目前,研究人员正在招募一名试验人员,以研究开发出但尚未批准用于哮喘的吸入药物是否可以帮助初诊COVID-19的高危人群。

干扰素beta-1a是天然产生的蛋白质。它是根据感染产生的,有助于激活人体的免疫反应。干扰素β注射剂目前用于治疗多种疾病,包括 多发性硬化症。最近,该药物已在针对哮喘和COPD患者的研究中进行了测试,希望它可以在引起症状发作之前帮助抵抗呼吸道感染。

现在,研究人员想看看雾化器提供的这种药物(目前名为SNG001)是否可以帮助刚诊断出患有COVID-19并发症的高风险人群。雾化器是一种将药液转化为细雾的装置,可以通过面罩或口罩吸入,并深入肺部。邀请65岁以上或60岁以上因潜在疾病而面临患重病的风险的人参加 随机对照试验 如果感染了病毒,他们在家中使用吸入器。

因此,我们需要先等待该试验的结果,然后才能知道这种治疗是否有帮助。

 

这种说法的来源是什么?

多家新闻媒体报道了该试验,该试验正在英国进行。的 每日邮件 报告称该药物“有可能挽救生命”,尽管直到研究结果发表后我们才知道它是否有效。

该试验也已注册为临床试验,因此这些方法对所有人都可以透明。

 

这种说法的依据是什么?

审判的 患者信息表 据称,研究人员计划招募100至600名疑似COVID-19的人,他们在过去两天内出现症状。他们只会招募在65岁或60岁以上有潜在疾病风险严重COVID-19的人员。

目的是查明是否将药物直接吸入肺部可以增强肺部针对COVID-19的抗病毒防御能力,从而减少人们从疾病中重病的机会。

有症状的人将接受SARS-CoV-2的检测,SARS-CoV-2是引起COVID-19的病毒。如果他们测试呈阳性,他们将被纳入审判。他们将被随机分配接受吸入的SNG001或安慰剂(假药)。每个人都将收到一个雾化器,并被指导如何在视频通话中使用它。

要求参与者每天使用吸入器14天。他们还将每天与研究团队联系,并监测其症状。

该试验由SNG001的制造商进行,SNG001是一家名为 合成气.

 

可靠的信息源是如何建议的?

世界卫生组织未对审判发表评论。

引用

  1. 家庭参与者信息表和知情同意书。确诊COVID-19的患者的治疗。一项随机双盲安慰剂对照试验,用于确定吸入的SNG001(雾化用IFNβ-1a)治疗确诊SARS-CoV-2感染的患者的安全性和有效性。 Synairgen。可在: https://www.covidtrialathome.com/ (2020年6月26日访问)。

分析来源:英国经济学人智库 健康保健部(EIU Healthcare),由利洁时提供支持

 

参考文献

    1. 临床试验注册。一项随机双盲安慰剂对照试验,以确定吸入SNG001(雾化的IFN-β1a)治疗SARS-CoV-2确诊患者的安全性和有效性。 https://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT04385095?cond=SNG001&draw=2&rank=1 (2020年6月26日访问)。

Researchers are currently recruiting to a trial to see if an inhaled drug developed but not yet approved for asthma can help higher-risk people with newly diagnosed COVID-19.

Interferon beta-1a is a naturally-produced protein. It is produced in response to infections and helps activate the body’s immune response. Injections of interferon beta are currently used to treat a number of conditions, including multiple sclerosis. Recently, the drug has been tested in studies for people with asthma and COPD in the hope it might help fight off respiratory infections before they cause a flare-up of symptoms.

Now the researchers want to see whether the drug, currently named SNG001, delivered by nebuliser can help newly diagnosed people at high risk of complications from COVID-19. A nebuliser is a device that converts liquid medicines into a fine mist that can be breathed in through a facemask or mouthpiece and reach deep into the lungs. People over 65 years or over 60 years who are at raised risk of serious illness because of underlying conditions are being invited to take part in a randomised controlled trial in which they use the inhaler at home if they get the virus.

So, we will need to wait for the results of this trial before we know if this treatment helps.

 

Where did the story come from?

Several news outlets reported on the trial, which is being run in the UK. The Daily Mail report hails the drug as ‘potentially life-saving’ although we will not know whether it works until the results of the study are published.

The trial has also been registered as a clinical trial, so the methods can be transparent to everyone.

 

What is the basis for the claim?

The trial’s patient information sheet says that the researchers plan to recruit between 100 and 600 people with suspected COVID-19, who have developed symptoms within the previous two days. They will only recruit people who are at risk of serious COVID-19 over 65 years or over 60 years with underlying conditions.

The aim is to find out whether inhaling the drug directly into the lungs can boost the lungs’ anti-viral defences against COVID-19, reducing the chances of people getting seriously ill from the disease.

People with symptoms will be offered a test for SARS-CoV-2, the virus that causes COVID-19. If they test positive they will be entered into the trial. They will be randomly assigned to receive either the inhaled SNG001 or a placebo (dummy drug). Everyone will be sent a nebuliser and will be instructed on how to use it in a video call.

Participants will be asked to use the inhaler daily for 14 days. They will also have daily calls with the research team and have their symptoms monitored.

The trial is being run by the manufacturers of SNG001, a drug company called Synairgen.

 

What do trusted sources say?

The World Health Organisation has not commented on the trial.

Citation

  1. Home participant information sheet and informed consent form. Treatment for patients with confirmed COVID-19. A randomised double-blind placebo-controlled trial to determine the safety and efficacy of inhaled SNG001 (IFNβ-1a for nebulisation) for the treatment of patients with confirmed SARS-CoV-2 infection. Synairgen. Available at: https://www.covidtrialathome.com/ (accessed 26 June 2020).

Analysis by EIU Healthcare, supported by Reckitt Benckiser

 

Reading list

    1. Clinical Trial registry. A Randomised Double-blind Placebo-controlled Trial to Determine the Safety and Efficacy of Inhaled SNG001 (IFN-β1a for Nebulisation) for the Treatment of Patients with Confirmed SARS-CoV-2 Infection. https://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT04385095?cond=SNG001&draw=2&rank=1 (accessed 26 June 2020).