地塞米松,已经使用了数十年的类固醇,可以帮助人们从严重的COVID-19中恢复。在试验中,它似乎只能帮助需要氧气或人工通气的人。它似乎并没有帮助患有轻度疾病的人。

皮质类固醇用于治疗炎性疾病,包括关节炎和炎性肠病。作为随机对照试验的一部分,它对2104例COVID-19患者进行了测试。

与未服用类固醇的人相比,使用地塞米松呼吸机的人死亡的可能性要低三分之一。接受氧疗但没有呼吸机的人服用地塞米松的死亡几率降低了五分之一。

医生们很兴奋,因为这是第一种已被明确证明可提高重症COVID-19病人康复机会的药物。重要的是,如果该试验用于不需要氧气或通气的人,则该试验没有显示出该药的任何统计学益处。

这种说法的来源是什么?

研究结果是 广泛报道 在新闻界 世界各地 并且已经 欢迎你 由世界卫生组织。但是,该研究尚未在同行评审的期刊上发表,因此尚无完整结果。

这种说法的依据是什么?

英国的恢复试验 目前正在对175家英国医院因COVID-19入院的11,500多名患者进行六种疗法或疗法的组合测试。由于招募了足够的患者以显示明显的益处,有关地塞米松的试验部分现已停止。

研究人员随机分配2104名患者,在常规护理的基础上每天接受6mg地塞米松一次,而4,321例患者仅接受常规护理。

使用地塞米松的呼吸机患者在28天内的死亡人数减少了三分之一(地塞米松治疗的每100例中有27例死亡,而接受常规护理的每100例中有41例死亡)。在接受地塞米松治疗的仅使用氧气的患者中,死亡人数也减少了五分之一(每百例接受治疗的患者中有20例死亡,而接受常规护理的每百例中有25例死亡)。地塞米松对那些没有氧气或通气的人没有好处。

研究人员计算出,在使用地塞米松的呼吸机上,每八名患者可预防约1例死亡,而在使用地塞米松的氧气系统中,每25例患者可预防1例死亡。

研究人员说,他们正在努力尽快发表完整的研究报告。

可靠的信息源是如何建议的?

世界卫生组织总干事Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus博士说:“这是第一种被证明可降低需要氧气或呼吸机支持的COVID-19患者的死亡率的治疗方法。

这是个好消息,我祝贺英国政府,牛津大学以及英国的许多医院和患者,为实现这一救生科学突破做出了贡献。”世卫组织在声明中补充说:“研究结果加强了产生可操作证据的大型随机对照试验的重要性。”

地塞米松只能在医生的指导下服用。

分析来源:英国经济学人智库 健康保健部(EIU Healthcare),由利洁时提供支持

引用

  1. 低成本地塞米松可将住院严重COVID-19呼吸系统并发症的患者的死亡减少三分之一。 2020年6月16日在地塞米松中进行COVid-19治疗(恢复)试验随机评估首席研究人员的声明。 https://www.recoverytrial.net/news/low-cost-dexamethasone-reduces-death-by-up-to-one-third-in-hospitalised-patients-with-severe-respiratory-complications-of-covid-19 (2020年6月25日访问)

Dexamethasone, a steroid that has been used for decades, helps people recover from severe COVID-19. In a trial, it only seemed to help people who needed oxygen or artificial ventilation. It did not seem to help people with milder disease.

Corticosteroids are used to treat inflammatory conditions including arthritis and inflammatory bowel disease. It was tested on 2,104 patients with COVID-19 as part of a randomised controlled trial.

People given dexamethasone who were on ventilators were one third less likely to die, compared with those not given the steroid. People who were on oxygen therapy but not ventilators were one fifth less likely to die if they took dexamethasone.

Doctors are excited because this is the first drug that has been clearly shown to improve the chances of recovery for people seriously ill with COVID-19. Importantly, the trial did not show any statistical benefit from the drug if used for people not needing oxygen or ventilation.

Where did the story come from?

The results of the study were widely reported in the press around the world and have been welcomed by the World Health Organisation. However, the study has not yet been published in a peer-reviewed journal and the full results are not available.

What is the basis for the claim?

The UK-based Recovery trial is testing six treatments or combinations of treatments on more than 11,500 patients admitted to 175 UK hospitals for COVID-19. The part of the trial looking at dexamethasone has now been halted as enough patients were recruited to show a clear benefit.

The researchers randomly assigned 2,104 patients to receive 6mg of dexamethasone once per day on top of usual care, while 4,321 patients received usual care alone.

There were one-third fewer deaths in 28 days among patients on ventilators who received dexamethasone (27 deaths amongst every hundred treated with dexamethasone compared to 41 deaths in every hundred receiving usual care). There were also one-fifth fewer deaths among patients on oxygen alone who received dexamethasone (20 deaths amongst every hundred treated compared to 25 deaths in every hundred receiving usual care). There was no benefit of dexamethasone for those who did not have oxygen or ventilation.

The researchers calculate that around one death would be prevented for every eight patients on ventilators given dexamethasone, and one death prevented for every 25 patients on oxygen given dexamethasone.

The researchers say they are working to publish the full study as soon as possible.

What do trusted sources say?

Dr Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus, World Health Organisation Director-General, said: ‘This is the first treatment to be shown to reduce mortality in patients with COVID-19 requiring oxygen or ventilator support.

This is great news and I congratulate the Government of the UK, the University of Oxford, and the many hospitals and patients in the UK who have contributed to this lifesaving scientific breakthrough.’ WHO added in a statement: ‘The findings reinforce the importance of large randomized control trials that produce actionable evidence.’

Dexamethasone should only be taken on the advice of a doctor.

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

Citation

  1. Low-cost dexamethasone reduces death by up to one third in hospitalised patients with severe respiratory complications of COVID-19. Statement from the Chief Investigators of the Randomised Evaluation of COVid-19 thERapY (RECOVERY) Trial on dexamethasone, 16 June 2020. https://www.recoverytrial.net/news/low-cost-dexamethasone-reduces-death-by-up-to-one-third-in-hospitalised-patients-with-severe-respiratory-complications-of-covid-19 (Accessed 25 June 2020)