不确定是否可以从厕所中捕获COVID-19。但是,由于已知其他病毒会通过此途径传播,因此请采取谨慎的预防措施。

这些包括:

  • 冲洗前放下马桶盖
  • 经常清洁马桶座圈,盖子和冲洗把手或按钮
  • 上厕所后要仔细洗手

在厕所废水和粪便样本中发现了导致COVID-19的病毒SARS-CoV-2。但是,尚不清楚来自肠道的病毒颗粒是否会在人与人之间传播,并且已知粪便传播不是主要的传播途径。

在中国进行的一项研究研究了在不盖盖子的情况下冲水马桶时会产生什么颗粒。结果表明,冲水引起的湍流可以将很小的水滴推高到马桶上方的空气中。如果水滴中含有传染性病毒颗粒,它们可能会进入人的嘴,眼睛或鼻子,引起感染。

这种说法的来源是什么?

英国广播公司的新闻 载有一篇有关中国研究的文章,该文章警告说冲洗可能会产生“喷雾状”。这篇文章清楚地表明,我们不知道SARS-CoV-2是否以这种方式传播,但警告说,已知其他病毒会由于厕所卫生条件差而传播。

 

这种说法的依据是什么?

研究 来自三所中国大学的研究人员使用流动动力学的计算机模型来监测冲水后马桶中水中颗粒的流动。他们对冲水马桶时以及之后几分钟的这些颗粒的轨迹进行了建模。他们发现:

  • 冲洗会在马桶座盆上方的空气中产生涡流,从而鼓励“大量向上传播病毒颗粒”(40%至60%)到达马桶座圈上方
  • 颗粒物可以达到马桶座圈上方约一米的高度
  • 冲洗后一分钟以上,颗粒仍悬浮在空气中

研究人员说,在冲水之前关闭马桶盖,可以防止这种颗粒传播。他们还建议在使用前清洗马桶座圈,因为它可能已被冲洗颗粒污染。当然,在使用厕所后要仔细洗手,对于摆脱厕所冲水装置或门把手的感染痕迹很重要。

人们认为,冠状病毒的主要传播途径是通过咳嗽,打喷嚏或呼气的人的飞沫传播。但是,医生在被感染者的粪便中发现了病毒颗粒,并且一些COVID-19的人出现了腹泻或呕吐。因此,注意厕所卫生很有意义。

 

可靠的信息源是如何建议的?

NHS 建议经常用肥皂和清水洗手,但不提供有关上厕所的具体建议。但是,使用厕所后要仔细洗手是标准的卫生建议。

 

分析来源:英国经济学人智库 健康保健部(EIU Healthcare),由利洁时提供支持

 

引用

  1. 云运等。厕所能促进病毒传播吗?从流体动力学的角度。物理流体32,065107(2020)。 https://aip.scitation.org/doi/10.1063/5.0013318

 

参考文献

  1. 肖飞,孙静,徐Y,李飞,黄旭,李辉等。严重COVID-19患者粪便中的传染性SARS-CoV-2。新兴感染病2020年8月[引自2020年6月23日] https://wwwnc.cdc.gov/eid/article/26/8/20-0681_article
  2. 美国疾病控制中心。 2019年冠状病毒病(COVID-19) 经常问的问题。病毒如何传播。 https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/faq.html#Spread

It is not certain whether you can catch COVID-19 from toilets, or not. However, as other viruses are known to spread through this route, it makes sense to take careful precautions.

These include:

  • Put the toilet lid down before flushing
  • Clean the toilet seat, lid and flush handle or button frequently
  • Wash hands carefully after using the toilet

The virus that causes COVID-19, SARS-CoV-2, has been found in wastewater from toilets and in samples of faeces. However, it is unclear whether virus particles from the gut spread from person to person and it is known that faecal spread is not the main route of transmission.

A study in China looked at what happens to particles when a toilet is flushed without the lid down. It showed the turbulence caused by the flush can propel very small droplets of water high into the air above the toilet. If the water droplets contain infectious virus particles, they could get into people’s mouth, eyes or noses, causing infection.

Where did the story come from?

BBC News carried an article about the Chinese study, which warned that flushing could create a ‘plume of spray’. The article makes clear that we do not know whether SARS-CoV-2 spreads in this way, but warns that other viruses are known to spread through poor toilet hygiene.

 

What is the basis for the claim?

The study by researchers from three Chinese universities used computer-modelling of fluid dynamics to monitor the flow of particles in water in a toilet when it is flushed. They modelled the trajectories of these particles at the point when the toilet is flushed and for several minutes afterwards. They found:

  • Flushing creates a vortex in the air above the toilet pan, which encourages ‘massive upward transport of Virus particles’, 40% to 60% of which reach above the toilet seat
  • The particles can reach about a metre above the toilet seat
  • The particles remain suspended in the air more than a minute after the flush

Closing the lid on the toilet before flushing, the researchers say, would prevent this transmission of particles. They also recommend cleaning the toilet seat before using it, as it may have been contaminated by flushing particles. And of course, washing hands carefully after using the toilet is important to get rid of any traces of infection from the toilet flushing mechanism or door handle.

The main way in which the coronavirus is passed on is thought to be through droplets from people with the virus coughing, sneezing or breathing out. However, doctors have found virus particles in faeces from infected people, and some people with COVID-19 have had diarrhoea or vomiting. So, it makes sense to be careful with toilet hygiene.

 

What do trusted sources say?

The NHS recommends washing your hands often with soap and water, but does not give specific advice about toilet use. However, washing hands carefully after using the toilet is standard hygiene advice.

 

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

 

Citation

  1. Yun-yun L et al. Can a toilet promote virus transmission? From a fluid dynamics perspective. Phys. Fluids 32, 065107 (2020). https://aip.scitation.org/doi/10.1063/5.0013318

 

Reading list

  1. Xiao F, Sun J, Xu Y, Li F, Huang X, Li H, et al. Infectious SARS-CoV-2 in faeces of patient with severe COVID-19. Emerg Infect Dis. 2020 Aug [cited 23 June 2020] https://wwwnc.cdc.gov/eid/article/26/8/20-0681_article
  2. Center for Disease Control, US. Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) frequently asked questions. How does the virus spread. https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/faq.html#Spread