.

Therefore this provides very limited evidence on the effect of convalescent plasma. Because there was no comparison group of patients receiving standard or alternative care, we do not know whether any improvements were a direct result of the infusion. They might have been due to other treatment, or just reflected the natural course of the infection.

However, two patients in two studies experienced adverse reactions. One got a fever after having the infusion of convalescent plasma, while another had a serious allergic reaction. Therefore the risk-benefit balance also needs to be considered.

Encouragingly, the review identified 48 ongoing studies, 22 of which are randomised controlled trials. These should balance out any differences in patient characteristics and give more reliable information about whether convalescent plasma is a safe and effective treatment for COVID-19.

What do trusted sources say?

Earlier this month, the UK Advisory Committee on the Safety of Blood, Tissues and Organs (SaBTO) outlined the proposal to collect donated blood from individuals with 28 days of their recovery from COVID-19.  The optimal donors are expected to be those who have been hospitalised with severe infection, as they would have produced the highest antibody levels.

The proposal highlights the current restriction that people who have been transfused since 1980 are not currently able to donate blood due to risk of vCJD transmission. This would mean that people who receive convalescent plasma could not then donate themselves, potentially limiting future donor numbers. They provisionally propose that these individuals should be allowed to donate as the risk is low.

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

 

Citation

  1. Valk SJ et al. Convalescent plasma or hyperimmune immunoglobulin for people with COVID-19: a rapid review. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 2020, Issue 5. Art. No.: CD013600. DOI: 10.1002/14651858.CD013600.

Reading list

  1. Editorial. The resurgence of convalescent plasma therapy. The Lancet Haematology 2020; 7, e353.
  2. Department of Health and Social Care. Use of plasma donations to treat COVID-19: recommendations from SaBTO
  3. US Food and Drug Administration. Recommendations for Investigational COVID-19 Convalescent Plasma